We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I forgot my glasses & they had some just for that possibility!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 1530

1530
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Castleton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Their telephone number is 01433621870. Postcode is S33 8WH. Very impressive restaurant in a small village, and I would love to give them a review. Thanks. Peter Taylor
Sale, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I forgot my glasses & they had some just for that possibility!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

My title says it all, I left my glasses back in the youth hostel, thought I was screwed when it came to reading the menu, guess what they had a number if different strengths just for such an occasion. To be clear they were not some old ones other people had left they were a selection of new ones they had bought just for such an occurrence
Apart from that we had a very nice evening, the service was pleasant and and attentive and food was really very good. I enjoyed a very spicy prawn tagliatelle, my wife swordfish and daughter 4 cheese pizza.we each enjoyed the meal.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jamboted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    85
    38
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
410 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Food mixed and short-staffed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

there was only one waitress on and she was really busy, but very friendly and made sure she didn't miss anything, don't know how she did it!
Food was mixed, I was disappointed in my pasta dish but my husband's pizza was superb. Desserts were pretty good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JKerr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

Eating out on a Monday evening anywhere can be a hit and miss affair so we were pleasantly surprised to find decent restaurant in such a small place which has lots of pubs offering similar pub food. 1530 has more variety and our meal was tasty, well presented and value for money. Service was good at first but slowed up a bit when the restaurant filled up. We would go there again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrewmck25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Italian outside Italy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Been to this restaurant several times and tried from the pizza to the amazing feathered steaks. Great food lovely personal service and good value for money.
Another gem to add to the the blue john!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neville W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not too impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Visited for an evening meal and found it to lack atmosphere.We ate on a Monday when the pizzas were half price although they tasted quite nice they were disappointingly overcooked one of our group chose a pasta dish and she said she could have eaten it again,so overall,not good value.When it came to measuring out the wine,it was so clinically precise you could have mistaken the waitress for a weights and measures inspector.Maybe worth a visit just to experience the restaurant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank HomeVictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1530 also viewed

Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to 1530? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing