We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ye Olde Nags Head

Ye Olde Nags Head
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Castleton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013 via mobile

Went here while cycling the the area for a drink and after seeing the food going to the tables we decided to also stay here a bite to eat. Great menu at resonable prices, lovely open fires in each areas. As you walk into the pub you are greated by a very local traditional bar area and as you move into the restaurant area it is very modernly decorated but keeping the original old features.

We had the natchos to start which were very nice, and then we both chose the jumbo fish and chips, or as the waitress called it "Whale" and chips!!!! We it came out wow it was huge!! Lovely crispy batter and nice homemade chips, the only thing I would change was to remove the skin on the fish before cooking. But still we both really enjoyed it!!

All the staff were friendly and chatty talking to us about the pub and the village. We have said already we would definatly be back in here when in the area again both for food and to try the accommodation if staying overnight.

Well done guys and keep up the good work...

Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    185
    49
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good pub grub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Good food, fair price. good quality pub grub, decent portions. Nice atmosphere in pub, service little bit slow. having said that I would go back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank lizzylee97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

I had the venison sausage and black pudding mash which was excellent the wife had cod and chips, we sat in front of a roaring fire and enjoyed every mouthfull. Nice place my only complaint would be please smile at the customers!!!!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
501 reviews
246 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Sausage Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

On a cold Monday in February we entered the Nags Head to be greeted by a roaring fire and friendly staff. The menu was great but we were drawn to the mix and match sausage menu,a choice of 5 sausages from Cumberland to Venison,4 mashes from Buttery to Black Pudding and a choice of 4 sauces from Thick Onion gravy to Mushroom Chasseur. You could also add a large Yorkshire Pudding if you wished ,but all were served with the speciality of the house Crispy Beer Battered Onion Rings......Delicious !! There was also a large selection of real ales on sale.The staff were very happy to heat my grand daughters food which her mother had prepared. We shall return ,highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent - highly recommend.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Great selection of food. Reasonably priced. Log fires were lovely and warm. Food was served quickly. A nice relaxing pub to visit if you've been walking and fancy a bite to eat. Lovely decor. Very comfy seats.

Only downside for us was that they let dogs into the pub, and not being a great fan of dogs this did put us off a little - one dog owner was letting their dog walk up and down the side of their table. The other kept their 2 dogs under control however and their dogs sat nicely under the table.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cablecar2267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ye Olde Nags Head also viewed

Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to Ye Olde Nags Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing