We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic weekend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleton
Doncaster
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2009

Had a brilliant time at the castle, staff are fantastic,very friendly and helpful. Rooms could do with abit of a make over. We stayed in the annex and could hear residents in the other rooms but this didnt spoil our weekend. Food is lovely and we will definately be returning!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allisonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    118
    60
    28
    17
See reviews for
49
192
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
midlands
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2009

We have stayed at Castleton for the last 9 years at xmas time mainly in the Castle Hotel as it has always been decorated fantastic with big roaring fires and huge tree ,but the last 2 years has gone downhill,the decorations are far and few between with no tree and very very little decorations but still has the roaring fires making it cosy and welcoming.As someone said in a previous review that the man that checked them in seemed very stressed ,well it was the same when we went .They didnt have enough staff on and was queues 5 deep at the bar at some times.Xmas is a very busy time of year there and need twice as many staff on as they did.The food was lovely but a little over priced but didnt put us off.Now im on the subject of the rooms... we stayed in rooms 8 and 9 which are in the annex ,very nice rooms but if you have someone stopping above you it is very noisy,the floorboards creak that much you think they are going to come through thudding of footsteps are a bit annoying to say the least ,what with that and the small double bed we didnt get much sleep we are used to a superking size bed.My freind had an experience from the resident ghost..THE MAID... she goes around and tucks you in bed really really tight pressing down on your chest little bit unnerving for me but he thought it was great .Breakfast is served at a good time 8-10am which is good if you want a lay in after a long walk the day before,and has plenty to offer but could do with a hearty full english,but you cant have it all can you?ALL IN ALL WE HAD A FANTASTIC WEEKEND WITH PLENTY OF WALKING WITH NICE LONG HOT BATHS AND PLENTY OF BEER,WINE AND FOOD ,....JUST REMEMBER YOUR EAR PLUGS...ENJOY

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helbobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2009

Just arrived back from a very pleasant night at the Castle Hotel. I wonder what some people expect for their money after reading some of the previous reports. Our room (16) was very clean and comfortable with well appointed clean bathroom. Welcoming, friendly staff and pleasant surroundings - lovely log fires. Very good selection of ales and wine. Food was good for price..and plenty of choice. Breakfast was very pleasant in a room with a lovely log fire, free newspapers, plenty of choice - cereals,fruits,yogurt,bagels,croissants,danish pastries, etc - good coffee and juices....and the toaster worked a treat! I would definately stay again ...hopefully we'll see the ghosts next time!

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank leerob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

We went to this Hotel as a treat for my husband's birthday. What a mistake! First impresstions weren't great. The manager who was booking in guests appeared to be very stressed. We were told that our room was in an annex outside the hotel. The annex was secure but the room was dated. The bathroom was horrendous with mouldy tiles, both on the wall and floor and the wall and pipes behind the toilet were very dirty. It could do with a total makeover. The children's sofa bed was really uncomfortable and had gaps all over it. The meal in the evening was nothing special and it was made worse by the fact that the table we'd reserved was made next to a table full of men who were drunk and swearing. When we asked them to curb their behaviour as we had young children with us we were greeted with a barage of abuse asking us why our children were up at that time anyway. It was 7pm!! One of the men clearly wanted a fight as he continued to keep staring at my husband. I complained to a member of staff that said we could move to another table but allowed the other people to stay. My children were upset and I am also 5 months pregnant and was very upset by this altercation. Upon leaving the hotel we informed the manager that there appeared to be a leak in the reception area. He was not at all concerned and said it was probably someone having a shower upstairs!! We paid approx £150 inclusive of the meal but to be quite honest we could have stayed in a decent boutique hotel for this amount. We will never go there again and I don't recommend anyone else to either!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s9cko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Castleton hotels

WEST YORKSHIRE
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

Stayed here before, very welcoming and friendly staff, we were told we had a choice of room, 4 or 12, 4 being the most haunted- we took 4!! large room full of character but in need of a bit of TLC. corner bath in large bathroom, could easily accomodate larger bed, we are used to 6 footer! didnt sleep much due to expecting a ghostly visit but it was also VERY windy and a bit noisy and we are insomniacs. food very good for chain and reasonably priced, breakfast adequate but would have prefered cooked as in derbyshire for walkers who would benefit from a robust meal to see them on their way. lovely village.parking a problem not just a t hotel but throughout village. All in all worth a visit if just for the character and history.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank piglet23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winchester
Level Contributor
128 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

We stayed a night here on a trip round the UK. Greeted by a wonderful receptionist who promptly told my children our room was haunted. Not a great start. Having said that all the staff were just lovely. The Castle is part of the Innkeepers Lodges chain - little pubs and inns that are affordable and atmospheric. Just not that clean or modern.

Our room was dated, needed decorating and the bathroom was probably the worst I have had for some years. There were bulbs missing in lights and chewing gum stuck to the bottom of a (mismatched) table and chairs. The beds were reasonably comfortable but not much sleeping went on as some of us were keeping a beady eye out for one of the many ghosts that inhabit this inn. Breakfast was included in the price and was continental ie. some cereal, some frozen bread and a poorly working toaster a fruit juice and a basket of hard croissants. Not acceptable at all. Parking terrible - many people complaining. Hotel only appears to have about 8 spaces.

I feel guilty posting this review as the staff where so sweet but we were all extremely relieved to leave The Castle.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lily23007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

My wife and I have stayed several times at the Castle.
The rooms are always clean, the jacquzzi rooms are great value too.
Breakfast is okay, nothing special, a full english breakfast would be an improvement.
We prefer it in the winter when all the lights are on outside.
Parking can be a problem and is very limited and the food is probably better over the road at the Bulls Head, we will stay again.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnandwendyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
5.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
9.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bamford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
14.0 mi away
Charles Cotton Hotel
Charles Cotton Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hartington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
Address: Castle Street | Castle Street, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel in the Peak District, Innkeeper's Lodge in Castleton occupies a magical spot in a beautiful corner of Derbyshire.Nestled amongst the hills of Hope Valley, and surrounded by stark limestone crags, wild moors, sheer rock edges and intriguing caves, it's clear to see why Castleton is known as the honey-pot of the Peak District.A coaching inn since the 1800s, The Castle is tucked underneath haunted Peveril Castle, from which it takes its name. Country pubs don't come much cosier. Here you can refuel with heart-warming pub-food, well-kept cask ales and well-chosen wines, before retiring to one of the comfy, characterful rooms.The Castle is close to four show caverns, where you can explore vaulted chambers, bottomless pits, gemstone mines and underground canals via boat. There's plenty more to see and do nearby, with some of the country's best footpaths winding through the stunning scenery of the Peak District National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Castleton
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing