We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly host!”
Review of Bull's Head Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bull's Head Inn
Ranked #10 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kinmel Bay, North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very friendly host!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Didn't actually stay in the hotel as we were in our camper but with it being bank holiday all camp sites were full and because he charges for the carpark although you can redeem the charge when you use the pub - we asked could we use the carpark as our stopover and he very kindly let us - we had a lovely view as well!! Better than some camp sites!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileenronan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    64
    20
    13
    14
See reviews for
50
92
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

What a fantastic cottage. Welcome basket on arrival. Nicely decorated with everything you could possibly need for your stay. Maps and information
books in cottage. Lovely village and surrounding area with walks, Pubs within walking distance for the evenings

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Visited here on my birthday - eight of us. We re-arranged the tables so we could all sit together and the staff had no problems with this. Meals all arrived together and portions were very generous, so much so we had a bucket of chips each. Would visit again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Not eaten in here for many years, so we thought we would give it ago. We had a lovely meal, and the portions were very generous. If we had realised how generous, we wouldn't have ordered a portion of chips each, but shared one between two because even these were large. Would certainly visit again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Our third stay at Bulls Head Inn with family. Once again we couldn't fault it, staff are very friendly, rooms are lovely and the food is excellent. There is lots to do in Castleton and the surrounding area. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PoggyGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watchet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The setting of this Inn is 2nd to none, the Mountains and green valleys of the Peak District are all around you.
Castleton is a pretty little town with plenty of tourist based shops. The castle is set on the hill side. The Inn itself is well kept and there is plenty of parking and outside seating for you to enjoy the views. The staff are friendly and the inside is clean and tidy. The menu is extensive and a little different than the norm. Good portions and freshly made. It is also dog friendly which is a bonus. We would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarmar95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just arrived back from lovely stay at The Bulls Head in Castleton. Arrived through dramatic pass into Castleton and found the Bulls Head conveniently located right next to Tourist Information Centre and with easy access to Devils Backside, Peverill Castle and lots of walks. We did Mam Tor and were not disappointed with excellent views. The rooms in the pub are comfortable and spacious with nice modern bathrooms and lovely touch of toiletries and free water etc. We had fantastic views out of bedroom window - great to wake up to. The pub itself is large and very comfortable and cosy. The staff are fabulous and nothing is too much trouble. We missed out on the Gourmet Burger night (Tuesdays)! The portions are huge to say the least and food is very good. Massive English breakfast. Cream teas are excellent and very good value! Plenty of parking and also has small courtyard where can eat. My only negative, if can call it that is that I think in summer the rooms would benefit from having a fan as could get very warm. Would def recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey4461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
1.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#1 of 13 in Castleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
0.2 mi away
Swiss House B&B
Swiss House B&B
#4 of 13 in Castleton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bull's Head Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bull's Head Inn

Property: Bull's Head Inn
Address: Cross Street | Hope Valley, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Bull`s Head Hotel Castleton
Bull's Head Inn Castleton, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing