We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fab B&B, Great Location, Top Breakfast!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Four Seasons Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fab B&B, Great Location, Top Breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

I stayed here with my partner back in December. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we stepped through the door. Alan is a great host! He even moved his car so that I could pinch his spot and leave my car there for the night. He had to nip out while we were there but made sure we knew his mobile number incase we needed him. Our room was spacious, clean and tidy, as was the bathroom. The bed was comfy, well stocked tea and coffee making facilities and two yummy cookies :)
Castleton is a beautiful little village and we enjoyed spending time walking & visiting the showcaves.
It has to be said that Alan's breakfast was probably one of the best I've had in a while nom nom nom!
Overall, it's a great place to stay when visiting Castleton; a very welcoming and comfortable stay!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BagTeaBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    31
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
92
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
283 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Free on-street parking is a definite advantage at The Four Seasons, which is on How Lane, the main road into Castleton from the east. The village's six pubs and various cafes are just a couple of minutes walk away.

Our spacious room had a comfortable king size bed, shower, Sky TV and a great view north to Lose Hill.

Breakfasts were first rate, and Alan, the young owner, was friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The only glitch came when we first arrived (later than expected) and got no reply either when we rang the doorbell or when we phoned. It turned out Alan had been in the cellar and hadn't heard us. To his credit, he texted us a little later while we were in the pub, asking when we planned to arrive. We returned after dinner got in with no problem.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rentaquote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2011

Stayed here for one night while walking in the area and the owner couldn't have been more accommodating. We had arranged to check in late afternoon after our walk, but at the last minute decided to check in before and it was swiftly arranged for us without concern. Room was lovely, modern and nicely decorated, clean and cosy. It was also really quiet, even though we were facing the main road through the village and the bed was very comfy. Breakfast was lovely too. One review on here says the property is scruffy and grubby. That's not true at all. Granted it's not the Ritz but you're not paying Ritz prices. Our room probably could benefit from a fresh coat of paint as there were a few scuff marks, but white walls are always a nightmare to keep looking fresh and it didn't change our opinion of the place at all. Overall, a very friendly and comfortable B&B in a fantastic location. Would definitely recommend, particularly for walkers.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2011

Thanks to everyone at the Four Seasons B & B for a great stay. This is a great value B&B in a perfect location for a walking break. Start your day with one of Alan's quality breakfasts and then walk it off in time for dinner at one of the local inns. The room we stayed in was spotlessly clean and surprisingly large, the bed was fantastic and the shower was like a jet wash (pleasantly so). The area is fantastic and the local pubs are superb.

Will I go again? Yes cant wait.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CricklyPunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2011

Castleton is a good base for hiking in the Peak District, and Four Seasons B&B is a great place to stay in Castleton. The Innkeeper was the best. He is always concerned that guests can locate him, leaving signs if he's out back or a mobile number if he had to step away. He helped us with local bus schedules and accommodated our need for an exceptionally early breakfast to get to our international flight mid-morning at Manchester. The service was outstanding! The full English breakfasts were excellent, and Allen even included black pudding at my wife's request. The rooms were comfortable and clean. They varied in size a bit, some with quite small, but adequate bathrooms. I'd stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Just ask. You'll get all options presented.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoredOfWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2011

Really appreciated the help with my luggage, A lovely B & B and Alan was a wonderful friendly young man. I said i would return and I shall. Lovely village and the pub across the street the food is to die for. This Canadian lady will be back, for sure.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marleenrowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2011

We spent three nights here at the end of March for my birthday. It was brilliant! We received a very warm welcome and our room was really light and airy with the most comfortable bed we've ever slept in. Breakfast was really tasty, there was a buffet of cereal, toast etc., with a Full English cooked to order and we even had breakfast in bed on my birthday. We hired the two mountain bikes which were really good bikes and we ended up cycling loads further than we had planned, it was nice to have a soak in the lovely deep bath afterwards though. The B&B is close to plenty of pubs serving meals (although tables can be hard to come by on weekend evenings) and there's an abundance of walking right on the doorstep. If you want pristine, 5* luxury this isn't the place for you, but if you want a really friendly, clean and comfortable B&B where they understand they are catering for walkers and so provide maps, have a good knowledge of the area, leave plenty of tea, coffee and even hot chocolate provisions in your room, and don't mind if your boots are a bit muddy, then this is the place to be. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iola_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.2 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
2.4 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bamford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.4 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#1 of 13 in Castleton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Swiss House B&B
Swiss House B&B
#3 of 13 in Castleton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Bed and Breakfast

Property: Four Seasons Bed and Breakfast
Address: How Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have been renovated to a high standard in 2015. We pride ourselves on providing a warm and friendly atmosphere in a fantastic setting. All rooms have been tastefully refurbished and offer stunning views over the surrounding hills or the pretty village of Castleton. A superb Full English breakfast is inclusive. We are ideally situated for walkers, mountain bikers and sight seekers wanting to explore the beautiful Peak District which has something to offer throughout the year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Castleton
Castleton Four Seasons
Four Seasons Bed And Breakfast Castleton, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing