We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too impressed”
Review of 1530

1530
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Castleton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Their telephone number is 01433621870. Postcode is S33 8WH. Very impressive restaurant in a small village, and I would love to give them a review. Thanks. Peter Taylor
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not too impressed”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Visited for an evening meal and found it to lack atmosphere.We ate on a Monday when the pizzas were half price although they tasted quite nice they were disappointingly overcooked one of our group chose a pasta dish and she said she could have eaten it again,so overall,not good value.When it came to measuring out the wine,it was so clinically precise you could have mistaken the waitress for a weights and measures inspector.Maybe worth a visit just to experience the restaurant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank HomeVictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    88
    39
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Was expecting better - perhaps they're not at their best on a Sunday night!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Very quiet in the restaurant, maybe two other couples so we didn't think we'd be waiting too long for anything. However service was slow and not very attentive. I was waiting for so long for my glass of wine that I asked the barmaid if she'd forgotten and sure enough she had.
The decor is very nice and the overall ambience is a notch above the usual pub offerings you find in the area, but I agree with another comment that it would have been nice if they'd have lit some of the candles dotted around the place.
The food was only just okay, but really nothing special for the price we paid. Bit disappointed really which is a shame as I was really looking forward to it given the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We decided to go to 1530 after reading the reviews, and we were not disappointed. The waitress was really friendly and helpful, and helped me choose the right sauce for my steak. The food was excellent, we shared a garlic pizza bread to start and had the ribeye steak and wild mushroom tart tatin as mains, followed by the crumble to share for dessert. All the food was really well cooked and presented. Put this together with a well stocked bar and great atmosphere we will definitely be returning.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food at a good price”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We went here two nights. The food was very good, and the prices very reasonable. We had a bottle of wine for £10.95, good price for a restaurant. All staff very friendly and helpful with the menu. Would recommend this restaurant. but book early as it does get busy.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank traceyd653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Pasta to die for”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The linguine with crayfish takes pasta to a whole new level...delicious plus excellent service. Book it as soon as you arrive in Castleton!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1530 also viewed

Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to 1530? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing