We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We were a family of 4, new to the YHA, but couldn't fault this place. Our room was clean and tidy and the facilities are great. A well equipped kitchen and spacious lounge and library. We had breakfast in the morning which was varied and tasty. Above all the staff were all really friendly and welcoming. Very good value family accommodation in a lovely spot.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castletonmanager, Manager at YHA Castleton Losehill Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Really glad you had a good time - hope to see you again soon?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2014

Quality YHA, but with one jarring issue: information was poor when booking and resulted in a miserable introduction. We set off early from Leeds to Castleton, hoping to take full advantage of our first day away. Upon arrival at the YHA, we were greeted by a nice young lady who seemed surprised by our early arrival. We had been hoping to store our heavy belongings and have something to eat, whilst planning the day ahead. Although it was too early to check into our room, we thought we could at least use the dining facilities or a quiet corner to eat (the food we'd prepared earlier, as on a budget) and plan our day. However, this was not possible and we were told we had to vacate the premises altogether, apparently due to a school trip and associated health and safety policies, which we had not been warned about prior to our arrival. We were barely given the opportunity to prepare for the 7 hours we would have to wander around in the impending meteorological doom!

Other minor gripes; Wifi should be free and it would've been nice to have some blazing fires, as the weather outside was miserable.

Aside from this, our stay was a pleasurable one and the staff and facilities were spot on! It's a beautiful historic building, with plenty of character, well maintained, clean and comfortable! Pricing was good, especially considering the excellent location!

Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinkmarmite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castletonmanager, Manager at YHA Castleton Losehill Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Thanks for the review - glad you had a good time but sorry about the weather - it was awful for a lot of January. Sorry you couldn't get in when you arrived in the morning, we were completely full with a group of youngsters who didn't leave until after lunch so there was nowhere for you until check in time in the afternoon. It is unusual for them to leave so late so normally we have a lot more flexibility. A piece of good news for your next visit - our wifi is now free to all YHA members whenever you stay. Thanks - see you again (with better weather I hope)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This hostel is in a beautiful location and as other reviewers have said, has been done up really well and is clean and very good as youth hostels go. However, we've just had a weekend there with almost no sleep due to being in the room above the noisy boiler room which made a racket all night. There were also 3 fire doors in the corridors directly outside which banged really loudly every time someone went through them.

I would certainly recommend this hostel, but unless you're someone who sleeps through anything, I'd suggest that anyone staying there asks not to be put in this room (B7). I'd also recommend that you get down to breakfast in good time, as both mornings we found that things were staring to run out for anyone arriving much after 8.30am (it's served until 9.15am).

Room Tip: Don't stay in room B7 (above the boiler room and too many fire doors on corridors leading off th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GillycatBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
castletonmanager, Manager at YHA Castleton Losehill Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Really sorry about the banging doors - they were fixed straightaway - they do go out of adjustment on occasions. We've also just finished a lot of work on controlling the heating system so B7 isn't overheated - still cosy in winter though. Thanks for the feedback - please come back and have a good sleep next time - we're still in a lovely place, that hasn't changed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed in a family ensuite. It was quiet, beautiful views and so, so cheap. The communal kitchen was clean and easy to use. They could have done with lighting the fires though so you could curl up with a book in the lounge (it was snowy outside)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank familyflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We were a party of 3 including 2 60 year olds and booked a room. Rooms are bunked beds but clean and tidy and we had out own shower and toilet. The location is in the countryside in a sheep paddock and we really liked that. We also paid for the breakfast which is worth every penny. Excellent for a YHA.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ashton South wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed 2 nights in 4 bed roomed same group, had private walk in shower and separate toilet. Very clean , new furniture. Plenty of storage under bed and good beds. Individual Lighting and shelf. Kitchen well equipped and spacious. Lounge, library, dinning room very big and clean and comfortable. Grounds lawned and places to sit outside. Long private drive to hostel, but very near main town and plenty of lovely walks. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marieanddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed for two nights with my wife and teenage daughters recently. Very modern and clean, great self catering kitchen a number of decently sized communal rooms and very nice bedrooms. Very friendly and helpful staff too. The only let down for us was the food in the restaurant which tasted like it came out of a packet - Not terrible but not that great. Would be happy to stay here again though.

Room Tip: Views over the garden outside the kitchen are very good, but beware the loud sheep in the morning:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Familyguy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.8 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
14.2 mi away
YHA Hartington Hall
YHA Hartington Hall
#2 of 6 in Hartington
301 reviews
5.7 mi away
YHA Hathersage
YHA Hathersage
#1 of 4 in Hathersage
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
YHA Ravenstor
YHA Ravenstor
#4 of 20 in Buxton
121 reviews
6.3 mi away
YHA Eyam
YHA Eyam
#2 of 2 in Eyam
71 reviews
20.2 mi away
YHA Ilam Hall
YHA Ilam Hall
#1 of 2 in Ilam
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Castleton Losehill Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Castleton Losehill Hall

Address: Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Castleton
Price Range: £23 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Castleton Losehill Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished Victorian Gothic Mansion and Cobbled Mews set in formal gardens and 27 acres of parkland in the heart of the Peak District National Park. Beautiful gardens, woods, streams to explore. Close to the spectacular Winnats Pass and Mam Tor, YHA Castleton Losehill Hall is ideally located for activity breaks. It's a great base for cheap family weekend breaks, with four caverns to explore on the doorstep. Surrounded by beautiful Peak District countryside, YHA Castleton Losehill Hall is perfect for walking holidays. Why not look at our other recently refurbished Youth Hostels? YHA members can enjoy free Wi-Fi in social areas at YHA Castleton Losehill Hall! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your YHA Castleton Losehill Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Castleton Losehill Hall Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing