We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfy stay in a lovely pub”
Review of The Peak Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Peak Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“comfy stay in a lovely pub”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

At short notice we decided to try and find somewhere to stay in Castleton. This pub was the only place that had a room free. I was slightly unsure as it was a twin room that could be made in to a double. We booked it anyway as the price was quite reasonable with breakfast included.

We were happy to find that room 4 when made up for a couple is excellent. The two beds together gave us loads of space. They were also really comfy, including the pillows, which I often find stops me getting a good nights sleep. The actual room itself is large with a big wardrobe, set of drawers, flat screen TV. The drinks tray had all sorts to chose from, including bottles of water which was a nice surprise.

The bathroom is separate, so no squeezing in a tiny cupboard here like you do in some places. There's a large bath with a good powerful shower over the top.

For the breakfast we had a full English each. The food was well cooked and the ingredients were of an obvious good quality. There was also plenty of drinks on offer. The woman who took our order and served us was very friendly.

This was our first visit to this pub and we were extremely happy with it. Next time we stay in Castleton we'll be trying to get in here first.

You can my travel diaries at pencer.org.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    80
    15
    16
    19
See reviews for
38
163
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

My wife and I had never been to the Peak District before so this was our first trip and I cannot recommned it highly enough. This is no 'gastro' pub but a fabulous good honest pub with great comforable bedrooms with al the mod-cons you could require. As an introduction to the Peaks I doubt you could better it. We stayed here for two nights and could not have asked for a better place to introduce us to the area - the village of Castleton in perfect and you have a pick of a number of other pubs to chose from.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newman8or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We stayed last weekend 4th and 5th Nov. What a lovely place. The room was even better than it looked on the website. We were in room four - twin bedded - very spacious. The breakfast was excellent - you could have full english or your own choice of mix and match. Nothing was too much trouble. We ate there both evenings and can recommend the food. We also asked for a packed lunch for the Saturday when we went walking. Brilliant choice - lovely fresh bread and ham and cheese, must have had 6 slices of ham - fresh cookie and fruit and bottled water. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We have just returned from a very enjoyable, three night stay at the Peaks Inn. We stayed in room 3 which was very comfortable and spacious whilst providing cosy surroundings. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. The breakfast was of a good standard and the two lunches we had there were large portions and good value for money. This is pub accommodation but well worth the money and we would recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshnDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed for just one night in October, and both wished we could've stayed for longer. Everything from the room, the evening meal and the breakfast were just perfect. We are definately planning to come back in the summer - but for longer!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Sarah10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We only had one nights stay at this pub recently but we would have liked to have stayed for longer. We stayed in room 4 which was large and the twin beds had been made into a large king size which was really comfy, we both slept well. The bathroom with bath and shower over was really large too, nice to be able to have a bath after a long walk. This room is at the back of the building so it was really quiet, no noise from the bar or anywhere else. There was plenty of room for clothes and the drinks tray was generous with biscuits and bottled water included. The breakfast next morning is served in part of the bar. We had the full english breakfast and weren't disappointed. Everything was cooked well and good quality, with plenty of tea, coffee and toast. We were stuffed by the end of it.
We'd definitely stay here again, and most likely would stay in the same room.

Room Tip: Room 4 was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bnotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Just returned from a 5 nights stay at the Peaks Inn Castleton and would definatly recommend this inn to anybody wishing to have a peaceful break in the dark peak district .The staff were extremly friendly and very helpfull even down to offering to light a fire for us after a long wet hike which was greatly appreciated.The breakfast every morning was hot and of a good size served with plenty of decent coffee and a daily newspaper .And as for Castleton a great base to explore the high dark peaks.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derek7777777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
4.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
386 reviews
8.3 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,605 reviews
0.1 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#1 of 13 in Castleton
223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peak Hotel

Property: The Peak Hotel
Address: How Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WJ, England (Formerly The Peaks Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Peaks Hotel Castleton
The Peak Hotel Castleton, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing