We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tracy”
Review of Swiss House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swiss House B&B
Ranked #1 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Tracy”
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We have stopped before & thought it was great. We decided this time to do 2 nights instead, we were made to feel very welcome with a cup of tea & flapjack on arrival, breakfast was really nice, room was very clean, excellent all round , would definitely go back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tracy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you, we're so glad you had a good time. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    42
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
28
162
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We had an amazing weekend staying in Castleton @ Swiss house. The location, rooms and breakfast were all excellent but most importantly Martha & Mary as our hosts were terrific. Accommodating, full of advice and welcoming we really felt relaxed in their b&b. On every occasion their recommendations lived up to expectations. We have already talked about returning for more R&R in Castleton.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MStow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for your comments - we look forward to seeing you in 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I would not hesitate to recommend The Swiss House - it really 'ticked all the boxes'. Everything has already been said by others, so I'll not bore everyone by rambling on! I'll just say that I agree that The Swiss House is a great place to stay, whether you're a serious hiker or just a casual stroller. The only bad point was the weather (!) but I suppose that's to be expected (as another guest who returns every year told me). I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone planning to visit Castleton.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandM30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for your comments. Sorry about the weather (!!) but I suppose if you're from Australia most British weather will seem bad - having spent a month down under myself a few years ago basking in unbroken January sunshine!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Swiss House is a place I would definitely go back to. Mary and Martha are very helpful and friendly hosts who offer comfortable rooms and a great breakfast, even vegetarian sausages. I had problems with my knee and Martha lent me a walking stick so I could go for the planned hikes anyway. The bed was very comfortable and I slept like a log there.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you - and I hope your knee is getting better. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

What can I say that hasn't already been said by all the glowing reviews.
I booked last minute with two friends for a walking get-away and vowed to bring my wife to visit next year, I'm sure she'll love it.
Such friendliness and attention to detail. The lunches were amazing, I'm a vegetarian and they made sure that I had interesting and varied lunches. Breakfast to set you up for the day.

I promise that you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devnulluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you. I hope you found good vegetarian evening meals too. We always suggest a certain pub that seems to have more imaginative vegetarian options!
Hope to see you again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Having stayed elsewhere in Castleton..this time we decided to try the Swiss House...lovely rooms ..lovely hosts...great staff..wonderful breakfast....good carparking....cant wait until next time...thank you Mary

Room Tip: Try room 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STEVE M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you. About 1/4 - 1/3 of our guests have stayed with us before so hopefully that speaks for itself :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We selected this b & B on the basis of Internet Reviews and we were not disappointed. A lesson for the sceptics.

The whole premises were pristine. The bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed 4 nights very good sleep. The breakfasts were excellent and the owners and staff were very customer focussed. What more can you ask ?

I am absolutely sure we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyLGY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to send this review. We're so glad you had a good time. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
1.4 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
9.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
390 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#3 of 13 in Castleton
230 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
0.0 mi away
Rushop Hall
Rushop Hall
#1 of 6 in Castleton
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss House B&B

Property: Swiss House B&B
Address: Swiss House How Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss House is a family run Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Castleton, in the Peak District National Park. Our B&B can sleep up to 20 people in 8 en-suite bedrooms. Our full English breakfast is, so we are told, just 'the best' with lots of local and home-made produce like British bacon, locally made sausage and black pudding (all from the butcher in Hope), and Seville orange marmalade, various jams and granola lovingly made by Martha!This is an ideal base for walking, climbing or sight seeing. We have plenty of off-road parking. Packed lunches are available and we have a drying room if the weather becomes inclement! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Swiss House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss House B&B Castleton, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing