We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet, comfortable and quality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rambler's Rest Guest House
Ranked #3 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Excellent location, comfortable rooms although not en-suite but bathroom was right across the hall. Lovely, friendly owners who were very knowledgeable about the area as it was our first time here in Castleton. It was just what the doctor ordered!
Oh and breakfast was stunning. highly recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank T9M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

After the glowing reviews we read we decided on a two night stay. We only wish we could have stayed longer. The owners Claire and Robbie couldn't have done any more to accommodate us. The location is fantastic and the room we stayed in was very comfy.The breakfast, which also offered vegetarian sausages, was enough to keep us going all day. We would definitely stay at The Ramblers Rest again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We booked for one night and stayed three. Claire and Robbie are wonderful hosts and make their guests feel welcome and comfortable. The room excellent and location great. The breakfast menu offers a good selection of food including fresh fruit. There is off street parking and the home is an easy walk around Castleton. We recommend this B & B to anyone looking for a comfortable friendly place to stay in Castleton.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank merrismum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Overall it is fantastic value for money. Great location, helpful owners, big breakfast, comfortable beds, modern rooms and parking included.

Claire and Robbie went out of their way to accommodate and help us out! Rambler's is a home where you feel like one big family. If in Derbyshire again will organise the trips so as to stay there again. Was brilliant.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank SiFind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

A very warm welcome from the lovely Claire, a bedroom that would put hotel rooms to shame, (no 5 has direct road access which was very convenient for unloading), adjacent private parking, a superb full English breakfast, repartee from Robbie, a pretty village in beautiful countryside including the Blue John caverns.

Room Tip: room 5 has direct road access but requires going outside to access the breakfast room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed for our mini moon following our wedding, for 4 nights.
Well what can we say, biggest breakfast in Derbyshire and we feel the best.
Claire and Robbie are perfect hosts, lovely accommodation, great location we can’t recommend it enough.
Free car parking right opposite makes it really good and easy for Castleton.
It was our first visit and won’t be the last, just lovey.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colchester_Rich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My partner and 11 month old son have just come back from a 2 night stay at the Ramblers Rest. We booked because of the excellent reviews on tripadvisor and stayed in room 5 which has its own entrance. The room was clean, spacious and the little touches like the wine glasses, bottle opener, tea coffee biscuits, lovely hand soaps and fluffy towels were welcome. There was also a lounge area with flat screen tv and 2 leather seats. The owners Claire and Rob were so welcoming and nothing was too much trouble to make sure your stay was perfect. We even had use of their garden across the road which was really appreciated. Breakfast was again excellent with fresh produce and served quickly, the full English set us up for the day. A high chair and cot was provided. Try the nags head and castleton fish and chips for lunch / evening meal. The B&B is 1 minute walk from the town on a quiet side street with a large car park opposite for residents. We also did a morning trip to the owl and otter sanctuary which is 10 minutes away. If we go to Castleton again the there is only one place to stay - the Ramblers Rest.

Room Tip: Room 5 for a family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kath74Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
1.6 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
5 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Swiss House B&B
Swiss House B&B
#2 of 13 in Castleton
315 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
0 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#5 of 13 in Castleton
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambler's Rest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambler's Rest Guest House

Address: Back Street | Millbridge, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Price Range: £50 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Rambler`s Rest Guest House Hotel Castleton
Rambler's Rest Guest House Castleton, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing