We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swiss House B&B
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
George Hotel(Hathersage)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little John Hotel(Hathersage)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Strines Inn(Sheffield)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Maynard(Grindleford)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Navigation Inn(Buxworth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
265
44
4
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
265
44
4
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshomemade granolab bpeak districtlovely ladiesbed breakfastcup of tealovely viewon arrivalmam tormountain bikingmuddy bootsfeel very welcomepowerful showertoastbulls headpeveril castlekippers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The most friendliest and accommodating owners. We have stayed twice and each time the rooms and the bathrooms are clean and tastefully decorated. If you need to leave early before breakfast is served they will make sure cerials, toast, etc and tea and coffee is laid out for you. Its in a great location within a few minutes walk to the local pubs and centre of town, but still remains quiet at night. Top notch b&b

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rose t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattyEssex, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Thank you - we strive to continue to provide the level of service we would like to receive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Have just returned from a lovely , relaxing 2 nights away at Swiss house. We stayed in room 9, which had fabulous views from both windows . It is quite a small room but perfectly formed. Everywhere , the rooms and the public areas are all spotlessly clean . The breakfast offered a great choice and was freshly made and delicious . I would not hesitate to recommend this property to all my friends & family and look forward to returning again in the near future .

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natcochrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattyEssex, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2011

Thank you, Nat, for your comments.
I like room 9 as well - I know the low beam makes it not really suitable for tall guests but it does have the best views and it does have a fabulous shower!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

I stayed for one night as part of a walking trip to the Peak District. The B&B was centrally located in Castleton and offered a very warm welcome and very comfortable room. They are walker and bike friendly with somewhere to put you muddy boots and safe storage for cycles. The breakfast was tasty and plentiful with special mention to the home-made granola.

Room Tip: My room on the top floor (9) had very low beams but a really great view.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mister_Alec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We stayed three nights as part of a group booking, and overall we rated Swiss House very highly. The rooms were in excellent condition, with quality linen and bathroom supplies and and a generous hospitality tray replenished each morning (a proper teapot - luxury! - posh biscuits, and the offer of fresh milk for the room if required). I think some might have appreciated a little more drawer space had we stayed longer, but on the other hand the HUGE superking bed in Room 8 was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept in anywhere. The public areas were well maintained and cheerful, the cosy lounge was very well stocked with reading matter, DVDs and games, and there are boot racks in the hall and a drying room for wet gear in the basement (although none of us actually used the latter). The breakfast was plentiful and excellent, with the emphasis on quality produce, and the service was friendly. There is sufficient parking for all guests on site, which is no small advantage in Castleton where public parking is expensive, and there are plenty of eating options within a couple of minutes' walk. We were all very grateful to Martha and Mary for making us so welcome and looking after us so well.

Room Tip: You seem to be able to get Wifi in the ground floor rooms, but guests staying upstairs will need to go to the lounge to get online
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mnemosyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattyEssex, Manager at Swiss House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

What glowing praise - thank you so much!
The wifi issue defeats us at the moment. It seems totally random as to where it will work. Room 9, on the 2nd floor has the best success, so which floor you're on is not necessarily the answer. It always works in the lounge so hopefully that makes it accessible for everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Have just returned from a weekend stay at Swiss House (in Room 10) as part of a group that took over the whole house, and cannot praise it enough. My room was spacious, comfortable, warm and immaculately clean. Martha and Mary were excellent hostesses and particularly understanding and tolerant of our group requirements. Breakfasts were magnificent. I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrenJeffery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattyEssex, Manager at Swiss House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Thank you Bren - you were a lovely group and we hope you'll come back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews