We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply excellent”
Review of Swiss House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swiss House B&B
Ranked #1 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Simply excellent”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We selected this b & B on the basis of Internet Reviews and we were not disappointed. A lesson for the sceptics.

The whole premises were pristine. The bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed 4 nights very good sleep. The breakfasts were excellent and the owners and staff were very customer focussed. What more can you ask ?

I am absolutely sure we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyLGY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send this review. We're so glad you had a good time. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    42
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
28
162
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
derby, england
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

This was our 3rd visit and as ever everything was spot on . Great service , lovely bedrooms and really clean , fantastic breakfast and a great location . We wouldn't stay anywhere else in castleton. From the doorstep you have access to so many different walks , pubs , tea rooms , shops with out having to get in the car.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natcochrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Reviews from people who have stayed a number of times are so welcome. Thank you for taking the trouble and hope to see you in 2014 :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I cannot find fault with this Guest House, the room I had was fresh looking, had little additional amenities that I have not found in other B&B's, i.e. two level soap dispenser in bath to accommodate bath or shower, 4 way extension socket, night light. Bed was comfortable and there were no squeaks, slept like at home. Breakfast was substantial and of the highest quality food. The two sisters who ran the B&B were friendly and attentive. Can't praise the place high enough. Will certainly return.

Room Tip: Nobody from my party of 12 complained about anything, so I assume all rooms were as quiet as mine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jokemor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
It is praise indeed to know that you slept as well as at home - thank you.
I'm glad you appreciated the little touches. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is an excellent place to stay for walking in the Peak District. Pleasant and helpful hosts, lovely breakfast and a really comfortable room with bath and shower.
Eating out is mainly limited to pubs but only because Castleton is quite a small place. There is an excellent Italian and the pubs are good, too.
We thoroughly enjoyed our short break and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Go for the one with the 6 foot bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you for your comments, I hope we'll see you again sometime :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
448 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stay here usually once a year and it never disappoints. We came on from another B&B that we thought was very good (rooms and breakfast), but the Swiss House just blew this away. The room was lovely, spacious, excellently furnished, and the breakfasts were the best ever. Such a lovely village to stay in too. We will be back, again. They also stored my bike in a locked shed, which would otherwise have had to go from the rack to the inside of the car.

Room Tip: I believe we were in room6 - on the front and in the eves - but quiet and spacious - lovely. Have be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herbie-Green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
It's lovely to hear from return guests, and to know we are maintaining our standards. Thank you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We were lucky enough to get the luxurious room 1 with a large bed, very comfortable, with a lovely view from the window. The bathroom was spacious, with excellent water pressure in the shower. Would love to stay here again. Castleton is a beautiful village.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UkHolidaygirl2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Room 1 is lovely isn't it, I'm so glad you had a good time :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I stayed for 2 nights in the Swiss House B&B as part of a cycling tour of the Peaks. The owners, Mary and Martha, could not have been more helpful, and I felt welcomed and relaxed. The room was fresh with a fab view of the Castle on the hill. It also had a great shower. There was covered, secure parking for my bike and I was offered a cuppa in the lounge on arrival.

Breakfast time, which can sometimes be testing as a lone traveller, saw more cheery service from the sisters. Great breakfast selection and the 'Daddy Bear' size bowel of porridge sustained me during the ride ahead! A great experience - Thank you M&M.

Room Tip: I stayed in Number 8 - beautiful view of the surrounding hills and the Norman castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay. We do try to make our single guests feel special (as well as everyone else of course) as we appreciate how difficult it can be to enter a crowded dining room on your own.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
1.4 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
9.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
391 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#4 of 13 in Castleton
230 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
0.0 mi away
Rushop Hall
Rushop Hall
#1 of 6 in Castleton
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss House B&B

Property: Swiss House B&B
Address: Swiss House How Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss House is a family run Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Castleton, in the Peak District National Park. Our B&B can sleep up to 20 people in 8 en-suite bedrooms. Our full English breakfast is, so we are told, just 'the best' with lots of local and home-made produce like British bacon, locally made sausage and black pudding (all from the butcher in Hope), and Seville orange marmalade, various jams and granola lovingly made by Martha!This is an ideal base for walking, climbing or sight seeing. We have plenty of off-road parking. Packed lunches are available and we have a drying room if the weather becomes inclement! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Swiss House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss House B&B Castleton, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing