We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An interesting and chilled experience!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ye Olde Nags Head

Ye Olde Nags Head
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Castleton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“An interesting and chilled experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We visited the pub at lunch time for a light bite - the nacho's were truly irresistable!! we loved the ambience and meal so much we decided to book a table for the evening - it was my Birthday and we wanted a nice place to eat. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening meal - I had the tuna steaks and my partner had the pork belly - we had ample vegetables and enjoyed the local characters along with some tourists. The bar staff were friendly and not over the top. We loved the fact that the pub was dog friendly: some lovely little dogs in there who finished off our meal. I would certainly recommend this to anyone: families, dog lovers and certainly food lovers!!!! :-)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kcandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    307
    183
    48
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food and good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Called in here on a bank holiday weekend, Saturday lunchtime. Friendly staff and fast service even though it was busy.
Good from the 'specials' board was really tasty, well prepared and very tasty.
Great atmosphere. Will be back next time we are walking near Castleton.

Helpful?
1 Thank g4Sandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
414 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
“over priced for average service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

we visited this pub,spent ten minutes waiting to be served,we decided not to have lunch,but settled for tea refreshments,we thought it was expensive,pub was busy,but service wasn't as effective as you would wish,menu looked varied,but value for money for me wasn't there!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Caron R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly welcoming pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We arrived quite late on a Wednesday evening at the caravan site and went in search of a fish and chip shop. Couldn't find one but went into the Nags Head and ordered a takeaway pizza. The 2 staff we encountered (young lady and man) were really friendly and welcoming. Note also that last food orders were 9 pm and we walked in at exactly that time, the staff weren't awkward about the time and double checked with the chef. Added bonus was that they allowed dogs in the bar so we had a drink and played cards with our son. They have quite a few games available with a friendly note advising people to feel free to play them. The atmosphere was really relaxing and enjoyable. We took the food back to our motorhome even though they asked if we would like to eat in the pub. Fantastic pizza, freshly cooked with 100% chicken meat and proper chips. Next time we visit we will eat in the pub. Great experience. Thanks

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Went for a meal in the early afternoon after a ten mile walk. I had the steak burger, the wife had the special sausages and mash option. Both meals were truly wonderful and the service was fantastic. Well done !!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rexie3355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ye Olde Nags Head also viewed

Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to Ye Olde Nags Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing