We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstandingly warm welcome.”
Review of Swiss House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swiss House B&B
Ranked #2 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Outstandingly warm welcome.”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I had spent three miserable days and nights getting soaked and finally having had enough ended up at Martha and Mary's..
They took all my wet kit including tent, sleeping bag, everything! Then they sent me to my room for a hot shower whilst they proceeded to dry my kit for me. The shower was amazing, better than a power shower.
The breakfast was lovely, notably the home made granola cereal,breakfast jams and marmalade. After a lovely long but sodden walk I followed Martha's advice and found myself in the Bull (pub) eating a delicious steak and ale pie and having a scrumptious Bakewell pudding (not the tart!)
Words cannot do justice to the warm welcome and overall stay at Swiss house, they truly are not only wonderfully hospitable but salt of the earth sisters whom I would stay with again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motoronin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattyEssex, Manager at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
We were so glad to be able to help this young man! He looked soooo miserable after the wet camping experience. There was plenty of room in our basement to get everything dry for when he set off home. I'm hope his memories from here made his visit to Castleton a good one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    42
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
27
162
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2011

My wife and I enjoyed 2 nights B and B at this excellent establishment. Everything was top class lovely warm spacious room spotlessly clean.Food and hospitality first class we could not fault it!

Room Tip: Room 8 great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattyEssex, Manager at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, 10 November 2011
Thank you to William V and wife. Room 8 is lovely, with a great view of Peveril Castle - and a super shower!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My wife and I enoyed another lovely 3-night stay at Swiss House. Our room was very spacious, with a huge comfortable bed, and cleaned every day to a high standard.

Wide choice for breakfast, everything very tasty. Owners were very friendly and helpful when planning our walks around the Peak District.

Thanks, Martha and Mary (and team)!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fruitandnutcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke-on-trent
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

This is a wonderful B&B, spotlessly clean, lovely size bedroom and bathroom and fantastic breakfast. The homemade granola is fab! We also booked 2 packed lunches and we could not have asked for better, they had thought of everything! Everything about our 2 night stay here was great and we were recommended the Bulls Head for food in the evening - it was so good we went twice! A great stay and we will definately go again. Thank you so much for great hospitality.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammystokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattyEssex, Manager at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, 27 October 2011
Thank you, thank you!!
Lovely to hear the packed lunch was to your taste. I've started making parkin as well as fruit cake as an option for the 'home-made cake' part of the packed lunch. It seems to go down well.
Hope to see you again x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I couldn't fault this B&B. It is very well run, very comfortable, the breakfast was first class, and the owners seem to have thought of everything you might need. Despite their attention to detail, we didn't feel 'fussed over' but were able to relax in comfortable accommodation in a beautiful location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Z D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Although it markets itself as a guesthouse/B&B its more of a small hotel and that has benefits and possible drawbacks. We were on the third floor, up narrow and steep stairs, so if a climb is difficult, you might make a mention of this. However, the outlook from the top is beautiful and worth selecting if possible.
The rooms are a good size, spotlessly clean and comfortable. The ensuite is small but perfectly serviceable and again spotlessly clean. Mary and Martha, sisters who run the place are very pleasant and helpful in locating venues and walks around the town and district. Breakfast was the typical English cooked breakfast that looked delicious. Choices for those not wanting a hefty serving are a little limited but still very adequate. The homemade granola was superb.
The hotel is on the main stretch of road (not exactly a motorway) but it can be busy as it's the main road through the norther Peak District. However, there was no ambient noise from the road. There is off-street parking available but it is a little tight and there are fewer places than rooms, so get in early. Street parking is difficult.
There is wi-fi but we were unable to get it to work with iPhones, despite several reassurances that it was working and that the password was correct.
Overall it was a fantastic place to stay. Perfectly located, comfortable and clean and amazingly inexpensive for its quality. We're looking forward to staying again.

Room Tip: Stairs are steep but the top rooms have a beautiful outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onward64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattyEssex, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, 24 October 2011
I'm so glad these guests had a good time with us. This building has been 'Swiss House' for over 100 years so I don't think we'll ever find out why it has that name - and I don't think we'll change it either!!
For those who find stairs difficult we actually don't have a third floor, only a first and second. Yes the stairs (especially to the second floor) are steep - as in any Victorian building. On the 'rooms' page of our website the description of the rooms states which floor they are on.
Lighter breakfasts are available - we just cook what the guest orders!!!!!!!
I'm sorry the wi-fi didnt work for this guest. We always say it won't work in all the rooms, only some, but always works in the lounge. This is the first time we've encountered a problem, and there haven't been problems since - using the same password.
Re parking - we actually have 11 parking spaces and we let 8 rooms, plus I have one car. We do sometimes have problems if people don't park close enough together!!!
I hope that clears up some of the issues - thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I stayed here in mid September in room 9. It's the best B&B I've ever stayed in, rivalling 4 and 5 star hotels.

The entire place is absolutely spotless and beautifully maintained, with a nice mix of old and new. There's a nice living room area where you can put your feet up, read some books, or just have a chat. There is also a nice little breakfast room which looks right onto Castleton High Street.

In terms of our room, it was - again - spotless. Bed very comfy, with beautiful views of the surrounding area outside our window. Spotless bathroom. No traffic noise, though the walls were a little thin (as a champion snorer in room 10 made us realise!)

The B&B lady we spoke to was very helpful, recommending where to visit and eat, and was the perfect balance between friendly and leaving us to our own devices.

In terms of the food, the breakfast was cooked to order, along with a lovely continental spread (the hotel's granola comes highly recommended.) The only drawback was the 8.30am - 9.15am early eating window - quite a challenge if you're a bit of a late riser, like me! The black pudding made the sleep deprivation *just* about worth it.

Overall, great location, straight in the heart of Castleton. Beautifully maintained, friendly staff, wonderfully decorated, with extremely tasty food. Also worth mentioning you can buy bottles of water for 50p - handy when planning to tackle a trip to Mam Tor!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KitKatSplat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattyEssex, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, 24 September 2011
Thank you so much for a positive review. I must say room 9 is one of my favourite rooms as, although it has the low beam, it does have the best views!!
I'm sorry we can't plan for loud snorers!! Maybe we should offer earplugs when people check in!! Unfortunately b&bs converted from old buildings often do have dividing walls which are not as substantial as the original walls.
It's very hard to get it 'right' in terms of breakfast time. A number of people comment on the breakfast slot being late, and appreciating a lie-in!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
4.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
391 reviews
1.4 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
8.3 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#3 of 13 in Castleton
226 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss House B&B

Property: Swiss House B&B
Address: Swiss House How Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss House is a family run Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Castleton, in the Peak District National Park. Our B&B can sleep up to 20 people in 8 en-suite bedrooms. Our full English breakfast is, so we are told, just 'the best' with lots of local and home-made produce like British bacon, locally made sausage and black pudding (all from the butcher in Hope), and Seville orange marmalade, various jams and granola lovingly made by Martha!This is an ideal base for walking, climbing or sight seeing. We have plenty of off-road parking. Packed lunches are available and we have a drying room if the weather becomes inclement! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Swiss House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss House B&B Castleton, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing