We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely homely and welcoming. Top value for money”
Review of The Peak Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Peak Hotel
Ranked #9 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extremely homely and welcoming. Top value for money”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Stayed one night after being on a campsite the night before. Got to the hotel after a long hard walk and the jacuzzi bath was absolute bliss. Lovely clean and traditional style rooms. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. We stayed on a Tuesday when it was the chefs night off (a shame as the menu looked brilliant). So the barman recommended another pub for to us for food, which was excellent. Overall a great stay, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huxmeisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
justustwoSheffield, Owner at The Peak Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you for your great comments, it's nice to hear people like yourselves having a great time in our room and pub. It is a shame you didn't get to try the food, perhaps if you do decide to stay with us again, how about on a fri/sat night??
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    80
    16
    16
    19
See reviews for
39
163
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We went in to the bar at 7:15 on a Friday night. I went to the bar and joined a man waiting to be served. Someone else came in and joined us. There were no other people at the bar. The only barmaid appeared to be re-arranging glasses. She had to be called over to serve us. There was no pleasant greeting from her. After what seemed to me to be far too long, I got my drinks. A glass of red wine was judged to be very nice - my pint of real ale was ok. A short time later we left and found a really super pub 50 yards away. Sad really as we had planned to stay their all night and have a meal.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank oldbrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, Owner at The Peak Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello.
Sorry to hear that you weren't entirely happy with your visit to The Peaks Inn.
Since you posted your your review, The Peaks has undergone a major overhaul in October 2014, and has changed back into it's original name of The Peak Hotel.
This impressive revamp has enhanced the quality of all decor both inside and out now making it the quirkiest and most fun gin and ale bars in the area, whilst in keeping with local traditions.
The Peak Hotel now boasts...
*Delicious home made food served all day everyday.
*Over fifty beautiful Gins from around Great Britain.
*Five award winning seasonal cask ales and a minimum of two ever changing craft beers.
*And of course four high quality en-suite four poster rooms.
I sincerely hope that you can call in again soon and see how a once less than appetising pub has become a thriving and fun pub for all the family.
Thank you for your review.
Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Spent one night here as part of my birthday celebrations. Beautiful setting; some great walks on your doorstep. Great choice of pubs and places to eat.

The hotel itself was clean with a good atmopshere and relaxed. The staff that we met seemed friendly. The room was very spacious, good tea/coffee making facilities (including bottled water and proper mugs) and had lovely views. Well decorated. Spacious bathroom with plenty of supplies (including conditioner!) The fan could have done with a wipe but apart from that it was very clean and comfortable. If I was being picky, the tv was on the small side (given the room was large).

We had the all English breakfast, which was scrummy. Not too much; just enough with cereal, juice and toast. Good meat.

I would definately stay here again and would highly recommend to friends and family. Good value for money.

Many thanks.

Room Tip: The road outside coud be noisy so request one further away. If you want nice views and don't ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernMonkeys_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
justustwoSheffield, Owner at The Peak Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our road facing rooms can be a bit noisy, and unfortunately we can do nothing about road traffic. Perhaps if you were to stay again, we do have 2 rooms facing the rear of the property, one with a lovely 4-poster bed and jacuzzi spa bath, with a lovely view of Peveril Castle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

A lovely guest house/Pub. Very Good service. Our company had made a mistake with the payment. The Proprietress made arrangements for us to have a meal with no fuss at all. The Bedroom I was given was huge and another bedroom could have been made from the bathroom !
We had to leave at 5am so did not have breakfast. Many thanks for a good stay. p.s Bar food was excellent !!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madhatter64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Peak Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Many thanks. We'd be pleased to welcome you back anytime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Right in the centre of Castleton but very quiet. The breakfasts are good with a full English and the staff are friendly. The beds are comfortable although room 4 which are twins has iron bedsteads so weren't long enough for my tall husband. The bathroom smelt a bit musty as the fan wasn't working but had a good bath, great after a days walking, and the shower over the bath was powerful. The bedroom was spacious but had 2 skylights with no blinds so in summer the room gets light very early in the morning. The room was a bit dusty and the floor could have been cleaner.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lancashirelass04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, Owner at The Peak Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello.
Sorry to hear that you weren't entirely happy with your visit to The Peaks Inn.
Since you posted your your review, The Peaks has undergone a major overhaul in October 2014, and has changed back into it's original name of The Peak Hotel.
This impressive revamp has enhanced the quality of all decor both inside and out now making it the quirkiest and most fun gin and ale bars in the area, whilst in keeping with local traditions.
The Peak Hotel now boasts...
*Delicious home made food served all day everyday.
*Over fifty beautiful Gins from around Great Britain.
*Five award winning seasonal cask ales and a minimum of two ever changing craft beers.
*And of course four high quality en-suite four poster rooms.
I sincerely hope that you can call in again soon and see how a once less than appetising pub has become a thriving and fun pub for all the family.
Thank you for your review.
Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Just got back from staying at this Inn and it's very nice. The rooms are big and spacious, if not a little cold. We arrived on the Friday and were assigned room 3, very big room with a double bed but on the main road. It was noisy but it didn't stop me from getting to sleep. HUGE bathroom, but only one heated towel rail. It wasn't too cold but I wouldn't like to be there during winter. The only downside was the bed was a bit too soft for my liking and it creeked every time we turned over. Also the rooms could do with some brighter bulbs, putting the make up on was a bit difficult but not the end of the world.

Marie was a great help to us during our stay and provided us with information on taxis and things for getting around. Breakfast is only served from 0830-0930 so there is no chance of getting a late feed if you have had a few too many beers the night before. Breakfast was fab. Black pudding was really delicious.

Castleton in general is very small, shops close at 7pm and there are no ATMs on the street or late night food places. Make sure you eat in one of the Inn's before 9pm otherwise you'll go hungry till the following morning.

Overall it was a lovely place but shame we didnt get the weather or the time to explore more. I would definitely go back if in the Peaks again.

Room Tip: Room 1 at the back of the hotel and with jacuzzi bath. Room 4 with twin beds at back of hotel but h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leigreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, Owner at The Peak Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello.
Sorry to hear that you weren't entirely happy with your visit to The Peaks Inn.
Since you posted your your review, The Peaks has undergone a major overhaul in October 2014, and has changed back into it's original name of The Peak Hotel.
This impressive revamp has enhanced the quality of all decor both inside and out now making it the quirkiest and most fun gin and ale bars in the area, whilst in keeping with local traditions.
The Peak Hotel now boasts...
*Delicious home made food served all day everyday.
*Over fifty beautiful Gins from around Great Britain.
*Five award winning seasonal cask ales and a minimum of two ever changing craft beers.
*And of course four high quality en-suite four poster rooms.
I sincerely hope that you can call in again soon and see how a once less than appetising pub has become a thriving and fun pub for all the family.
Thank you for your review.
Rick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We stayed here for the weekend in room 1 with the four poster bed.On arrival staff were very friendly and showed us to our room. We arrived quite late so missed dinner service but were pointed in the direction of a very lovely steak just down the road.I booked the room just for the luxury of the four poster and the jacuzzi and it did not dissapoint; it was an impressivley large bath, understandbly took a long time to fill due to its size but the water was always boiling hot. Another plus to the room was little touches, a gift bag of homemade fudge from the shop accross the road, water by the bed and nice toiletries in the bathroom. Breakfasts both mornings were delicous, cereal choices were limited but happened to be my favourites anyway so was not an issue. Throughout service there was always jugs of fresh juices and Marie was always on hand making sure we were ok for drinks and everything, The little pots of jam on the tables were delicous also! The second morning i had poached egg which was fantastic, by far the best ive ever eaten :) Overall a lovely stay in a nice, friendly, family run inn. Will definatley return if in the area!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carla h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at The Peak Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Thanks for your comments. It makes us all feel that we're on the right track and, of course, we'll keep on striving to improve!
Craig & Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
4.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
388 reviews
8.3 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#1 of 13 in Castleton
224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peak Hotel

Property: The Peak Hotel
Address: How Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WJ, England (Formerly The Peaks Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Peaks Hotel Castleton
The Peak Hotel Castleton, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing