We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food, friendly staff”
Review of The Peak Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Peak Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2011

Visited The Peaks Inn for an evening meal only - did not stay so can't comment on the B&B facilities.

It was a very quiet evening and seemed to have the place to ourselves. It made for personal service from the very friendly staff, but it did lack a bit of atmosphere. Food was better than average and was very good value. Having their own car park opposite is a big bonus for a place like Castleton. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Tasty-Fish-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
There are newer reviews for The Peak Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2011

We couldn't have wished for a better stay, warm welcoming and knowledgeable hosts. The room had splendid views of the peaks, very comfy 4poster bed, clean room, big spa bath, easy to work flat screen tv, with built in dvd player. They even hire dvds which is something no inn has done before, that was an extra we were pleased to take up. The menu, isn't exhaustive but they have a good quality selection, I assume this is so that they can keep the high quality of service. I actually had the same meal both nights as it was just perfect, caramelised onion topped with brie parcel, in a light puff pastry, with a large variety side salad and garlic bread. The drinks are again a smaller selection, but we like koppaberg so we were very happy. Everything was reasonably priced, the breakfasts were v tasty, I didn't want a full English, but I requested scrambled egg on toast and this was no problem, nothing was too much trouble. We highly recommend the pub, we stayed 2nights as a package, it was also good to see locals in there, we were above the bar but hardly any noise.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anouskasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Stayed three nights at the Peaks to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. As all the previous reviewers have said, the owners and staff were all really lovely and friendly. Loved our room - number 2. Very comfortable bed and very good shower. Fab food both at breakfast and in the evening and good range of ales and ciders. Felt so relaxed that even finding we'd got a puncture on the motorbike when we were about to set off home couldn't spoil the weekend. Would love to stay at the Peaks again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LouiseGriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2011

We have a really lovely night in the hotel as we were celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary, the staff and service were second to non as they coulrn't do enough for us after getting very very lost in the mountains.

thanks again to all.

Room Tip: Book early.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We have just returned from a lovely short break at this inn, our room was great with everything we needed, staff and inn was brill. We enjoyed the breakfast and this kept us fed till night time. Castleton is a lovely place to visit great to be able to leave the car and just go and explore. Thanks to everyone at the Peaks Inn for an enjoyable stay, we hope to be back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank humphrey6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Good:Lovely pub. Large comfortable room, huge bathroom,nice furniture; loads of character.Comfortable bed.
Superb breakfast & very friendly staff.
Bad: Beer prices a bit high.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The2of
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

We received a warm welcome, and found our room (1) large, comfortable, & clean. There was a four-poster bed and a good sized bathroom with jacuzzi. The food was good pub food, with excellent, friendly service. There was a live band on when we were there, which was a great way to spend the evening after a long walk. A lively, fun atmosphere - obviously a popular venue. There were only 2 minor niggles - the bedroom overlooked the outside seating area, and had lovely long french doors. Unfortunately there were no voiles at the window, so people sitting outside could (and did!) see into our room unless we closed the heavy curtains, blocking out the daylight. The other issue was that the jacuzzi probably hadn't been used for a while, and when switched on threw out very smelly stale water. If we had had more time, we could have rinsed it through and re-run it, but unfortunately weren't able to. Apart from these minor niggles, we had a great stay and would certainly look forward to staying again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunset20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
4.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
398 reviews
5.0 mi away
Little John Hotel
Little John Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hathersage
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
0.1 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#4 of 13 in Castleton
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peak Hotel

Address: How Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WJ, England (Formerly The Peaks Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Peaks Hotel Castleton
The Peak Hotel Castleton, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing