We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pie & lovely atmosphere”

Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
Ranked #7 of 20 Restaurants in Castleton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great pie & lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We've been in a couple of times before just for drinks too and love the atmosphere, such a quaint cosy pub, especially nice when the fire is roaring.
We recently had a lovely meal on a very busy Friday evening, service was good, food was yummy, plentiful and all home cooked. Would highly recommend!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RedShoeGirl1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    146
    45
    23
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nice place for dinner”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Had a pleasant meal here. Typical pub grub. Nice setting and very pleasant staff. Quite pricey for what it was but nice all the same.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to eat!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We are away for a few days with our puppy and were looking for somewhere to eat, I found this on the dog friendly peaks website and we decided to give it a try. The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming. We went for dinner, the food is home-cooked and fantastic value for money, brilliant portion sizes and the desserts were the same, left feeling totally stuffed and would definitely return! A brilliant place!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great pub experience”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

A very cosy and well maintained pub with friendly staff and excellent pub food - good value too. A great range of beers on offer. Dog friendly in one of the bars. Thoroughly enjoyed our evening there and will be back on our next visit to Castleton.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RPBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pie!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The Gamekeeper's pie was one of the best we have every eaten. Lovely atmosphere, cracking food, and extremely well priced.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sam I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn also viewed

 
Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing