We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent burgers!”
Review of The Peak Hotel

The Peak Hotel
Ranked #9 of 20 Restaurants in Castleton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent burgers!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Management at this establishment must have changed. I had a great burger with a good pint at a reasonable price. Good value in the Peaks!

Helpful?
Thank ehudphilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    43
    9
    10
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
voddiegal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible service and loos”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We have a family outing to Castleton at Christmas every year and know the village very well.

This year we were a party of five, all adults. We stopped just for a drink and a warm. Pub wasn't busy but waited ages to be served. During the afternoon I visited the Ladies, all I can say is that they were in an appalling state of despair - out of the three cubicles, two had 'out of order' signs and the other one had a broken seat. In fact it was just resting on the pan, both bolts completely destroyed.

The ladies weren't particularly clean, either.

When I complained to the staff, they really couldn't care less, and the barman blamed a group of ladies who'd been in the previous night!

My partner visited the gents and reported the same state of disrepair, again staff disinterested.

I have visited this pub many times in the past but will be avoiding it from now on.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank voddiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
justustwoSheffield, Owner at The Peak Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your visit. I received your complaint from our staff but, as you will appreciate, there's very little we can do to get the toilets repaired in the middle of Christmas week as no one is working. My staff were correct in informing you that the toilets were vandalised by an over zealous group of party goers the previous night. The toilets are being attended to today now that we can get a workman to come in.
As to your allegations about the business of the pub and speed of service, you are being disingenuous. The pub has been very busy every day, including your visit, and this is the reason why you may very well have had a wait to be served. By all means report the truth, we always welcome that but but don't lie to embellish your report please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sunday Roast”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Been here twice recently after a leisurely stroll around Castleton. Friendly pub, lovely Sunday roast which is good value.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank H1977H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

Myself and my friend including her 2 dogs visited the peaks inn today 10/11/13 and had their 3 course menu and we have to say that for £12.00 for all 3 course was amazing and we really think that it was fantastic value and was fantastic food well done for making us and our 2 dogs more than welcome .....the dogs even got a doggie treat thank you tracey n cade

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Furbank67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food naff, rooms falling apart and filthy.”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The rooms at first glance look lovely, especially the one with jacuzzi. However, when you retrieve items from under a bed or chair they are COVERED in dust and it's really quite filthy, bed dressing are broken and the jacuzzi is not only STUPIDLY loud that can be heard through the entire upstairs....it's like having ants farting in your bath :/ Avoid. Spend your money somewhere that puts the effort in :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Peak Hotel also viewed

 
Castleton, Hope Valley
Castleton, Hope Valley
 

Been to The Peak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing