We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience of having a drink in the bar”
Review of The Peak Hotel

The Peak Hotel
Ranked #10 of 20 Restaurants in Castleton
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Myself and my husband have been coming to Castleton for many years for a day trip out and we usually have a drink and a pub lunch. We have been coming to the Peak Inn for a few years now as it has always been a friendly warm atmosphere and excellent food.
How disappointed I was on this year’s visit, we entered the pub which was empty inside and ordered our drinks with the intention to order food once we had sat down and looked at the menu. The young man behind the bar was very apologetic as he had virtually no change and had to give us four pounds worth of twenty pence’s in our change. Whilst he was getting our change out of the till, the landlady came round the bar and he told her he needed change as there was none in the till. She replied by saying “You will have to ask the customers to dig deep in their pockets and get out there change as I haven’t got any, or get them to pay on their card!. Myself and my husband couldn’t believe it, we were made to feel awkward because we went in pub with a twenty pound note when according to her we should have gone into her establishment with the correct money. How rude, she spoke about us, to him whilst we just stood there as she was annoyed with us for causing a problem just because we needed change!.
As part of her job as landlady she is supposed to make sure there is enough change on the establishment it’s not the customers responsibility!. It’s her job to go to the bank and get enough change to last her the bank holiday weekend. If you can’t cope with that then you shouldn’t be in the job and taking it out on your customers is not acceptable. I really felt sorry for the poor guy behind the bar as he was only doing his best in what was definitely a poorly managed establishment. We were going to eat but decided with her bad attitude we would finish our drinks and find a more friendly Pub to spend our money in. If fact I will not be visiting the Peak Inn again, not until they get a decent landlady who knows how to run it properly. What a shame, what was a nice friendly pub ruined by bad attitude of the Landlady. If you don’t enjoy your job, leave! don’t take it out on your paying customers!.

    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Joz737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, Owner at The Peak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Hello.
Sorry to hear that you weren't entirely happy with your visit to The Peaks Inn.
Since you posted your your review, The Peaks has undergone a major overhaul in October 2014, and has changed back into it's original name of The Peak Hotel.
This impressive revamp has enhanced the quality of all decor both inside and out now making it the quirkiest and most fun gin and ale bars in the area, whilst in keeping with local traditions.
The Peak Hotel now boasts...
*Delicious home made food served all day everyday.
*Over fifty beautiful Gins from around Great Britain.
*Five award winning seasonal cask ales and a minimum of two ever changing craft beers.
*And of course four high quality en-suite four poster rooms.
I sincerely hope that you can call in again soon and see how a once less than appetising pub has become a thriving and fun pub for all the family.
Thank you for your review.
Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for The Peak Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 167 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

on the 6th of may called in for a drink..after been saverd by a young lad in a motorbike jacket we sat down 9.40 pm the place was so dirty this place had not been cleaned for more then a few days.paper down chairs tables dirty and so so cold and just five mins later to be told we are calling time then 5 people came in to be told we have called time..well if thats how they run the place it will not last long i would never go back and iam sure the other people will think about it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
3  Thank stephenofleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, Owner at The Peak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Hello.
Sorry to hear that you weren't entirely happy with your visit to The Peaks Inn.
Since you posted your your review, The Peaks has undergone a major overhaul in October 2014, and has changed back into it's original name of The Peak Hotel.
This impressive revamp has enhanced the quality of all decor both inside and out now making it the quirkiest and most fun gin and ale bars in the area, whilst in keeping with local traditions.
The Peak Hotel now boasts...
*Delicious home made food served all day everyday.
*Over fifty beautiful Gins from around Great Britain.
*Five award winning seasonal cask ales and a minimum of two ever changing craft beers.
*And of course four high quality en-suite four poster rooms.
I sincerely hope that you can call in again soon and see how a once less than appetising pub has become a thriving and fun pub for all the family.
Thank you for your review.
Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We found this place after walking in the peaks, and they had a really decent garden that catches the sun. Castleton was busy, but it was worth looking to find here, where we had no problems in finding a table outside. We didn't eat, but from what I saw the food looked good!

Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
justustwoSheffield, Owner at The Peak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Thanks for taking the time to write a positive review. It gives us hope...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

As a regular to Castleton I have tried all the local pubs but for some reason have never tried The Peaks Inn. After we tried to get a table in Ye Old Nags Head around the corner and they were fully booked we thought we would try The Peaks Inn. When we arrived we told we could sit anywhere we wanted but no tables where laid (which makes me think it is more of a "locals" pub than a tourist restaurant type pub). However, we found a table and sat down and looked at the menu. Hardly any choice at all but we went to the bar and ordered as my partner was so hungry he just wanted to eat something. We ordered and sat back down at the table where the waitress then came over and literally near enough threw our cutlery straight on our table (which had not been cleaned and was so sticky it made me feel abit sick!). We noticed that the cultery was wet so we found some napkins and started cleaning them ourselves when we looked over and noticed the couple opposite us was doing the same...we all laughed and said we were now worried about our food coming out (they have tried the Cheshire Cheese pub up the road but no tables so like us had to come to The Peaks Inn). We waited around 40 minutes for our food which when it came out was okay but not amazing. The couple opposite us where still waiting for their food after we had finished ours and headed out. We did not even want to have dessert there which for us is unheard of (we both have sweet teeth!). We will not be coming back and would recommend Ye Old Nags Head. The Peaks Inn restaurant needs a GOOD clean and some better service, all the other pubs in the area were fully booked whereas this place was empty which should have said alot when we first walked in.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Louisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, Owner at The Peak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Hello.
Sorry to hear that you weren't entirely happy with your visit to The Peaks Inn.
Since you posted your your review, The Peaks has undergone a major overhaul in October 2014, and has changed back into it's original name of The Peak Hotel.
This impressive revamp has enhanced the quality of all decor both inside and out now making it the quirkiest and most fun gin and ale bars in the area, whilst in keeping with local traditions.
The Peak Hotel now boasts...
*Delicious home made food served all day everyday.
*Over fifty beautiful Gins from around Great Britain.
*Five award winning seasonal cask ales and a minimum of two ever changing craft beers.
*And of course four high quality en-suite four poster rooms.
I sincerely hope that you can call in again soon and see how a once less than appetising pub has become a thriving and fun pub for all the family.
Thank you for your review.
Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

AVOID AT ALL COSTS - food terrible and not as described. Waited for half an hour for a sandwich and jacket potato with prawns and smoked salmon, yet there was no smoked salmon in sight and prawns evidently defrosted and soggy. Awful rude and inexperienced staff. Manager also very defensive.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Rosabrightonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, Owner at The Peak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Hello.
Sorry to hear that you weren't entirely happy with your visit to The Peaks Inn.
Since you posted your your review, The Peaks has undergone a major overhaul in October 2014, and has changed back into it's original name of The Peak Hotel.
This impressive revamp has enhanced the quality of all decor both inside and out now making it the quirkiest and most fun gin and ale bars in the area, whilst in keeping with local traditions.
The Peak Hotel now boasts...
*Delicious home made food served all day everyday.
*Over fifty beautiful Gins from around Great Britain.
*Five award winning seasonal cask ales and a minimum of two ever changing craft beers.
*And of course four high quality en-suite four poster rooms.
I sincerely hope that you can call in again soon and see how a once less than appetising pub has become a thriving and fun pub for all the family.
Thank you for your review.
Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Peak Hotel also viewed

 

Been to The Peak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing