We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ye Olde Nags Head
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Castleton
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
George Hotel(Hathersage)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little John Hotel(Hathersage)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Strines Inn(Sheffield)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Maynard(Grindleford)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Navigation Inn(Buxworth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (393)
Filter reviews
393 results
Traveller rating
200
127
34
15
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
200
127
34
15
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnags headfour poster bedthe pubsmall bottle of winebangers and mashspa bathbooked this hotelhuge portionsbottled waterderbyshire breakfastate heresunday lunchopen firelasagnaselection of beerspeak districtboth nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
192 - 197 of 393 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

we arrived on a rainy afternoon to a warm welcome and log fires,we were shown to our room which was very comfortable, the breakfasts were huge and the meals we had were mouth watering,if you are a real ale lover this is a good place to be ! we stayed here for two nights and wished it could have been longer,we would certainly recommend this place, the staff were very friendly and helpful

Pauline and Stuart
From Stoke on Trent and Warrington

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pauline h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just returned from a weekend break at the nags head. Have stayed here before and myself and my husband couldn't say anything negative about both our visits.Nothing is too much trouble the owners and staff are great,as are the rooms. we have eaten here a number of times and never had a bad meal. would recommend the steak special.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LRafferty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Called at the Nags Head for lunch/tea. I had the meat and potato pie, chips, mushy peas and gravy, I have to say, it was the best, succulent steak, good short crust pastry etc. There was plenty of meat in this pie and I have to say....scrumptious ! Everything on the plate was to my liking, I don't often say that. Well done to Ye old Nags Head, we have been visiting Castleton for years and shamefully, this was our first visit......We'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Decent selection of ales and fab menu. Good mix of atmosphere with pub on one side and a cosy eating area on the other. We ordered the sausage and mash which was gorgeous- it was nice to be able to pick the sausage, the sauce and type of mash. For the price, a third sausage would have been nice, but this may have been because we had walked up a massive appetite!

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to any other visitors to Castleton!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank pinkmarmite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

We stayed here in July of 13.

What a charming, atmospheric place! Loved everything about it.

Parking in the village was a breeze.

Check in was fast and friendly. Pub is full of character. Up the winding stairs to our two reserved rooms, both of which were quite unexpectedly well appointed, updated, and very nice. Bathrooms were superb.
This was one of those impulsive stays unplanned during our drive across England, and Ye Old Nags Head was a surprise in how nice everything and everyone was. No research--we just drove into Castleton looking for a place--and they had available rooms. So glad we chose it.

Breakfast was delicious and fresh.

The next time we return to the Peak District we will absolutely stay at Ye Old Nags Head again, and for much longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews