We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay”
Review of Bull's Head Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bull's Head Inn
Ranked #10 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just arrived back from lovely stay at The Bulls Head in Castleton. Arrived through dramatic pass into Castleton and found the Bulls Head conveniently located right next to Tourist Information Centre and with easy access to Devils Backside, Peverill Castle and lots of walks. We did Mam Tor and were not disappointed with excellent views. The rooms in the pub are comfortable and spacious with nice modern bathrooms and lovely touch of toiletries and free water etc. We had fantastic views out of bedroom window - great to wake up to. The pub itself is large and very comfortable and cosy. The staff are fabulous and nothing is too much trouble. We missed out on the Gourmet Burger night (Tuesdays)! The portions are huge to say the least and food is very good. Massive English breakfast. Cream teas are excellent and very good value! Plenty of parking and also has small courtyard where can eat. My only negative, if can call it that is that I think in summer the rooms would benefit from having a fan as could get very warm. Would def recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey4461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    65
    20
    13
    14
See reviews for
51
93
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Buxton Derbyshire in the High Peak Forest
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We have been passing this place for years and always dinning in another establishment .
Just by change we decided to call in and gave a meal.........What a suprise .......
Excellent staff, excellent pint of Guinness and the FOOD was PERFECT.

I had the Thai curry with rice and prawn crackers, it came fresh , hot and well presented.
Could not fault the food at all

We will return , just regret we haven't called in before.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buxtonworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Beeding, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

As it was a horrible rainy day on Friday afternoon, we decided to do a little pub crawl in Castleton, as we were staying in the village. On entering the pub for a drink and waiting at the bar, we could see the barman making coffee. He never turned round once to acknowledge us. A waitress then passed us twice and did the same-perhaps we were invisible? The pub wasn't particularly busy. After waiting for several minutes without so much of a look, smile, "hello" or acknowledgement of any kind that we were there, we left. How rude.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mel4tvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have been customers of the Bulls Head for several years and one of its great points is the consistent quality of its food. A personal favourite is the Fish and Chips from the regular menu, invariably the fish is huge so I advise against starters (we can never finish the portion). These fish and chips are better then 99% of those served at Fish and Chip shops. The pub is also cosy and welcoming, it has parking at the rear and it is usually possible to get a table without waiting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SocksD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We visited this pub at the end of a beautiful sunny June day. The food and service were excellent. The choose on offer was more than we could ask for. My wife's particular dietary request of a slimming world salad was met wonderfully.

The only cloud was a party of whinging pensioners. The organisers were sat at the table next to us and had one after the other of these moaning Minnie's complaining about nothing. A pound difference here or I don't like sticky toffee pudding there. Not the pubs fault and despite having to cope with these moaners the staff managed to stay calm and serve everyone else's food hot and without delay. Robinson's Beers on top form too.

Would definitely go back soon.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I had a difference of opinion regarding our meals, mine was very good (Chicken Melt) but my husband did not enjoy his possibly due to the plate being so hot it actually dried out his steak pie and mash. The place itself is ok, bit of confusion when we arrived as most of the tables in the main area were marked as reserved, when I queried this I was told we could sit anywhere as they were not required until 6 it was 4 so why do this, loads more customers were also wondering why and we saw some leave. The staff however were very friendly, we would possibly return or perhaps try another in the village as we are often in the area.

Room Tip: Only ate, did not stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbots Langley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Nice well maintained pub. Friendly staff. Good selection of Robinsons beer and good food. Ate here twice during a weeks stay in Castleton whilst staying at The Old Workshop cottage which is owned by the pub owners and is a great cottage located in Castleton. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
8.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,716 reviews
9.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
391 reviews
1.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#4 of 13 in Castleton
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swiss House B&B
Swiss House B&B
#1 of 13 in Castleton
307 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rushop Hall
Rushop Hall
#1 of 6 in Castleton
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bull's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull's Head Inn

Property: Bull's Head Inn
Address: Cross Street | Hope Valley, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Bull`s Head Hotel Castleton
Bull's Head Inn Castleton, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing