We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
Ranked #8 of 20 Restaurants in Castleton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Recently visited here with my boyfriend. We were at the bar waiting to order drinks for 5 minutes. This wouldn't have been a problem but they weren't busy and we could see the staff on their phones at the back. We eventually asked if they were serving and the lady came and took our order. We ordered our food 'inn keepers pie' and 'fish and chips'. They arrived, my boyfriends pie was good and he was happy. My fish and chips were also quite nice until I came across a long brown hair (it wasn't mine either). I promptly took it back to the counter and explained and showed the foreign object to the bar man. He took it away - no apology. He then realised he had not asked what I wanted so half way across the bar he asks "do you want another". I daren't say no. I said yes please if it's not too much trouble.
When the new plate came my boyfriend had finished his, but there was no apology, nothing.
The pub is nice but the staff are unprofessional and cold. When we left I said 'thanks, bye' and got no response.
Won't be going again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SheffieldRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    151
    46
    24
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Axminster, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Wonderfully kept beer”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We ate in here with friends. The food was average but the beer was outstanding. Good choice and well looked after which is not often found these days. The food was good without being exceptional. I had fish and chips , the chips were great but the fish wasn't that good. The staff were very good and attentive. We tried to get in the night before but as we had a dog there wasn't any availability in the bar where dogs are allowed so we booked for a later visit and glad we did

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great little pub, good food and wi-fi”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Great little friendly pub; most excellent dinner there, piping hot too!
Excellent local beers to go with dinner and the prices were very reasonable.

Being in the middle of nowhere surrounded by Peaks; there was a lousy mobile signal at our cottage; but the Cheshire has secure free wi-fi; which meant we could catch up on e-mails etc after dinner.

This was much appreciated.

What was more appreciated is the chairs are nice and comfy too!
Thanks

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meester-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very good atmosphere”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This place has a warm friendly feel, is quite large and beer very well kept. Food reasonably priced and very good, staff friendly and welcoming

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a real olde worlde pub, with good food and good service. We found it open at 8:30 and had a nice breakfast. We will definitely visit again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DBSNOTTM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn also viewed

 
Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing