We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a spot!”

Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
Ranked #8 of 20 Restaurants in Castleton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“What a spot!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Certainly one of the most beautiful villages in UK. Historical and aesthetic appeal we stumbled into this well maintained, flower basketed pub and enjoyed a fulsome, perhaps extravagant lunch. The party enjoyed ravioli, steak and ale pie and fish. The most memorable thing was the portion size and not the flavours or the quality. That kind of raises questions. Why am I unable to recall if it was tasty? Why could no one finish their lunch? Good service although balance between 'Pert' and 'impertinent' is a question of interpretation. Product could be much better than this; is it too easy for them? Do they lack ambition? Complacency and adequacy must enter the proprietors consideration.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nilindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    148
    46
    23
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Essex
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Meal At Reasonable Price”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Good wholesome home cooked meals at reasonable price. Good friendly service with nice atmosphere. Would go back again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank gilbernuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coalville, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Just about better than average”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Quite enjoyed our meal. My pie was tasty, the other half's chicken dish wasn't the best. Portion sizes were good, which meant no room for pudding which looked very tempting (I like proper puds with custard and they fitted the bill). Would return. Its a really nice pub as well

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RichinLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning pub”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We went all round Castleton and chose this pub because of the lovely hanging baskets and we were not disappointed ,As soon as we walked in we were given a very warm welcome by the waitress behind the bar .We had ravioli and chicken and leek pie with cheese scones on top .My husband and I shared them as we couldn.t decide who was having what .The pub is so full of character with low beams and little nooks with a couple of tables in each , no noisy tv's or game machines just soft music in the back ground and the friendliest staff you will ever find

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheila056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbots Langley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best pub in Castleton”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Out of the 6 pubs in Castleton, this is the best. Great selection of beer (real ale), great food and great service. Ate here twice during our week in Castleton. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stuart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn also viewed

 
Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing