We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
Nearby Hotels
US$238
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
George Hotel(Hathersage)
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little John Hotel(Hathersage)
US$112
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Maynard(Grindleford)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$95
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
115
64
10
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
115
64
10
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself catering kitchenyouth hostelbunk bedsdrying roomcommunal areascommunal kitchenmam torgreat facilitiesfit for purposefeed the animalsgreat buildingwood burningtoilet showerrooms are basicstaff were really helpfulfamily roompeak district
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed here in a family room with ensuite facilities. Very comfortable and in a separate building away from school parties etc. breakfast was very good value and the area is stunning with fantastic walks, local pubs and the blue John mines.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeedsLynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently and were very impressed. It was a lovely gothic building full of period features. We stayed in an en-suite room which was spotlessly clean. The staff couldn't do more to help us. I would deifnately recommend tihs YHA.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew_G10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed in a shared room, which looked immaculate. The toilets, showers and kitchen were all spotless, and after a soak in the rain I was very glad of the drying room. The service was excellent at the restaurant and there was always a friendly and helpful member of staff on reception. I'm already planning my next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed in the West Mews house of the hostel which you can hire for exclusive use and it was perfect for our group of 1-40 year olds ! It was spotless and situated in a very beautiful part of the country. We had lots of children who were well occupied by roaming around the woods and feeding the goats. It was an excellent stay and would visit again

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jigs01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night over the bank holiday weekend. Booked a private en-suite room which was a decent size with a bunk bed and wet room. Towel hire is available at £2 per towel.
The YHA recently moved into these new premises at Losehill Hall. Everything was new and fresh. While only a 10 minute walk into Castleton town centre, there is plenty of parking (which the old site couldn't offer) and was quiet at night. It is also a few steps away from the path up to Lose Hill. Didn't use any of the shared facilities (kitchen etc.) during this visit. Ate in town as plenty of choice. Can recommend the Rose Cottage for a good cooked breakfast at a decent price.
Would return as makes a great base for exploring the Peaks.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SpeedDemonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews