We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rambler's Rest Guest House
Ranked #3 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Epsom, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

A perfect place to stay with perfect hosts!
Robbie and Claire are a genuine nice couple and made us feel very welcome. The breakfast was great and the room was faultless. We cant wait to go back in the summer and its even better that our dog is made welcome too, he was a happy boy eating the left over sausages from breakfast!
Paul and Mandy

Room Tip: Room 5 is very large and has its own front door so you don't disturb anyone when returning from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pday2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    29
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
176
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Lovely place : atmospheric old building, stream outside the front door, 6 pubs within easy walking distance (I suggest the Olde Cheshire Cheese), friendly owners. Big breakfast room with nice view and large breakfast choice.

Room Tip: I had a ground floor double room with own bath/WC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dun f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

If you're looking for a lovely place, central location, big breakfast and great hosts then look no further, we have stayed at quite a few places around the Hope Valley and this tops the list, Robbie & Claire were the perfect hosts with a mountain of local knowledge, very helpful with booking a restaurant, taxis, etc. The B&B was very clean and room 5 just perfect, the breakfast just topped off a perfect stay. We are definitely going back.

Room Tip: Room 5 is very big with en suite and massive bed, we also stayed in room 2 with spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank howard1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed in room 5, which is large, warm, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Nice location in a quiet side road, but close to town. Off-road parking and dog friendly. Full English breakfast plentiful and cooked to perfection. Friendly and helpful people. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RPBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

From the moment of our arrival Robbie and Claire did everything to make our stay perfect bliss. From a MASSIVE breakfast to spotless rooms, this really was a wonderful experience, and reason enough to come back and stay in Castleton.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sam I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed here for two nights, and found the Ramblers Rest has everything you need from a B&B.

The room was huge, with plenty of space to spread out all our walking gear. The bed was comfortable, and the room was pretty well equiped (TV, kettle, hairdryer, etc). The bathroom had a Jacuzzi bath but no shower (we were told we could use the shower in a room downstairs).

Breakfast was good and plentiful - just what we wanted before a day out walking. The only complaint would be that it was served from 9 - 10am, whereas we would have preferred to eat earlier.

The guest house is down a quiet side road about 200 yards from the pubs and shops of Castleton, so you don't need to drive anywhere for food in the evening.

Robbie and Claire are warm and welcoming hosts, and we were very glad we came here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Bogtrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We stayed at the Ramblers Rest on 14 and 15 March 2014. We stayed in Room 5 which has its own front door, is very dog friendly, which suited us and our Golden Retriever, and with its own sitting area and comfy seats is more like a mini apartment than a bedroom. Hosts were very friendly and helpful ensuring we knew enough about the attractions of Castleton to enjoy our stay. Traditional fry up breakfast with quality sausage and bacon and perfectly done fried eggs was splendid. Superb base set us up for a lovely weekend of walking and enjoying the food and real ale on offer in Castleton. We will return, thank you.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyshireMoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
5.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
391 reviews
1.5 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
8.3 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#1 of 13 in Castleton
226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swiss House B&B
Swiss House B&B
#2 of 13 in Castleton
305 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rushop Hall
Rushop Hall
#1 of 6 in Castleton
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rambler's Rest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rambler's Rest Guest House

Property: Rambler's Rest Guest House
Address: Back Street | Millbridge, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Rambler`s Rest Guest House Hotel Castleton
Rambler's Rest Guest House Castleton, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing