We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

The Three Roofs Cafe
Ranked #6 of 21 Restaurants in Castleton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Three Roofs Cafe is a cafe situated the heart of Hope Valley. The cafe delivers a high level of good homemade food, hot and cold beverages and a nice homely environment that gives good value for money. The cafe also hosts Bistro nights during the summer months, is dog-friendly and welcomes muddy boots. The Three Roofs Cafe has parking facilities within close proximity are a number of local attractions and amenities. You can even stay at the The Three Roofs Cafe with a beautiful 1-bed holiday let available to hire above the Cafe. The village is great for walkers, cyclists, familes and is dog friendly too. There are many facilities in the local village including, Bed & Breakfast, local pubs, souvernir shops and lots of beautiful cottages.
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Located across the road from the National Park Visitor Centre Castleton.

Pros:
-Free WiFi - ask staff for password
-Clean and well-maintained premises.
-Plentiful indoor seating: wooden tables & chairs on a wood flooring. Some tables by a window. Some outdoor seating at front of premises.
-Range of food: breakfasts, soups & sandwiches, hot food, children's menu, cakes & desserts. Specials board.
-Range of drinks: coffees, hot chocolates, teas, soft drinks, milkshakes, alcohol (beer, ciders, white/rose/red wines. Local wine merchant, John Hattersley of Bakewell supplies their wine.
-I had a decaf coffee and a scone with butter and jam.
-Background music.
-Toilets.
-Local attraction leaflets
-Cards featuring local images for sale.
-Framed photographs on wall for sale.

Cons:
-Stepped access (one step) to toilet.

Notes: There is a 4 person holiday let attached to the premises.

Thank jonotennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

366 - 370 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We visited the cafe on a day trip to Castleton in the hope of finding somewhere that served an afternoon tea. Unfortunately we could not find afternoon tea so settled with a sandwich and cream tea.
When we entered the establishment we were greeted by a rude waitress who shoved us into a seat. Once we had been abruptly seated we had to wait a long time to order our panini which was sub standard and very over priced considering there was not crisps or chips served alongside the panini.
The cream tea was okay but very small, the scones were tiny and there was too much clotted cream to go on the tiny scone.
All of the waitresses were very rude to us and acted like it was an inconvenience we were in their cafe. For this reason alone we would never visit again and would encourage others to steer clear as it brought a dampener on our day trip. We waited about 20 minutes for the bill which we requested but in the end we had to go up to the till because nobody brought it to us!

Never again!

2  Thank Joe7oaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Threeroofscafe, Owner at The Three Roofs Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

I'm sorry to read you was disappointed with your panini and cream tea. All our prices are clear with a brief description of your food either on the menu or on the specials board. We have several side orders also available and one of them is French fries. In relation to our staff, I can't imagine any of them shoving you to a table or a seat but if this is how you feel, then I can only apologise. When coach parties descend upon the cafe we do get hit by an influx of customers who generally all want to be served at the same time. This can be challenging to manage but we do our best. The next time you do visit Castleton and want afternoon tea, I can recommend you try the causeway shop which serves a full afternoon tea. Thanks Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Visited on a very busy and warm Good Friday so cafe was exceptionally busy. The staff were run off their feet but very efficient and pleasant. They warned a 20 minute wait for our food but we did not mind as it was quite pleasant sat outside in the warmth of the day. Our food was plentiful and good but was not exceptional our only main complaint being the gravy served with the pie being both tasteless and thin - it's consistency was that of coloured water. We would go there again when we next visit Castleton.

Thank 190764Ramblingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

If you're looking for a convenient location with excellent facilities, comfort and cleanliness then I would definitely recommend staying at The Three Roofs' holiday let. I stayed here recently with my friend and it met all our requirements for a fabulous stay in the heart of Castleton. The accommodation is top notch, stylish and welcoming. It had all amenities covered, including an en suite bathroom. We didn’t have far to go for a good, hearty breakfast as the holiday let is actually situated above The Three Roofs Cafe! At the Cafe we received a warm welcome and excellent food to set us up for our day exploring the lovely countryside of Castleton. Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TophersTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Threeroofscafe, Owner at The Three Roofs Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

We're pleased you had a great stay at our holiday let. We thank you for your review and we do hope you stay with us again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I'm quite surprised at some of the negative reviews recently posted about this cafe. My family and I visited this cafe two days running and found it to be excellent.

We visited on Saturday 12th and Sunday 13th April 2014, a weekend in the Easter holidays when the weather was good, so obviously the cafe was busy. The manageress was clearly on the ball and on both occasions we were attended to immediately with courtesy. At no point during our meals did we feel rushed or pressured to leave.

I couldn't fault the quality of the food - the fish finger sandwich was very tasty, proper battered fish fingers with tartare sauce and a side salad created with care and attention. My partner had portabello mushroom with goat's cheese and said it was delicious. All the food was freshly prepared and I suspect a lot of it home made. My large slice of chocolate cake was very moist and the buttercream filling had just the right balance of richness and sweetness.

Having been to so many run-of-the-mill cafes with the same menu choices every time, it's refreshing to find a place where the owners offer a more ambitious menu choice and have clearly put a lot of thought into both the food and the decor. We'll definitely revisit when next in Castleton.

I don't find this cafe any more expensive than places of a similar standard that I have visited. The prices are clearly marked on the menu and specials board. If you think they're too expensive, why are you still here? Go and find a Wetherspoons.

The cafe is small - it's three small cottages knocked into one. The tables are no closer together than in most other small establishments. It's cosy and made for a great atmosphere.

To 'DBSNOTTM S' - you clearly have a lot of experience of the catering trade. Maybe you could offer your services as a consultant?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Threeroofscafe, Owner at The Three Roofs Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2014

Thank you for your review. Both Carl and I are very happy you had a great time when visiting us in Castleton. It's lovely to read your review and we appreciate your factual comments. All our staff have been trained on customer service and they all put 110 percent into their work. All our food including our cakes are home baked and prepared daily. We at the three roofs take pride in what we deliver and it's great that you recognise our hard work. Thank you again, from all at the three roofs cafe.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Three Roofs Cafe also viewed

Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to The Three Roofs Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing