We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“swiss house.... well done”
Review of Swiss House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swiss House B&B
Ranked #1 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2013

this was the cleanest B&B that we've ever been in. Smartly decorated with good size rooms. It has a great breakfast , all B&Bs should be this good. 6 blokes stayed in May13 it was our 50th trip together to walking places in the UK and we found it to be one of the best.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Wow! Praise indeed! Thank you so much and I hope we'll see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 312 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

We had lovely stay at the Swiss House,the staff was very friendly and attentive and simply made our stay very relaxing.We loved their home made granola for breakfast and generally the breakfast was yummy.The room was clean,well heated with powerful shower which was excellent.We would prefer firmer mattress but apart of that it was all very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Klarunka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you for your comments. It is difficult to please everyone re mattresses so we have to go for a 'medium' firmness I'm afraid. I hope it didn't affect your nights sleep too much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This was the first time I've ever stayed overnight in Castleton, and I'm so glad that this excellent B&B made the journey worthwhile.

Two rooms were booked, as we were travelling with friends, and our welcome could not have been more perfect, with tea and warm flapjacks made for us on our arrival!

The rooms were perfectly sized, with great views over towards the peak district. The shower in the bathroom was surprisingly good.

Breakfast was perfect, cooked to order, and was just what we needed to ensure our stay ended up on a high note.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon0573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you for your comments - I hope we'll see you again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

This was our second stay at Swiss House and we enjoyed it as much as the first time. The B&B is comfortable with modern decoration and spotless. We stayed in room 9 and the views were fantastic - from one side you can see the castle and the other, the rolling hills. The breakfast is also very good. We will definitely go back. The location is a superb base for Mam Tor and Winnats Pass. The views in Castleton and on the hill tops are fantastic. Castleton has everything you need, numerous pubs with great beer and food, tea rooms, gift shops, caverns, tourist information centre and home made fudge. A real treat for all of the family.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Lutonchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Thank you so much, we're always glad to hear that people had a good time! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

A group of us stayed here for 2 nights while walking. The large rooms are beautifully decorated, very clean and very warm. The bathroom had a lovely shower and a bath, just what I needed after a long, wet and difficult walk up Mam Tor. The full english breakfast and the well publicised home made grenola are the best ever, set us all up for the day. Martha and Mary were very welcoming, we did not see any flapjack though which I was looking forward to after reading the reviews. The Swiss is very well situated for walks, pubs and restaurants where they are all welcoming and friendly. We are already talking about going back and it is definetly one of the nicest B&b's we have stayed in and will not hestitate recommending it to friends. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Room 5 really lovely and big with bath, keep bathroom door shut at night as fan rattles with the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyCamperLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Manager at Swiss House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Thank you for your comments.
I take note about the fan in your bathroom - often we only know about these things if guests tell us, so thanks for pointing it out,
Re the flapjack - we offer this, and a cup of tea, on check-in. If guests are rushing off to walk or have lunch then they don't get the flapjack I'm afraid. We also don't offer tea and flapjack after 6pm as we think people will be getting ready to go out for their evening meal.
Anyway - next time you come please make a note to ask for the flapjack!! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

This was our second visit as we loved it so much the first time. We booked the same room again (9) for the character and fabulous views. The room was clean and comfortable again (there was even a decaff option provided with the other drinks in the room - hooray). Excellent en suite shower with plenty of hot water at all times.
We were welcomed with a cup of tea and delicious home made flapjack as we chatted about decent places to eat, visit and walk in the area.
The only negative is that the walls between rooms are very thin (we didn't notice this on our first visit, perhaps there was nobody in the room next door) but it was no worse than some other places we've stayed.
Breakfast was very tasty with lots of choice including some home made goodies.
We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Thank you for your positive comments.
Sorry about the noise from room 8! When we decorate room 9 next time we'll look into getting some kind of sound-proofing put on that party wall. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This was our first visit to Castleton and so was unsure where to stay, however after booking Swiss House i could not have made a better choice, Martha and Mary (Sisters) make you feel welcome and so at home, we arrived mid afternoon and after being shown to our room (room 9) we were invited to the lounge for a welcomed cup of tea however got an extra bonus of some home made flap jack (very nice). Our room was on the top floor but dont let the sloping ceiling put you off as the views are fantastic and there is still plenty room around the bed etc..We stayed 4 nights and wished we could have stayed longer, the breakfast was lovely and certainly sets you up for the day. Martha and Mary will do anything for you and try and answer any questions as well as advise where best to eat in the evening etc... ( would recomend the Bull) however we ate in The Nags Head and The George and never had a bad meal but the Bull just topped the others, the Rose Cottage is also worth a day time visit too. Casteton is a lovely place with plenty of walks all around as well as the various caverns to explore. Thanks again Martha and Mary, will be back to see you soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 9 which has lovely views dont be put off by the sloping ceiling, nice bed and love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craigy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Thank you - I hope we'll see you again soon. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.2 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
4.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
401 reviews
1.4 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#4 of 13 in Castleton
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
1.6 mi away
Samuel Fox Country Inn
Samuel Fox Country Inn
#1 of 6 in Bradwell
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss House B&B

Address: Swiss House How Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Price Range: £90 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss House is a family run Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Castleton, in the Peak District National Park. Our B&B can sleep up to 20 people in 8 en-suite bedrooms. Our full English breakfast is, so we are told, just 'the best' with lots of local and home-made produce like British bacon, locally made sausage and black pudding (all from the butcher in Hope), and Seville orange marmalade, various jams and granola lovingly made by Martha!This is an ideal base for walking, climbing or sight seeing. We have plenty of off-road parking. Packed lunches are available and we have a drying room if the weather becomes inclement! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Swiss House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss House B&B Castleton, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing