We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Pub”
Review of Bull's Head Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bull's Head Inn
Ranked #10 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Fantastic food - great accommodation - would not stay anywhere else in castleton. We have stayed on a number of occasions and always return when staying in castleton, or even just for a meal. Breakfast is the best I've ever had - fantastic views from the bedroom window.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RotherhamWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

We took our dogs a great walk around the village and then went for a drink here. Lovely welcome , great choice of ales for the other half!! Ok, we could not take the dogs in - BUT - they would have hogged the real fire from us LOL. We decided to have a meal which was superb (Steak and brilliant home cooked onion rings with all the trimmings). Superb service, very good meal (freshly cooked to order) . Highly Recommended

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

This is the second time we have visited this pub. A quick note on the first visit - boiling hot bank holiday in August 2013 yet the service and food was excellent, despite how busy the place was.

We visited this Sunday with our children. Entered the pub at 11.55 am, slightly worried that we would be turned away as it was too early. The staff were friendly and courteous and said that it was fine to come in. Lovely selection of seating areas (hadn't noticed last time as we were in the garden) and the children insisted on sitting near the fire on the pew!

We ordered one roast lamb, one roast beef, one child's roast beef and a soup for our youngest (she insisted). The food came quickly, and at the same time and was absolutely delicious. Sadly, the roasts looked so delicious that my daughter decided she wanted that instead so left most of her soup - which was lovely home made carrot and coriander and is no judgement on the quality (I tasted it!) just on the stubbornness of my daughter (note to self: don't let her choose her own food in the future!).

My husband and I have been visiting Castleton for many years and there are many nice places to eat there but this is definitely my new favourite.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank annierobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We visited this pub for a drink and lunch after a walk around Castleton on a bright cold day. The pub had a good atmosphere and was well maintained right down to the toilet areas. There was a welcoming log fire, comfortable sofas and a good choice of Robinson's ales. We had a hot chocolate and a glass of red wine to begin with which at over £8 was very expensive. However, the food menu and special boards were appealing and we chose a roast beef dinner and a beef and stilton hot sandwich and salad. Both were very good for £18, including a pint of Hannibal. The guy on the bar was friendly and was also having to bring food to tables and clear them, which he managed efficiently. The one down side was the cat hanging around in the eating area which I did not appreciate, but fortunately it did not bother our table.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulU561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Visited here twice in a month, brilliant each time..

Lovely food, I really do mean lovely... Had two different dishes and both were fab!

Real fire, real ale, sensible prices.

Really clean all round also

We'll worth a visit, following a muddy walk or for a more formal affair

Stayed: January 2014
Thank RobandZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We ate here with friends recently, we had barely placed our order and some of the starters came out but it took another 20 mins to get them all ! And some still came wrong. The crispy duck starter i had was burnt and tasteless.
Same with the mains, it took forever for them all to arrive so after the first course problem we told them to start. some had finished before last ones came out. I ordered rump steak but im sure it was only frying steak.
Alot of the meals were very similar and uninspiring although sounded very different.
At least the beer was nice !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank motomoto26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed here a while back and at the time we were'nt into leaving reviews on TA, but after having visited a fair few B&B's we still think this is our favourite and now feel compelled to leave our opinion.
Lovely hearty meal, beautiful bedroom on the corner of the building offering views along the street and stunning ones especially up the valley to Winnets pass and then a good and plentiful English breakfast than would sate even the most hearty of appetites.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albev34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.0 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
5.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
402 reviews
1.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
0.1 mi away
Rambler's Rest Guest House
Rambler's Rest Guest House
#2 of 13 in Castleton
278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swiss House B&B
Swiss House B&B
#3 of 13 in Castleton
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bull's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull's Head Inn

Address: Cross Street | Hope Valley, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Bull`s Head Hotel Castleton
Bull's Head Inn Castleton, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing