We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleton
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Good weekend”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Just returned from a two night stay with a group of friends. We were in room 7 in the annexe and unfortunately the radiator was Luke warm at its hottest. My husband did mention this on our first evening but nothing was done to correct the problem. Also we did not have a radiator or heated towel rail in the bathroom. Other than that all was fine, nice large room plenty of space. As for the meals on our first evening I had a risotto for starters which was lovely, unfortunately the rump steak to follow was one of the toughest I've had, as was my husbands. Second evening we had the festive menu, my pate was quite tasteless, but the sea bass was lovely as was the lemon tart and Black Forest cheesecake. I found the staff to be pleasant and friendly at dinner and at breakfast times. All in all we had a wonderful time and would visit again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you found The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    124
    60
    28
    17
See reviews for
52
208
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Having decided to visit Castleton for my girlfriend's birthday I chose the InnKeeper's based on nothing more than a little desk-top research. We arrived, somewhat bedraggled, having encountered the odd downpour as we walked in from Edale via Hollins Cross. The welcome could not have been more pleasant. We were quickly through the formalities, soon unpacked and enjoying the comfort of our large and well furnished room - 'Bollsover'.

We decided to avoid another soaking an opted to have dinner in the hotel. Even though the menu was an edited version due to it being Sunday the choice was good with rices reasonable across the board.

Out waitress, perhaps with one too many shifts to her credit, was less than cordial but when the food arrived it was ideal for two hungry, fussy, vegetarian walkers. Both the quality and quantity could not be faulted.

The room delivered up a quite and very comfortable night's sleep.

Breakfast was even better than dinner. We added to the free 'continental' style breakfast with two full English vegetarian cooked breakfasts. These were freshly prepared, hot and real plate-fulls!! Perfect for the day of stormy weather that lay ahead.

The management and staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. This encouraged us to return later in the day for coffee and to warm ourselves beside the fire prior to heading out of Castleton.

From the moment we walked in to the moment we left it was hard to fault the Innkeeper's Lodge, their staff or management.

My girlfriend and I already plan to return.

Room Tip: Choose a room to the rear of the building and preferably an interior room rather than one in the ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJChandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, 3 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge, Castleton and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed the night on Saturday 19th October.Rooms was an "accessible" double £115 per night is very expensive and there is better and cheaper accommodation in the Village.Staff are very disorganised and don't seem to care.Food was very average.I had the Black and Blue Steak.£18 for a Steak with a couple of handfuls of frozen chips.I was told I could've "upgraded" to chunky hand-cut chips for £1 but when you're paying £18 in a Pub you'd expect hand-cut chips.My wife had half-roast Chicken and chips,dry chicken,frozen chips.The menu states "seasonal chips" which is obviously the new name for frozen chips.We spent the rest of the evening in the other pubs in the village and really wish we'd eaten across the road in the Bulls Head.
Breakfast was OK but again the service was very sloppy.No greeting when we arrived in the room we then had to go and find the waitress to ask how we ordered our cooked food.The ingredients used were quite good quality and all told it was far better than the meal the night before.
The Castle used to be the place to eat/stay.Not anymore.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here as for a room in the Annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
We are very sorry that you left disappointed, following your stay at The Castle, Castleton. We have replied to you personally as it is our goal to give every customer the best service possible and your feedback can help us achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Me and my wife had lunch here last week, we were taken to our table by a young male waiter, he took our drinks order and all was good. A female waitress came through asked if we would like drinks, so we mentioned we had already ordered but would have a cofee as well. She came back later and took our food order, we ordered our mains and before we could order any sides she had gone. She forgot the cofee and brought it late. The food was great, we enjoyed the pie we each had and the time came to ask for the bill. We asked for the bill from the female waitress and waited ten minutes whilst she chatted with her friend in the other room before I got up and went to the bar and asked for my bill, again. She was poor, really poor.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 338Liam1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
We are sorry that you had a disappointing visit to our Innkeepers Lodge, and we do appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

What can I say, the room was ok, I am a bit of a clean freak so it wasn't as clean as I would have liked, the shower screen needed a good clean , and I mean good, the girl in the breakfast room was a bit grumpy, but she did seem to be doing it all on her own , so maybe she had a point. There was a strange smell on the landing but it wasn't in the room thank goodness , but we had gone away with friends for a good weekend and we did have one.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for your recent review, It was good of you to take the time to leave your feedback following your visit to The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Called in for a drink and some food on Sat 28th sep. The two lads on the bar were friendly and the Peroni was lovely as it was an hot day but that was as good as it got I'm afraid.

We ordered a starter and 2 burgers, after 40 mins nothing had arrived and being sat near the bar I got wind we weren't the only unhappy ones. Another customer told me he'd been waiting an hour and someone was complaining they ordered 2 steaks, received only one which was cold. I asked for my money back which was dealt with promptly. Good bar staff, lousy kitchen staff.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Your feedback is appreciated, we were very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit to The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Easy to find in centre of Castleton with free carparking to rear. Good value quality pub food.
Comfy bedroom and extremely powerful shower. Although room was overlooking main road trffic noise was minimal even with window open. No adverse comments at all. Breakfast is excellent

Room Tip: we were in room 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carnethy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
We are so pleased to hear that you found The Castle a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
9.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
384 reviews
8.2 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
8.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
19.9 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
5.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
Address: Castle Street | Hope Valley, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel in the Peak District, Innkeeper's Lodge in Castleton occupies a magical spot in a beautiful corner of Derbyshire.Nestled amongst the hills of Hope Valley, and surrounded by stark limestone crags, wild moors, sheer rock edges and intriguing caves, it's clear to see why Castleton is known as the honey-pot of the Peak District.A coaching inn since the 1800s, The Castle is tucked underneath haunted Peveril Castle, from which it takes its name. Country pubs don't come much cosier. Here you can refuel with heart-warming pub-food, well-kept cask ales and well-chosen wines, before retiring to one of the comfy, characterful rooms.The Castle is close to four show caverns, where you can explore vaulted chambers, bottomless pits, gemstone mines and underground canals via boat. There's plenty more to see and do nearby, with some of the country's best footpaths winding through the stunning scenery of the Peak District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Castleton
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing