We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good atmosphere and very good pub food. Fantastic ales!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ye Olde Nags Head

Ye Olde Nags Head
Ranked #3 of 20 Restaurants in Castleton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere and very good pub food. Fantastic ales!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The bar area is amazing, lovely fire place and a friendly feel about the place. We'll behaved dogs are very welcome by everyone.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Neville W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    183
    48
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food after a long days hiking.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Good food,atmosphere and service. Went in here twice in one week, enjoyed the meal on both occasions.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Good beer, good food, why is the barman miserable?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Six of us spent the evening in the Nag's Head, enjoying a pleasant meal. We were particularly taken by the selection of beers on offer, and the very many ways in which their sausages and mash could be presented. From the beginning, though, the barman did his best to put a dampener on everyone. There was barely a greeting, no conversation with any of the customers, and he rarely even made eye contact. As he was wearing a garment announcing that he was the assistant manager, it wasn't a great advertisement for what is a decent pub.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Horleylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Interesting menu, great food, lovely atmosphere. Try the sausage and mash dish!! Our only criticism is that it was very hot as we had a table by the fire.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“An interesting and chilled experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We visited the pub at lunch time for a light bite - the nacho's were truly irresistable!! we loved the ambience and meal so much we decided to book a table for the evening - it was my Birthday and we wanted a nice place to eat. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening meal - I had the tuna steaks and my partner had the pork belly - we had ample vegetables and enjoyed the local characters along with some tourists. The bar staff were friendly and not over the top. We loved the fact that the pub was dog friendly: some lovely little dogs in there who finished off our meal. I would certainly recommend this to anyone: families, dog lovers and certainly food lovers!!!! :-)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kcandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ye Olde Nags Head also viewed

Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to Ye Olde Nags Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing