We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great time in Castleton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleton
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Another great time in Castleton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

Must be the 5th time Ive stayed at the Castle, and again the rooms were clean and warm, the food and the Real ale were good. Great Location for food, Beer and Walking, all the (6)pubs do good food and all have at least 3 Real Ales in each. Going again at the end of March to the Castle, keep seeing the special offers of £20 rooms and can't stay away for that price, but worth the full price aswell for a great unwinding getaway.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheDaggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    119
    60
    28
    17
See reviews for
48
199
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

Not sure what to expect after reading reviews. Pleasantly surprised as the room was a good size lovely and warm lots of white towels and white linen, bathroom fine and very clean.
The food was good pub food we had dinner on saturday night but tried some where else on sunday and regretted not eating at the castle instead.
Very good position for walking. Please could we have some sunshine next time.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walker54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

Booked online for a party of 6 for Sunday Lunch. The staff were universally pleasant and helpful. We were informed of a slight delay before we ordered food but that was to be expected as the place was very busy. Service at the bar was prompt & polite and when the food arrived it was very tasty. Wish we could have stayed all night!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miniman747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

Having read some of the reviews before I booked, I didn’t really have high expectations for our trip. But we booked on a special offer that put the hotel in the ‘at this price, at least it will be warmer than camping..’ category. Next time I go, I will be quite happy to pay more.

Checking in was quick, easy and friendly. It was done in the pub, so I can imagine that at a busier time, it might have caused a small delay, but we didn’t have a problem
Access to the rooms was through the pub entrance, but secure. The room was very spacious, clean and warm. The decor was simple but with a nice cosy feeling. The selection of teas and coffees also included decaf, which was an unexpected bonus. The bed was almost too comfortable.

The bathroom looked as if it has been recently done out, and was a good size – bigger than my bathroom at home anyway! It was well stocked with clean towels, and had liquid soap both in the bath / shower and by the sink.

The continental breakfast had plenty to choose from. And for those that aren’t great in the mornings, the staff helpfully let me take a plate up to the room for my still sleeping boyfriend to enjoy on waking.

The pub itself had an excellent choice of real ales, and it looked as if there was a good choice of wines, if that is more your thing. It is a decent sized pub but with a number of cosy areas, with their own fireplaces to huddle around. The garden looked as if it would be lovely in another season. We ate there one evening, and the food was delicious although as a vegetarian, I think I benefited from the extra choice given by the specials menu, so might not always be available. That said, I took a good look at the menus in the other pubs in the village then next evening, and although they were all nice places in the same sort of price range and character, the Castle was the only menu where the vegetarian option had some thought put into it, and wasn’t just some sort of pasta dish. Service was quick and friendly.

Infact, the only let down was failing to see any of the resident ghosts...

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SatisfiedWeekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2010

Booked a lunchtime meal for 12. Open fires very welcoming, but service terribly slow, and ran out of choice. Ordered food individually, but delivery was not in sequence. Some meals not microwaved thoroughly. Room for vast improvement

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snipenose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

We have not visted Castleton for many years and previously always stayed at The Castle.

Our last visit, under the new ownership, was not a happy one. However trying to find a single nights accommodation in this village is difficult at this time of the year, and the prebooked rate of under £40 for Sunday night with 'free' breakfast encouraged us to book, how bad could it be said my hubby.

Well what a pleasant surprise, a newly refurbished room with a large comfortable bed, two pillows each, hair dryer, large flat screen TV lashings of hot water, large fluffy towels crisp bed linen and high standards of cleanliness made us both very happy.

Please note some rooms experience traffic noise, if you are not used to this specify a rear room when booking.

This is more a pub restaurant with 15 ensuite rooms and the pub itself is warm and welcoming with open fires and the usual pub fare - several items were not longer available off the menu when we ate at about 7.30 pm often a good sign in my view.... and my soup and pie were both tasty and hot - the meal deal for Sunday night is two courses for £9.95 and my hubbies prawn cocktail and gammon steak were again of good quality.

Some tables were not cleared promptly but we were able to find a comfortable table with no problem. The wine selection was good and the barman made an informed recommendation. Top marks there. The manager was engaging and friendly reminding us to ask if we needed any help or assistance and was on hand during all of our stay.

Now to breakfast, continental - quite a lot of choice but not as satisfying as that that we do best in England - the full english - but for the money no issues at all and if you wanted the real thing, plenty of places offering breakfast serice up to 10.30am locally.


This is a super location and appeals to all types of visitor not just the hikers and walkers everyone is made to feel welcome and a few improvements would make it perfect.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veryhappytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2010

B&B hotel in prime walking area that does not offer a cooked breakfast! How disappointing! Rooms also not up to scratch - shower and hair dryer did not work and bed uncomfortable. Further disappointment is that I have completed their Customer Survey form and requested a telephone call to discuss my stay - but have received no response. Hence I am now posting this review.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul499520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
9.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bamford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
5.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
Address: Castle Street | Hope Valley, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel in the Peak District, Innkeeper's Lodge in Castleton occupies a magical spot in a beautiful corner of Derbyshire.Nestled amongst the hills of Hope Valley, and surrounded by stark limestone crags, wild moors, sheer rock edges and intriguing caves, it's clear to see why Castleton is known as the honey-pot of the Peak District.A coaching inn since the 1800s, The Castle is tucked underneath haunted Peveril Castle, from which it takes its name. Country pubs don't come much cosier. Here you can refuel with heart-warming pub-food, well-kept cask ales and well-chosen wines, before retiring to one of the comfy, characterful rooms.The Castle is close to four show caverns, where you can explore vaulted chambers, bottomless pits, gemstone mines and underground canals via boat. There's plenty more to see and do nearby, with some of the country's best footpaths winding through the stunning scenery of the Peak District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Castleton
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing