We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More stairs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleton
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“More stairs!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I was a bit surprised to find that having negotiated a set of stairs to reach our room that when we opened the room door there was another set of stairs to access the room ! As we had booked a non refundable tariff that included not changing rooms we put up with it, but I think it would be very useful if full details were provided at the booking stage as we would not have chosen this venue as I gave arthritis in my knees and I did find the accessibility difficult. The room itself was basic but the bed was comfy and the bathroom was clean.

I echo what others have said about the breakfast service, we were not given any welcome in fact the first morning we didn't see any one from the hotel. The food itself was OK and we are happy with continental breakfast on the middle morning of our stay we did go to the inn in Hope were my cousin was staying - we left it too late to get in there, what a difference though the staff were great and made us very welcome, we actually had dinner there twice due to the service provided. I find it hard to understand why they find breakfast so difficult to manage as we ate dinner in the hotel one evening and the staff could not have been more helpful and the food was delicious.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to Innkeeper's Lodge, Castleton was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    119
    60
    28
    17
See reviews for
48
199
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

I booked this hotel on the the internet cautiously after reading some of the poor reviews. As we have 6 month old twins i phoned ahead to ask about cots. On arrival we were booked into the annex (room 8 ground floor) The room was huge and the travel cots had been put up and been provided with bedding which made things much easier for us. We ate in the pub both nights and the staff were all friendly and the food was decent quality. Breakfast is a buffet continental which we prefer anyway. I would definitely bring my family back here and can only assume there have been some staff changes!!!!

Room Tip: The annex is away from the main building which is good because you don't hear any noise. You can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donna_coombes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The Castle, Castleton. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job.
Innkeeper's Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We booked in as a stay over for a wedding nearby, but decided to make a bit of break of it seeing as we had got a rare night off the kids! The young lady who checked us in was really helpful and friendly. The room (10) wasn't too bad but needed some work, the linen was clean, but the decor was tired with paint flaking off the ceiling in the bathroom and the grout and sealant was disgusting around the bath. There was no 'free wi-fi' in the room. The room upstairs had the creakiest floor boards ever and although not the fault of the owners, the residents up there must have been ballroom dancing at 5am, it was so noisy. The next morning we came into the pub for our breakfast and the poor waitress was rushed off her feet (1 person for all residents) and consequently slightly curt in her responses. The breakfast was awful, no choice as to what you wanted within the breakfast just brought out and eat what you like off the plate....bacon was just fat, egg underdone etc. etc.
All this would not be too bad, but for what we paid, we feel very short changed and can't envisage us staying again. Thought that there may be an incentive to eat at the pub if you are staying, say 10% off a meal, or a free drink....but nothing...we went across the road to the Bulls Head. Your money would be better spent elsewhere.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
We are sorry that had disappointing stay at Innkeepers Lodge and we do appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.
Thank you.
Innkeeper’s Lodge,Castleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Stayed here on the night of our Wedding anniversary, having been here previously. The room was one of the lodges accross the carpark, clean and tidy even if a bit dark on entry. You can hear every movement fromthe room upstairs. Sat in the garden for a drink in the afternoon, a nice beer garden spoilt by what can only be described as lazyness by the staff. There were some people sat at some tables all the other tables were either covered by dirty beer glasses or sticky fingerprints. An afternoon with a power washer and a hard brush, follwed by teaching the staff on how to clear tables would make such a difference, having stayed 2 years previously the decline in standards is very evident.
Breakfast was a farce, no one to greet you, find a table and hope a member of staff arrives arrives to take your order for a prebooked english breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us on our Trip Advisor page. We were disappointed to read that you were not satisfied in your visit to the Castle, and we have replied to your personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeepers lodge, Castleton, Peak District.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

The Good... Great location and I get why the rooms are not the best, muddy walkers and wet clothing make for a messy hotel so thats not too much of an issue.
Staff were good on arrival and service was good.
The Bad.. Cleaners clean things - or not bit cobwebby and dirty, the windown inthe ladge couldnt be closed whih is fine if you like rain inside the room and the BELLS argh the Bells ... the church bells wake you up at 7am and go on until 8pm as well as this everytime someone leaves the building the doors salm shut, add to this the crowds opposite in the pub outside and its a little noisey but hey thats not too bad.
The Hungry .... Bit overpriced but your paying for location, Dinner was good and price was ok but breakfast what a laugh.
So you come down and some moron grunts at you - no hot water no idea whats going on when we asked who we ordered a cookeed breakfast from he looked shocked and asked "what for both of you " - no one of us is going to watch ? Then it arrived oh dear raw sausage, cold beans and the worst service ever emnbarrassed yes us and every other table there ?
What a shame that the breakfast crew cant be bothered but then i guess you dont get tips on the breakfast shift do you !
Would I stay again - guess so as the location is good but I wouldn't eat breakfast there ever again ...

Room Tip: Ones in another hotel are better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MYK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Castleton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

First impression of the room was good but a closer look showed a lot of dust and stains on the walls, the bathroom looks as though it was refurbished relatively recently but not by anyone competent, the lights are poorly fitted the shower screen leaks and has damaged the side of the bath, the shower has no real pressure. The room was directly above the bar and the music played until midnight very loud although in fairness the assistant manager did make sure it was turned down and off earlier the next night. Room was not cleaned on one day and I had to ask for extra towels, not really acceptable given the price. Overall a pretty disappointing place to stay

Room Tip: Stay away from room 3 if possible, too much noise from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Castleton, Peak District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed for 3nights in the annexe,two adults and two older children. Generally clean room until you look up! Cobwebs and dust hanging from and on all beams above bed, assuming the cleaner is not given sufficient time. Towel rail broken but they did fix it next day. Toilet felt like it was about to fall off wall when you sat down,not very secure. Breakfast is good depending what time you go down as they seem to have limited supplies and depends who is on duty. Location is lovely which is lucky for them! Skylight outside our bedroom door is obviously open all the time. Carpet gets wet then dries hence it stinks in corridor of damp!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback following your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Castleton, Peak District
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
9.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bamford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
5.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
Address: Castle Street | Hope Valley, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel in the Peak District, Innkeeper's Lodge in Castleton occupies a magical spot in a beautiful corner of Derbyshire.Nestled amongst the hills of Hope Valley, and surrounded by stark limestone crags, wild moors, sheer rock edges and intriguing caves, it's clear to see why Castleton is known as the honey-pot of the Peak District.A coaching inn since the 1800s, The Castle is tucked underneath haunted Peveril Castle, from which it takes its name. Country pubs don't come much cosier. Here you can refuel with heart-warming pub-food, well-kept cask ales and well-chosen wines, before retiring to one of the comfy, characterful rooms.The Castle is close to four show caverns, where you can explore vaulted chambers, bottomless pits, gemstone mines and underground canals via boat. There's plenty more to see and do nearby, with some of the country's best footpaths winding through the stunning scenery of the Peak District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Castleton
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing