We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After a nice walk,enjoy a meal with drinks here.”

Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
Ranked #7 of 20 Restaurants in Castleton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Cheshire
Level Contributor
261 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
“After a nice walk,enjoy a meal with drinks here.”
Reviewed 5 June 2012

When visiting Castletown in Derbyshire,we decided to visit the Cheshire Cheese Inn for a drink and lunchtime meal.
This lovely old traditional Inn was warm and welcoming on a chilly day,and as we sat by the warm fire with our drinks.We sat and admired this beautiful building with traditional beams and low ceilings.
The owner was very welcoming and soon had our food brought to the table consisting of homemade soup and jacket potato with tuna and salad which was delicious.
There are no televishions or sports tables,just a lovely cosy atmosphere with some background music to listen to.There are also local newspapers and some board games available if customers are interested.
The toilets are spotlessly clean and are obviously checked regularly.
The Inn also offers bed and breakfast accomodation from single to double rooms all en-suite.
If you ever visit this beautiful little village i would recommend a visit to this traditional Inn and you won"t be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilfromCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    146
    45
    23
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
179 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Fabulous food”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We weren't staying here but we ate here all three nights of our stay. The pub and restaurant and really lovely and the food is top notch, absolutely lovely. Roast dinner best we've ever had couldn't believe how much meat we got and the Wild Boar Casserole and Innkeepers Pie absolutely delicious and the Black Pudding and Bacon Tower was to die for!! We would highly recommend eating here - its the best.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susanvc24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slaithwaite, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Took my parents for a day out to Derwent and wanted a Sunday lunch,we looked the night before on Tripadviser and Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn came out one of the best .We ordered three Sunday lunches and a sandwich the time was 12-30-1.00 and had to wait 30-40 minutes .When our meals arrived the beef was VERY dry , the roast potatoes not cooked ,the mash and veg cold,my sandwich the bread was hard as if left near heat .sorry will not be coming back and wouldn't recommend,I'm not a fussy person but I do like value for money and a nice meal both of which we didn't get today .

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cracking Local Pub”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Terrific little pub at the start of the high street. Friendly service from the staf fon a Friday night despite being under the hammer! Very well priced drinks across the board from Cider to wine and ales. Some good selections on the ales too! I second the vegetarian option as we orded a vegetarian pasta and it was just as apetising if not more than my home made steak and ale pie. Traditional setting and a pub that seems very rich in Castleton's interesting history. Recommended as my favourite of the 6 Castleton pubs on offer.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MatthewKR_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“excellent for vegetarians”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We ate here after trying 3 other places in castleton looking for anything good for the non meat eater. My wife was after a roast, and most places on castleton had a roast on (this was sunday early evening) but nowhere had much in the way of a veggie option. The Bull's head up the road was serving what looked like thin sliced school dinner beef and their veggie option was tomato and cream penne for a tenner.

Anyway, here there were a couple of veggie options and even a vegan and wheat free option.

I was really tempted by the blue cheese and leek pie, other diner's pies looked great, but I went for the veggie roast. It came with a delicous savoury nut roast, my wife's came with three very thick slices of beef. Veg, roasties and a large yorkshire completed the meal. The only thing missing was a green veg, in my opinion (no cabbage or peas) the roast parsnips were crispy and spot on.

After the dissapointment of the other pubs limited menus, the menu here was a nice surprise. Service was a bit slow at the bar, one lad working his socks off, on a bank holiday weekend. Maybe someone had dropped out. I have no problem ordering my own dinner at the bar, some people on here did. This is a pub, remember. The food came reasonable quickly once ordered.

4 different ciders available, two on tap. Nice range of wine by the bottle, a bit more limited by the glass.

Anyway, good stuff. If you are trying to decide between the various pubs doing food in the village, this really isn't a bad choice, and if you have a veggie in the party, then it's no contest.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigstig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn also viewed

 
Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing