We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain biking weekend...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Group of 8 of us visited for 3 nights in May and had a really good stay.

We were there for mountain biking in the Peak District and this was a really good spot for exploring the area.

We had a mix of rooms in the pub and in the annex. All worked well for us being clean, spacious and generally well appointed. Only slight disappointment was that we paid for twin rooms and in reality they were doubles with a sofa bed as the second bed and for the price you pay I would expect two proper beds.

This said breakfast was great, staff very friendly and beer was excellent.

Very good place to stop in the Peaks.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank RPAPKPMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 350 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Castle Hotel for two nights. Our rooms were in the annex which was a little disappointing as I was hoping for a haunted room! It ended up being great anyway as the room was spacious with great bathroom and corner bath. Rooms clean and well kept. We found the bed a little uncomfortable, but we put that down to our awesome bed at home, rather than it being 'that' bad. It didn't cause any loss of sleep with us being so tired from walking! Also it was a little dark, due to it being on the ground floor it wasn't always appropriate to have the curtains and window wide open, which we probably would have if it were on a second floor (again not really a lot the hotel can do about this).

Breakfast, although not cooked, was brilliant. Great selection, fry up not needed!

We had a meal in the pub, haddock and chips, which was probably the nicest battered fish I have ever eaten. Batter was unbelievable!

Overall a great, friendly hotel for a good price. You would have to be ultra picky to not enjoy your time here. Next time I will ask for a spooky room!

Stayed: May 2014
Thank st3v3fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We are so pleased to hear that you found The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We arrived on our one of two retreats a year on our own,as husband and wife,without the kids.. a rare treat to ourselves. We have stayed her on numerous occassions before, in suits with nice decor,four poster beds,jacuzzi's, fresh linen, nice food and staff..
This was not one of those occassions!! We were given a key, to a disabled accomodating room, with a wet room, awful decor, woodlice ( even on the bed!) cobwebs on light fittings and in corners of the room. A truly awful room. We approached the staff and informed them we were not happy! and asked if there was another room available?!.. Possibly one with a jacuzzi, like the ones we have stayed in before and we were tole "no sorry- the rooms have had the tubs removed,due to safety/weight reasons") We had a drink and checked out the menu and were not too impressed and decided to dine elsewhere. On our return, we went to the bar and the young man serving,tryed to give us in-accurate change, giving us a five pound note, instead of the ten we were due. Luckily we were vigilant enough to notice!! We were un-happy,to say the least. We sat down with our drinks, but soon felt pressured to sit outside with our drinks in the cold, to free the table we were sat at, to diners. We went elsewhere for a few drinks and reluctantly retreated to the room, where we had a very bad nights sleep!!! My husband had a laser light, right next to the bed, shining in his eyes all night. The linen was not fresh. We had breakfast in the morning and thank fully was greeted with more professional, friendly staff. We ate and left promptly. We will not be returning to stay here,which is a shame,as this used to be our favourite retreat.. Superbly disappointing. The highlight of our stay ,was purchasing some beautiful jewelry, for our daughter up-coming birthday! Not quite the retreat we had hoped for!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

We are very sorry that you left disappointed, following your stay at The Castle ,Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton . We have replied to you personally as it is our goal to give every customer the best service possible and your feedback can help us achieve this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My Hubby and I stayed at The Castle this bank holiday weekend, the room was spacious, comfy and well decorated with a great view of the castle. The staff were friendly and we ate in the restaurant in the evening, the food was fabulous, and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We were in Room 2 in the main building, it was quiet and the bed was really comfy, the power shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneWaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you for your kind review. All the staff here find it very encouraging to see feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the experience when you visited us recently. We would love you to visit again, and have replied to you personally. The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Have just returned from a weekend break at The Castle. We had the most fantastic weather which added to our enjoyment. We had room 10 (ground floor, in annexe) the room was well appointed, clean and the bathroom large with corner bath and power shower. The continental breakfast was very good with fresh coffee or a great choice of teas, cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt and breads. We had a small problem with the shower which was dealt with immediately without fuss. Now one or two niggles! The floorboards in room 7 which was above us need attention, especially when guests returning at 1.30am march around for 45 minutes like a herd of elephants. Not the fault of the guests, they have every right to come and go as they like. The underside of the toilet seat is very badly stained, not expensive to change, it looks disgusting. So that's my little rant, overall the hotel is very good and the position is spot on. Lovely beer garden round the back and outside seating area at the front, great for people watching! Would I stay again, yes I would, maybe an upstairs room though! The staff were all friendly and welcoming, very nice to see.

Room Tip: Room 10 floorboards creak from room 7 above, otherwise a well appointed room with large corner bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topdogmeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you for your positive review following your recent visit. We are passionate about getting it right and your feedback will help us to achieve this aim. We really hope you will visit us again and we have sent you a personal reply. The Castle, Innkeepers Lodge Castleton.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Had a lovely lunch here on a very busy bank holiday. We were able to sit inside even with the dog and eat what turned out to be one of the nicest 'pub' meals we all ever had. Very friendly staff - thank you for serving us we hope to back

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Thank you for your review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit to The Castle, innkeepers Lodge, Castleton and I have shared your comments with all the team. We have replied to you personally and look forward to taking care of you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Very nice pub with rooms located in the village of castleton with lots of walks direct from the door. The room and hotel were very clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. The cooked breakfasts were excellent and there was a good choice for the continental breakfast. We were in room 14 which was in the roof but the ceiling height was fine (no bumped heads) and even though there were only two skylight windows the room was very light and airy. As this is an old building there was some noise from other guests as they went to and from their rooms as the floorboards creaked a lot and some people did seem to bang the doors on the landings, (but it is said to be haunted so it could have been one of the ghosts!!!!!) We would definitely return next time we go for a walk up mam tor.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkyBlueBarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Innkeepers Lodge, Castleton and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
9.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
403 reviews
1.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.0 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
8.2 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
12.7 mi away
East Lodge Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District

Address: Castle Street | Hope Valley, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleton
Price Range: £73 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel in the Peak District, Innkeeper's Lodge in Castleton occupies a magical spot in a beautiful corner of Derbyshire.Nestled amongst the hills of Hope Valley, and surrounded by stark limestone crags, wild moors, sheer rock edges and intriguing caves, it's clear to see why Castleton is known as the honey-pot of the Peak District.A coaching inn since the 1800s, The Castle is tucked underneath haunted Peveril Castle, from which it takes its name. Country pubs don't come much cosier. Here you can refuel with heart-warming pub-food, well-kept cask ales and well-chosen wines, before retiring to one of the comfy, characterful rooms.The Castle is close to four show caverns, where you can explore vaulted chambers, bottomless pits, gemstone mines and underground canals via boat. There's plenty more to see and do nearby, with some of the country's best footpaths winding through the stunning scenery of the Peak District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Castleton
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing