We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swiss House B&B(Castleton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rushop Hall(Castleton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Causeway House(Castleton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Peak Hotel(Castleton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Cheshire Mews(Castleton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveller rating
156
94
39
19
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
156
94
39
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscheshire cheesethe pubplate piepieslunchtime menulovely old publow ceilingsthe main roadquiz nightmixed grillwould stay againrange of beerspeak districtfollowing morningwarm welcomefood was lovelyposter bed
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 321 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Our group of 11 booked in for a weekend.
Lively bar where you were made welcome and a good choice of cask ales.
Had dinner in the restaurant and food was excellent. Then back to the bar and an entertaining folk group called Flatpak.
Only moans were the accommodation. Our room. no 7, was the most expensive as it had a four poster bed, not good value for money as access was from the main road and you had to keep the blinds closed to stop the public staring in. Had to be an Olympic hurdler to get into the bath.
If tempted to stay here, recommend rooms 2 or 10.
Certainly plan to return as manager John made everyone very welcome.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

atmosphere and food all good , rooms adequate and clean .But was very disappointed with service at end ,too many mistakes was made with bills, both parties in our group overcharged which was rectified without a problem, when second mistakes were made with both bills we expressed our disappointment and attempted to compromise, we were then threatened with the police.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

a party of six[ 3 couples] decided to go away to castleton for weekend for first time,we chose the ye olde Cheshire cheese, what a discovery on booking this inn, Karen and John the owners are brill has is all the staff the food is very good and plenty of choice plus special board
breakfast is huge and cooked to perfection we will be going back to this inn i must mention the real ales they stock the absolution 5.3% is best i have tasted if your looking for a fantastic place to stop in castleton this is the place very friendly and helpful with good fires highly recommend this inn

Room Tip: we stopped in room 10 ground floor no noise at all from the bar in the pub very big room
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raringcarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

A very good old world pub fantastic food a good selection of real ales very comfy rooms and bed staff all brilliant lots to do in castleton we went down freak cliff cavern blue john mine it's stunning down there to sum up 5star pub and weekend will be back

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We were fortunate enough to be allowed to stop just one night last weekend (they have a two night policy at weekends). There is a large private car park just opposite. We arrived around 6.30 pm and found the place already filled with customers - has to be a good sign.

Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese is situated within easy walking distance of all that Castleton has to offer. We had a meal in the bar area and found the portions generous, the food well presented and tasty and we thought reasonably priced. We had room no 4 and although small with a tiny bathroom (shower) and a skylight instead of a window, was comfortable enough for just the one night. The whole place was welcoming, clean and friendly and we would stay again, but book a room with a window as it is situated in such a picturesque valley that it is a shame not to be able to look out at the views. At breakfast the following morning, we were welcomed by the waitress who took our order. The food again was well cooked and presented and we could not fault it. Service was friendly and efficient and we were more than happy with our stay.

Room Tip: Book a room with a window
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siand33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews