We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay at The Castle, Castleton”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013

In January of this year, an array of family members arrived from Germany and the USA. We all stayed at "The Castle" but unfortunately it was during the very extremely bad weather and some of their staff did not manage to gain access to Castleton. Although "The Castle" itself is a very impressive hotel, large oak-beamed warm rooms and certainly in the heart of Castleton. The bar area was very comfortable with a beautiful real fire giving a lovely old feeling but unfortunately the service was not the way it ought to have been most likely because of the weather. Towels and linen were not changed and the breakfast although continental was of very poor quality (may I say that one of my relatives even had a mouldy piece of cheese) !! The atmosphere was very comfortable and a couple of guests joined us and they were quite welcome to sit with us for morning coffee. Our guests had come from Germany to see Castleton and this is where we had chosen to stay. There was no evening meal available because of the weather but we did manage to have a very impressive evening meal at one of the other hotels in Castleton who had obviously made allowances for the severe weather. A little "thrown together" service but the hotel - very beautiful.

Room Tip: All the rooms are large impressive and warm, recommend any of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wonderful0615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thank you for letting us know about your visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge . We really do appreciate your feedback.
Regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Castleton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

I can only reiterate some of the comments below which have clearly not been addressed. On our arrival we were completely ignored by 3 members of staff while we waited at the check in desk. Our problems really began though with breakfast the following morning. We had ordered a cooked breakfast in advance. On entering the room the continental breakfast was laid out but the staff member ignored us (again) and left the room. After 20 minutes I went to find her. She was in the bar ironically eating her breakfast. She took our order and left. By the time the breakfast arrived 3 more families had taken tables and we watched as the same thing happened again over cooked breakfasts, an empty orange juice jug and coffee. On each occasion someone had to wander off to find the waitress. Maybe the young lady is in the wrong profession? I couldn't complain to the manager as I had no idea who he was. It is a shame because the building is great, the rooms are good and the bar is lovely. Sadly we won't be returning as we were made to feel as though we were in the way.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrnigellee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Castleton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Got there about 12 could not get a space in car park so paid £4.00 to park in public car park tried again 3 times ,parked on road 2.40pm check in 3.00pm told could not check in until 3.00 ,so sat down till 3.pm low and behold 2 more couples checking in 20 mins later got checked in The room was very nice clean etc bathroom very nice Ali did a fine job . Got up for breakfast continental - style absolutely free according to the broucure not included in the price then ,£218 for sat & sun night but throught would upgrade to cooked breakfast I can say must be the worst breakfast I,ve had ,had toast next morning. Monday got up took bags to car had walk round till 9.45 went in to check out could not find anyone in hotel walked all round hotel shouted banged ,no one anywhere put key on board behind reception and walked out,but caslteton great

Room Tip: Don,t have no 2 noisy staff room next door computer room ,office opposite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillott555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge
Castleton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

A group of us stayed at the Innkeeper's Lodge at the end of June 2013.

As a base for exploring the Peak District, it's very well situated, and Castleton is a pleasant (small) town with reasonable amenities.

The room I had was reasonable enough, and a good size (two double beds) with a nicely appointed bathroom. Breakfast was included within the price, and was good, although for what we paid for the room, a cooked breakfast would have been nice (it was £4 extra).

We paid £90 a night for a double room, and although this seemed a little expensive, it probably reflects the limited accommodation in the town.

Overall, I would recommend this inn as a comfortable (but slightly expensive) base to explore the Peak District.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkH13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

We would like to thank you for your positive feedback after visiting Innkeeper's Lodge.
Kind regards
Innkeeper's Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely one night stay at this small hotel. The lodge is part of the vintage inn pub right in the centre of Castleton. Our room was in the main building downstairs and was lovely. The staff were friendly on check in & out. The rooms are large and well kept with a country feel. A buffer continental breakfast was provided in the morning. Could not fault it. Can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Innkeeper's Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper's Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The room was nicely presented and reasonably clean, the bed was comfortable and the linen crisp and white. The shower (over the bath) was great and the bathroom although small was pleasant and well decorated and equipped. The floor was incredibly creaky though so any night time trips to the toilet would wake any other occupants and probably anyone downstairs.

For the price I would have expected a cooked breakfast, but only a continental was included, although the croissants and pain au chocolate were lovely (and still warm). A cooked breakfast could be bought for a further £6.95 which seemed a bit picky - why not just include it.

Having arrived before 3pm, I asked if I could go to our room but the response was a straight, "No" rather than checking if the room had been cleaned and was available. Not very friendly.

I had a meal in the restaurant which was reasonably priced, however, there wasn't much filling in my pie. Other meals looked good.

Note: There are no cash machines in Castleton, however there is a Post Office, should your bank allow you to withdraw cash at a Post Office.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RealGoodBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent visit to Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton.
Best regards
Innkeeper's Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

From the moment we arrived for a three night stay we were made to feel more of a nuisance than a welcome guest. We arrived initially around 1.00pm, I was aware that we couldnt book in before 3.00 but thought we would make ourselves known and get some coffee and a snack as we had travelled some distance. On entering the pub there didnt seem to be anyone about other than a woman sat on the floor playing with a toddler,she didnt look up so we just stood about for a few minutes wondering if there were any staff in the place. She eventually looked up and asked if we needed help, I wasnt really sure who she was but said we were going to book in later to which she immediately snapped"You cant check in before three" Well we knew that and werent trying to do so , I then asked if we could get a sandwich, she called to a man who had suddenly appeared at the check in desk to give us menus. These were full meal menus not for sandwiches so my husband had to take them back and get the snack ones. Not much on them but we decided to have the chicken and bacon sandwich, lightly bound in mayonnaise and cress. It was disgusting, bread was stale, half a pot of mayonnaise had been shoved in the bread and very little chicken and no bacon whatsoever. It was accompanied by what was loosely described as salad, that consisted of a quarter of a lettuce and two slices of tomato. We eventually checked in at the due time with a young lad who couldnt operate the computer and kept moaning and sighing every time it wouldnt let him check us in. We had room 2, bed was hard, cold water slightly warm and window difficult to open. Constant noise from the bar area as well. We decided not to eat here anymore during our stay and found a great little pub just behind the Castle with fab food and very friendly staff. On our last night we decided to settle our bill (from the 1st days sandwich) so we could get away early the next day. We went to the reception and a man sat there handed us our bill nad told us to go round to the bar to settle it. The same young man from the first day was serving and when we tried to hand him the bill to pay he said quite aggressively"Where did you get that?" We told him from reception and he went off to check!! When he came back after verifying this was the case he didnt seem to have a clue how to actually settle and close the tab. He wanted to take the money but not give us any receipt. When my husband said he wanted a receipt again this member of staff became very surly, huffing and puffing and muttering to himself. We felt very uncomfortable and quite honestly couldnt wait to get out of this place. There was no sign of any managerial presence or leadership. Staff were bickering with each other behind the bar or mucking about as the mood took them. Be warned NOT a good experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank babsflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
1.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
9.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
413 reviews
5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
8.2 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
5.1 mi away
Little John Hotel
Little John Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hathersage
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District

Address: Castle Street | Hope Valley, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleton
Price Range: £68 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel in the Peak District, Innkeeper's Lodge in Castleton occupies a magical spot in a beautiful corner of Derbyshire.Nestled amongst the hills of Hope Valley, and surrounded by stark limestone crags, wild moors, sheer rock edges and intriguing caves, it's clear to see why Castleton is known as the honey-pot of the Peak District.A coaching inn since the 1800s, The Castle is tucked underneath haunted Peveril Castle, from which it takes its name. Country pubs don't come much cosier. Here you can refuel with heart-warming pub-food, well-kept cask ales and well-chosen wines, before retiring to one of the comfy, characterful rooms.The Castle is close to four show caverns, where you can explore vaulted chambers, bottomless pits, gemstone mines and underground canals via boat. There's plenty more to see and do nearby, with some of the country's best footpaths winding through the stunning scenery of the Peak District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Castleton
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing