We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at the Innkeepers Lodge,Castleton,Peak District by JuanyJuanna14.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleton
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our stay at the Innkeepers Lodge,Castleton,Peak District by JuanyJuanna14.”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

It was our anniversary on Wednesday and we wanted to see the Garland ceremony which takes place every year on 29th May and booked into the Innkeepers Lodge and on arrival we were greeted very warmly by the staff on reception who were most helpful and we booked dinner later that evening. We went out to watch the ceremony which was most unusual but very enjoyable and then back for dinner which was excellent, well served and very tasty, the room was very comfortable and clean and all the staff very pleasant and helpful, which resulted in a really enjoyable break in excellent surroundings.

Room Tip: Go for rooms 7 to 14 which are in a separate annex across the Car Park as these are a lot more quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuanyJuannaJAN13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your review, it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit to The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton and I have shared your comments with all the team. We have replied to you personally and look forward to taking care of you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    127
    61
    28
    17
See reviews for
52
214
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I booked a room for 2 nights for my wife's 30th and my 7 month old baby. Unfortunately my daughter was extremely ill cutting short our stay at the Castle. In the brief time we where there, the service from all the staff, especially the management was outstanding. They were extremely sympathetic and went out there way to comfort my baby and deal with all our annoying requests. I will definitely be booking this hotel again which welcomed us with live music and great food as well as being in a perfect location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolvereeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you found The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge, Castleton a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

my husband and i had a lovley time here in this lovley part of countryside although the weather was not upto scratch the the staff made us feel special and the rooms were clean and soundproof and the breakfast was excellent. overall trip wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
May we thank you for your review, as we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton. We have replied to you personally and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Group of 8 of us visited for 3 nights in May and had a really good stay.

We were there for mountain biking in the Peak District and this was a really good spot for exploring the area.

We had a mix of rooms in the pub and in the annex. All worked well for us being clean, spacious and generally well appointed. Only slight disappointment was that we paid for twin rooms and in reality they were doubles with a sofa bed as the second bed and for the price you pay I would expect two proper beds.

This said breakfast was great, staff very friendly and beer was excellent.

Very good place to stop in the Peaks.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank RPAPKPMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Castle Hotel for two nights. Our rooms were in the annex which was a little disappointing as I was hoping for a haunted room! It ended up being great anyway as the room was spacious with great bathroom and corner bath. Rooms clean and well kept. We found the bed a little uncomfortable, but we put that down to our awesome bed at home, rather than it being 'that' bad. It didn't cause any loss of sleep with us being so tired from walking! Also it was a little dark, due to it being on the ground floor it wasn't always appropriate to have the curtains and window wide open, which we probably would have if it were on a second floor (again not really a lot the hotel can do about this).

Breakfast, although not cooked, was brilliant. Great selection, fry up not needed!

We had a meal in the pub, haddock and chips, which was probably the nicest battered fish I have ever eaten. Batter was unbelievable!

Overall a great, friendly hotel for a good price. You would have to be ultra picky to not enjoy your time here. Next time I will ask for a spooky room!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank st3v3fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you found The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We arrived on our one of two retreats a year on our own,as husband and wife,without the kids.. a rare treat to ourselves. We have stayed her on numerous occassions before, in suits with nice decor,four poster beds,jacuzzi's, fresh linen, nice food and staff..
This was not one of those occassions!! We were given a key, to a disabled accomodating room, with a wet room, awful decor, woodlice ( even on the bed!) cobwebs on light fittings and in corners of the room. A truly awful room. We approached the staff and informed them we were not happy! and asked if there was another room available?!.. Possibly one with a jacuzzi, like the ones we have stayed in before and we were tole "no sorry- the rooms have had the tubs removed,due to safety/weight reasons") We had a drink and checked out the menu and were not too impressed and decided to dine elsewhere. On our return, we went to the bar and the young man serving,tryed to give us in-accurate change, giving us a five pound note, instead of the ten we were due. Luckily we were vigilant enough to notice!! We were un-happy,to say the least. We sat down with our drinks, but soon felt pressured to sit outside with our drinks in the cold, to free the table we were sat at, to diners. We went elsewhere for a few drinks and reluctantly retreated to the room, where we had a very bad nights sleep!!! My husband had a laser light, right next to the bed, shining in his eyes all night. The linen was not fresh. We had breakfast in the morning and thank fully was greeted with more professional, friendly staff. We ate and left promptly. We will not be returning to stay here,which is a shame,as this used to be our favourite retreat.. Superbly disappointing. The highlight of our stay ,was purchasing some beautiful jewelry, for our daughter up-coming birthday! Not quite the retreat we had hoped for!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
We are very sorry that you left disappointed, following your stay at The Castle ,Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton . We have replied to you personally as it is our goal to give every customer the best service possible and your feedback can help us achieve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My Hubby and I stayed at The Castle this bank holiday weekend, the room was spacious, comfy and well decorated with a great view of the castle. The staff were friendly and we ate in the restaurant in the evening, the food was fabulous, and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We were in Room 2 in the main building, it was quiet and the bed was really comfy, the power shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneWaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. All the staff here find it very encouraging to see feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the experience when you visited us recently. We would love you to visit again, and have replied to you personally. The Castle, Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
9.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
390 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
8.2 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,709 reviews
9.9 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
1.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
Address: Castle Street | Hope Valley, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel in the Peak District, Innkeeper's Lodge in Castleton occupies a magical spot in a beautiful corner of Derbyshire.Nestled amongst the hills of Hope Valley, and surrounded by stark limestone crags, wild moors, sheer rock edges and intriguing caves, it's clear to see why Castleton is known as the honey-pot of the Peak District.A coaching inn since the 1800s, The Castle is tucked underneath haunted Peveril Castle, from which it takes its name. Country pubs don't come much cosier. Here you can refuel with heart-warming pub-food, well-kept cask ales and well-chosen wines, before retiring to one of the comfy, characterful rooms.The Castle is close to four show caverns, where you can explore vaulted chambers, bottomless pits, gemstone mines and underground canals via boat. There's plenty more to see and do nearby, with some of the country's best footpaths winding through the stunning scenery of the Peak District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Castleton
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing