We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value hotel in Castleton”
Review of The Peak Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Peak Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The hotel rooms are very large compared to most other hotels in the area- our particular room also had a very large open plan bathroom- great!
The atmosphere in the hotel is really warm and welcoming. The meals are good quality and well priced. All in all the best of the 3 hotels that we have stayed at in Castleton- by far!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMRFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2011

Well, what a fantastic couple of days! Went with my partner for a mid-week break, and thoroughly loved the experience. The landlord and serving staff were all friendly, and the food was delicious, with the only complaint being there was too much for my partner to finish it all.

The bedroom was simple, but a comfy king sized bed and fantastically hot shower helped us relax after long days out walking and exploring.

Thoroughly recommended, and make sure you try the ice cream!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterBio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I and my partner stayed for a night at the inn and it was fantastic. The room was large and had a large bed with nice, clean bed linen. The bathroom was also large and very clean, with toiletries provided by the inn.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank niks2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

It was our first visit to Castleton and after a lovely day exploring we went to the Peaks (earlier than booking in time) to get some lunch. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, even allowing us to book in early. We ate here and the food arrived quickly, well presented and delicious!! :-) We ate outside, despite it raining, in the gorgeous garden which had heat lamps and huge umberellas making it a very nice al fresco experience!!!

The room was lovely and clean, the shower was amazing and our good night's sleep was not disturbed at all from any noise from the pub. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was big and tasty.

Overall we had a very pleasant stay and would definitely return.

Thanks to the landlord and landlady :-)

Room Tip: We stayed in room two.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noodlesgroovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We recently stayed at the Peaks Inn for 3 nights - The Inn is really nice and the owners have only been in business for about 12 months. During our stay we had excellent breakfasts and plenty of it. Nothing was too much trouble - we ate at the Inn one evenng and again the food was very good. We stayed in room 3 - which was spacious and the bed was very very comfotable - and even as it was at the front of the Inn we were not disturbed by noise. The bathroom was huge and hot water was plentiful and had an excellent shower. However, we did have to e-mail the owners after our stay (they were nt on site when we left) to recommend that they review their cleaning of the bedrooms. Our room on arrival had cotton and fluff on the bathroom floor and a dirty wooden floor in places in the bedroom. The dust lay thick on the headboard an other pieces of furniture. We made note but unfortunately nothing improved during our 3 day stay. In fairness to the owners, after our e-mail they said they had recently reviewed their clearning and staff had been retained so this problem should not re-occur. Don't let this put you off - because I think it wa a blip in their cleaning regime - the sanitary ware in the bathroom was very clean and towels/sheets etc excellent. Just a little too dusty.
Castleton is an excellent area for walking, caves, and several places to eat. Do visit the George pub - it's so quaint and welcoming - the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debs94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeeChesterfield, Owner at The Peak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2011

Thank you for your review - as mentioned in your email, we have already corresponded regarding this issue and my response really is aimed towards future guests.

We pride ourselves on offering a friendly and welcoming service and employ staff with "can do " attitudes - if you feel that something is not acceptable / up to standard, please notify either myself, Madeleine or any member of our team. We are eager to ensure that every guests stay is as satisfying as possible and, given the opportunity, will always try to rectify any problem which may arise.

Madeleine and I were present on the first night of the above guest's stay and also cooked/served breakfast the following morning - had we been notified at the time that our guests were dissatisfied with the cleanliness of the room, we would have instantly corrected the issue.

Our housekeeping staff have since been retrained in areas that need attention with the current addition of bedroom checks once cleaning has been completed to ensure standards remain as we would wish.

Guest comments (both positive and negative) are extremely valuable to us and assist us in improving standrads and service for future customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

My husband and I spent 3 nights at The Peaks Inn. From arrival to departure the staff were keen to ensure everything about our stay was perfect. After the first nightmy husband commented that he couldn't remember sleeping so well! We didn't bother eating anywhere else as the meals were tasty and of good quality. We visited a few of the other pubs in the village for a drink but were pleased that we had chosen The Peaks Inn for our stay. After 3 nights away my husband looked 10 years younger! If you want a break away from it all this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marinerette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

After a fantastic first stay at the Peaks Inn we said we would book again.. so we did and this time brought the family with us to see 12 Strings play.

We had room 3 this time which was lovely, really spacious and had everything you could possibly need including the lovely little touches like bottles of water alongside the usual tea tray.

As always all the staff were fantastic, as was the lovely breakfast. The music by Twelve Strings was also a fantastic night - great atmosphere.

Will we be back? - absolutely!

Any regrets? Only writing these reports so it may become so popular that I cant get in again... but I hope it is always busy as its a credit to the owners.

Thanks again for a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveHolidays1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
4.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
401 reviews
5.0 mi away
Little John Hotel
Little John Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hathersage
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
0.0 mi away
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
0.1 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#4 of 13 in Castleton
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peak Hotel

Address: How Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WJ, England (Formerly The Peaks Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Peaks Hotel Castleton
The Peak Hotel Castleton, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing