We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food but VERY slow service”
Review of 1530

1530
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Castleton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Their telephone number is 01433621870. Postcode is S33 8WH. Very impressive restaurant in a small village, and I would love to give them a review. Thanks. Peter Taylor
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great food but VERY slow service”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Six of us booked for an early evening meal on Saturday day. We were greeted and seated with menus, eventually we were offered drinks which arrived promptly. Our waitress eventually came back and took the food orders and after about an hour the food arrived. The food was excellent but one of our party was given the wrong main course, as it was so late we accepted it and as a gesture this dish was on the house. A good experience if they could only sort out their service. We could not fault the food which was possibly the best Italian we have ever had.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Middleagedcouple25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    85
    39
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Super restaurant”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Four of us ate on a Sunday evening. We all had different main courses and they were all excellent. The food is mostly Italian with a good choice of starters, mains and desserts. The wine list was comprehensive. The staff were very pleasant, the service was efficient and the prices were very competetive. Overall a very enjoyable experience. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RivermanCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Restaurant”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Group of 6 of us had a really good evening here recently. Very sympathetic conversion of an old building. Alicia is an excellent hostess and the service couldn't be faulted. Menu extensive and interesting - unusual to see an Italian menu without lasagna and tiramisu! The garlic bread with mozzarella and chilli, marinated lamb cutlets, puttanesca pizza, and the chilli prawn tagliatelle can all be recommended, although nobody had any complaints about their meal. Desserts were delicious and the wine was well priced (Malbec so good we had to have another bottle). We were in Castleton for 3 nights and this was the best food by a distance. Would have happily eaten here all 3 nights but it was closed on Tuesday! Very good reason to visit Castleton again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb food and drink”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Came to 1530 with a group of 14. We had pre-booked and pre-ordered. The food was absolutely superb. Excellent value for this level of quality. House wine was very drinkable. Draft beers perfectly chilled. Would highly recommend this.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank b2rty2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sale, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I forgot my glasses & they had some just for that possibility!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

My title says it all, I left my glasses back in the youth hostel, thought I was screwed when it came to reading the menu, guess what they had a number if different strengths just for such an occasion. To be clear they were not some old ones other people had left they were a selection of new ones they had bought just for such an occurrence
Apart from that we had a very nice evening, the service was pleasant and and attentive and food was really very good. I enjoyed a very spicy prawn tagliatelle, my wife swordfish and daughter 4 cheese pizza.we each enjoyed the meal.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jamboted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1530 also viewed

Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to 1530? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing