We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Four Seasons Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Stayed at the B&B for 2 nights 14th to 16th October. Easy to find a easy to park. 2 min walk into Castleton where there is plenty of places to eat and drink. The B&B itself was warm and comfy with a friendly family running it. Alan was very informative and told us about a couple of nice walks. Breakfast was very good with a choice of cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt as much toast as you wanted then a choice of something cooked I opted for the full english which was cooked fresh and was very filling. On leaving the B&B we couldnt find Alan so left a message in the guest book with our keys He text my mobile saying he was sorry he had missed us on leaving as he had given a lift to 2 other guests who had been to a wedding the day before and had left there car at the venue, they had asked Alan if he could phone them a taxi so they could collect their car but he insisted on giving them a lift. Which I thought was really nice of him. All in all we would defo stay here again next time we visit the area

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teenba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2011

I stayed here with my partner back in December. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we stepped through the door. Alan is a great host! He even moved his car so that I could pinch his spot and leave my car there for the night. He had to nip out while we were there but made sure we knew his mobile number incase we needed him. Our room was spacious, clean and tidy, as was the bathroom. The bed was comfy, well stocked tea and coffee making facilities and two yummy cookies :)
Castleton is a beautiful little village and we enjoyed spending time walking & visiting the showcaves.
It has to be said that Alan's breakfast was probably one of the best I've had in a while nom nom nom!
Overall, it's a great place to stay when visiting Castleton; a very welcoming and comfortable stay!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BagTeaBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Free on-street parking is a definite advantage at The Four Seasons, which is on How Lane, the main road into Castleton from the east. The village's six pubs and various cafes are just a couple of minutes walk away.

Our spacious room had a comfortable king size bed, shower, Sky TV and a great view north to Lose Hill.

Breakfasts were first rate, and Alan, the young owner, was friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The only glitch came when we first arrived (later than expected) and got no reply either when we rang the doorbell or when we phoned. It turned out Alan had been in the cellar and hadn't heard us. To his credit, he texted us a little later while we were in the pub, asking when we planned to arrive. We returned after dinner got in with no problem.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rentaquote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Stayed here for one night while walking in the area and the owner couldn't have been more accommodating. We had arranged to check in late afternoon after our walk, but at the last minute decided to check in before and it was swiftly arranged for us without concern. Room was lovely, modern and nicely decorated, clean and cosy. It was also really quiet, even though we were facing the main road through the village and the bed was very comfy. Breakfast was lovely too. One review on here says the property is scruffy and grubby. That's not true at all. Granted it's not the Ritz but you're not paying Ritz prices. Our room probably could benefit from a fresh coat of paint as there were a few scuff marks, but white walls are always a nightmare to keep looking fresh and it didn't change our opinion of the place at all. Overall, a very friendly and comfortable B&B in a fantastic location. Would definitely recommend, particularly for walkers.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2011

Thanks to everyone at the Four Seasons B & B for a great stay. This is a great value B&B in a perfect location for a walking break. Start your day with one of Alan's quality breakfasts and then walk it off in time for dinner at one of the local inns. The room we stayed in was spotlessly clean and surprisingly large, the bed was fantastic and the shower was like a jet wash (pleasantly so). The area is fantastic and the local pubs are superb.

Will I go again? Yes cant wait.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CricklyPunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Castleton is a good base for hiking in the Peak District, and Four Seasons B&B is a great place to stay in Castleton. The Innkeeper was the best. He is always concerned that guests can locate him, leaving signs if he's out back or a mobile number if he had to step away. He helped us with local bus schedules and accommodated our need for an exceptionally early breakfast to get to our international flight mid-morning at Manchester. The service was outstanding! The full English breakfasts were excellent, and Allen even included black pudding at my wife's request. The rooms were comfortable and clean. They varied in size a bit, some with quite small, but adequate bathrooms. I'd stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Just ask. You'll get all options presented.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoredOfWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Really appreciated the help with my luggage, A lovely B & B and Alan was a wonderful friendly young man. I said i would return and I shall. Lovely village and the pub across the street the food is to die for. This Canadian lady will be back, for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marleenrowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.2 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
1.4 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Swiss House B&B
Swiss House B&B
#2 of 13 in Castleton
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#5 of 13 in Castleton
236 reviews
0 mi away
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Bed and Breakfast

Address: Spital House, How Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Price Range: £45 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Guesthouse (formerly Four Seasons B&B) offers high quality, warm and welcoming accommodation in large spacious rooms in a Victorian villa. We offer rooms on a room only basis as there are a fine selection places where you can get breakfast within the village with its six classic country pubs, five cafes and tea rooms. All within a five minute walk of our front door. We have two fabulous en-suite rooms each with Superking size bed as standard which can be split into two single beds . Room 1 also has plenty of room to accommodate two extra fold down single beds upon request to form a Triple or Family room . Both our rooms have a modern en-suite shower room. The rooms have a refrigerator, an excellent bean to cup coffee machine and high quality teas, hot chocolate and biscuits. High quality linen and towels are provided. We are in the village of Castleton, probably the most visited of the northern Peak Districts villages. Castleton is famous for Peveril Castle, ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Castleton
Castleton Four Seasons
Four Seasons Bed And Breakfast Castleton, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing