We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Peak Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Rushop Hall(Castleton)
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Causeway House(Castleton)
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
George Hotel(Hathersage)
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little John Hotel(Hathersage)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Maynard(Grindleford)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (299)
Filter reviews
299 results
Traveller rating
152
90
18
17
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
152
90
18
17
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubbeer garden issunny dayfantastic hotelscampifour poster bedlovely atmosphereside saladfood was fantasticspecials boardworth a visitlong walkflat screen tvwarm welcometea and coffee making facilitiestoastlarge bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
293 - 298 of 299 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2005

We were lucky enough to stay in 'Room 1' at the Peaks Inn a couple of weeks ago and were very impressed. The room was very tastefully decorated and beautifully furnished, (the photos on the website do not do it justice) with high ceilings and polished wood floors. - plus the four poster bed and jacuzzi!
Dinner downstairs was reasonably priced and delicious, but remember to leave room for the desserts! We didn't manage much more than cereal for breakfast after having one too many in the bar the night before, but the choice available was good.
In an ideal location for exploring the surrounding peak district, we are currently recommending it to anyone who'll listen.
Many Thanks to Steve, Karry and all the Staff for an lovely stay.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bectoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Sheffield
221
Reviewed 30 March 2005

Beautiful modern rooms, chintz-free and very comfy. A bit noisy as its above a boozer but it quietens down at last orders and you can't complain when you can nip downstairs for a pint.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Nottingham, England
15
Reviewed 11 March 2005

We visited the Peaks Inn in February, during a cold and snowy period. On arrival you are greeted with a country type pub and roaring log fires and it all looks very cosy.

The room was lovely and big, clean and nicely decorated, although a little cold due to the very high ceilings, and the big cooked breakfasts each morning couldn't be faulted.

The only problem with the Peaks Inn was that it seemed to be the main entertainment venue in the village. On the first night there was a band on, the second night was the local rugby club's school disco and karaoke night. On top of that there were lock ins on both nights, with the locals finally being kicked out at about 2am and finally the owners dog which on our second night barked from around 12-2am (despite a call to the landlord)

So in short if you aren't looking for somewhere quiet - its a great place to stay, personally I would recommend The Castle - 2 minutes walk from the Peaks Inn, all of the charm and none of the noise.

  • Stayed: February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, Owner at The Peak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2017

Hello.
Sorry to hear that you weren't entirely happy with your visit to The Peaks Inn.
Since you posted your your review, The Peaks has undergone a major overhaul in October 2014, and has changed back into it's original name of The Peak Hotel.
This impressive revamp has enhanced the quality of all decor both inside and out now making it the quirkiest and most fun gin and ale bars in the area, whilst in keeping with local traditions.
The Peak Hotel now boasts...
*Delicious home made food served all day everyday.
*Over fifty beautiful Gins from around Great Britain.
*Five award winning seasonal cask ales and a minimum of two ever changing craft beers.
*And of course four high quality en-suite four poster rooms.
I sincerely hope that you can call in again soon and see how a once less than appetising pub has become a thriving and fun pub for all the family.
Thank you for your review.
Rick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
420
Reviewed 10 January 2005

I took my other half here for his birthday in May 2004. We were a bit apprehensive at first when we entered the bar, but once we had checked in and had a drink, we felt right at home.
The bedroom was gorgeous and it is obvious that they have recently been refurnished.
The Peaks Inn is in a splendid spot and it has a lovely little beer garden which we unwound in after a day’s pounding the local hills.
The food is standard pub fare, but very nice and a great selection. We also managed to select an awesome red which was so nice we had two bottles the one night which seemed like a good idea at the time.
The bathroom was very large, but beautifully designed.
I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Castleton.
Lou@Warwickshire

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick E, Owner at The Peak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews