We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Bed and Breakfast and Location”
Review of Swiss House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swiss House B&B
Ranked #3 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peterborough
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great Bed and Breakfast and Location”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This was our first visit to Castleton and so was unsure where to stay, however after booking Swiss House i could not have made a better choice, Martha and Mary (Sisters) make you feel welcome and so at home, we arrived mid afternoon and after being shown to our room (room 9) we were invited to the lounge for a welcomed cup of tea however got an extra bonus of some home made flap jack (very nice). Our room was on the top floor but dont let the sloping ceiling put you off as the views are fantastic and there is still plenty room around the bed etc..We stayed 4 nights and wished we could have stayed longer, the breakfast was lovely and certainly sets you up for the day. Martha and Mary will do anything for you and try and answer any questions as well as advise where best to eat in the evening etc... ( would recomend the Bull) however we ate in The Nags Head and The George and never had a bad meal but the Bull just topped the others, the Rose Cottage is also worth a day time visit too. Casteton is a lovely place with plenty of walks all around as well as the various caverns to explore. Thanks again Martha and Mary, will be back to see you soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 9 which has lovely views dont be put off by the sloping ceiling, nice bed and love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you - I hope we'll see you again soon. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    40
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
27
162
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St Albans England
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Another great visit -thank you Martha and Mary. Swiss House was warm clean and welcoming. Great base for a walking break.breakfast was lovely especially the home made granola! Martha and Mary were very helpful in preparing our daughter's gluten free toast in the morning(we provided the bread) great family room that sleeps 4. hope to see you again soon

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 62MrsB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
It was good to see you, and your delightful family, again.
I hope you'll come and see us again. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We have never been in the area before and after looking at some of the reviews thought we would book a two night stay. Photos of each room are accurate and not deceiving as some can be. We were offered a pot of tea on arrival which was served with freshly baked flapjacks. Delicious! The rooms were clean with immaculate white sheets and towels. Room 9 had terrific views through the velux window, of the hills in the distance, which you could view lying in bed! Nice to wake up and see snow on the top of the hills this morning! Breakfasts were lovely with the full range available - juices, cereal (I would recommend the Swiss House granola - scrumptious), full English, toast, fresh fruit. The works. The only thing missing was a fresh warm croissant but I won't complain about that. Castleton is an ideal place to stay for walks from the village or short drive out. It has small local shops for you browse around and a good selection of pubs, tea rooms. We ate at the Bulls Head which I would recommend - big portions!

Room Tip: Room 9 for a view of Mam Tor and the rolling hills through the velux window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MistyPo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you for your comments - I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
We have thought about offering croissants but feel we offer plenty of choice if people want a light breakfast anyway. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

from the moment we walked in we were made welcome. the room was immaculate and the bed and breakfast was too. the breakfast was absolutely lovely and the staff friendly and chatted to you like you were friends.rooms were equiped with everything you need , warm and the bed linen extremely clean. castleton is a lovely place and everyone is friendly. some villagers had us in stitches and cant wait to go back again. lots of signed routes to take and plenty of off the track places which me and my husband went. we werent avid climbers or walkers and we had a great time so plenty for everyone of all capabilities. thank you to martha and mary and all the staff at the swiss. cant wait to return x

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanner r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Thank you - your comments are much appreciated :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2013

My wife and I were bought a weekend away here as a Christmas Gift from one of our kids.
We love Castleton, and we travel here from Manchester quite often, but never have we thought about staying over night.
The Swiss House was clean, the management were warm and friendly, and the bed was comfortable, everything you need is in the room, we had room 8 which had a great view of the castle.
The Breakfast , well, the Breakfast is LEGENDARY! as was the advise when eating out, Martha and Mary recommended the Bulls Head , a pub which is about a 5 minute walk from the B&B, and you will pass about 12 other places to eat, I will tell you, It was the best advise, The meal both nights at The Bulls Head, was Absolutely Beautiful.
The prices for staying are reasonable and the experience for both myself and my wife was wonderful, the views of the Derbyshire countryside were breathtaking.

I feel that the core reason for us having a great stay in Castleton was purely down to the experience and friendly ness of the staff and management of the Swiss House.

Room Tip: Room 8 has a great view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
That is really kind and much appreciated. We have always tried to make Swiss House the sort of B&B we would want to stay in!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Just back from 2nd stay at swiss house.
High quality B&B, spotless clean, very welcoming and friendly, warm, homely and keen to make your stay comfortable.
Highly recommend it especially if you are keen walkers, out the door and into the hills, no driving required, 9 mile round stroll to Edale, Coopers Cafe,( another gem) via Loose Hill.Back over Mam Tor, Evening meal at The Bull, again very good then live music at the Nags Head.
A full weekend, Castleton is a gem to escape to, all this 16 miles or so from Sheffield, base your stay at Swiss House, you will be very comfortable, breakfast is a feast with plenty of choice too.
Thank you again Martha & Mary.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha H, Manager at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Thank you, Nigel, for taking the time to write the review, It is much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

This was our second stay at this B & B and as ever was excellent. Mary and Martha are excellent hosts and your requests are dealt with efficiently. Room had a lovely view over the castle. Hope to stay again this year. If only all B&Bs were like this one.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha H, Manager at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, 12 February 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are constantly looking for ways to improve but what we are doing seems to be going down well anyway!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.2 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
4.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
388 reviews
1.4 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#1 of 13 in Castleton
224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss House B&B

Property: Swiss House B&B
Address: Swiss House How Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss House is a family run Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Castleton, in the Peak District National Park. Our B&B can sleep up to 20 people in 8 en-suite bedrooms. Our full English breakfast is, so we are told, just 'the best' with lots of local and home-made produce like British bacon, locally made sausage and black pudding (all from the butcher in Hope), and Seville orange marmalade, various jams and granola lovingly made by Martha!This is an ideal base for walking, climbing or sight seeing. We have plenty of off-road parking. Packed lunches are available and we have a drying room if the weather becomes inclement! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Swiss House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss House B&B Castleton, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing