We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay whilst at this beautiful village”
Review of Swiss House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swiss House B&B
Ranked #3 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Both Martha & Mary we great, gave us a warm welcome and advised on what to see whilst at Castleton. The room was spotless, very clean and excellently decorated. The bathroom was very good and the shower there was exactly what you need after a long day outdoors! The breakfast was also very nice. The only shame was that there was a drilling on the road in front of the hotel until a very late night (emergency they said!) - not fault of the hotel though. Definitely recommending!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Manager at Swiss House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for your positive comments. The drilling was truly awful wasn't it!!
Apparently it was an electrical fault which (targets!) they have to correct within 24 hours - and this is soon being cut to 12!!!
One upside was that when workmen came to fill in the big hole we asked them if they could use any extra tarmac to fill in a couple of holes on the unadopted road - Mill Lane, it's wonderful what a mug of tea and chocolate biscuits will do!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Spotlessly clean and tidy and nicely decorated. Mary gave us an incredibly warm welcome and is knowledgeable about the local area and the walks. The breakfast was absolutely superb - best I've had in years.

The house is within 5 minutes walk of a variety of very nice pubs and eateries - including Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn just opposite. It's a great base if you are looking for walks - perfect for a walk from Lose Hill up to Mam Tor. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salad_Daze3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Manager at Swiss House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for your positive comments. I hope we'll see you again some time soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at the Swiss House for one night in February 2014, returning from family business in Sheffield during the infamous wild weather. Nominally they only do a 2-night weekend stay, however if you check shortly before your trip and they still have a single night vacant you can take it. Martha and Mary are very welcoming, tea and home-made flapjacks in the lounge on arrival, had room No.1 quite spacious with what would have been superb views had the cloud lifted. Huge comfortable bed (which could be split if required), plentiful tea coffee and milk (unlike some places which provide the bare minimum), very quiet at night apart from the wind howling but not much you could do about that! There are rather a lot of "do/don't" notices as others have commented but as one who has worked with the public I realise this is probably necessary. Very smart en-suite with powerful shower and excellent choice of breakfast options, good idea to be able to do your own toast as you wish. Easy on-site parking right by the door, and they were happy for us to leave the car as long as we needed to on the morning we departed.

Room Tip: Room 1 at the side and rear was fine, the ones at the front I assume would have the views of Peveril...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Manager at Swiss House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Thank you for your comments.
We do try to keep notices to a minimum but find that if we give people lots of information verbally they can't remember it all - and why should they have to! Hence the notices.
Glad you're okay with making your own toast. We played around with this idea for ages before we instigated it, seeing it as the only way people could get toast done the way they wanted when they wanted :)
Room 1 is lovely and they view (on a clear day) of Lose Hill is great!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The Swiss House has everything a B&B should have. The managers were the perfect level of interested but left us to enjoy our time.
The room was comfortable, immaculately clean, stylish and private. The breakfasts were abundant, delicious, fresh and table service was friendly. The homemade muesli was so delicious - waist line dangerously so.
Our room was at the top of the building facing 90 degrees from the road so outside noise was a minimum.
Friendly advice and afternoon tea was very welcome.
Castleton itself was lovely and Swiss House was the best part.

Room Tip: Room at the top was great. Spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meagen_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you for your comments.
Glad you enjoyed the home-made flapjack and granola - it's amazing what you can do with a few oats!! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

have stopped here several times over the last few years.the rooms are clean and well maintained .brekfast from 8.30 is served to your exact requirements nothing is too much trouble,and despite the signs managed to bang my head on beam,very hard(room 9) lovely room with excellent views would still stay in this room again.there is a bench to change muddy boots so no excuse for sitting on boot rack!cant fault this B and B signs included.lol.

Room Tip: no 5 is good if you dont like too many stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thank you Val, including your comments about the signs ( lol ). It was a good New Year wasn't it. All the guests were so lovely.
Room 9 is amazingly popular - despite the beam - I think because of the fantastic views. Good to see in summer when you get twice as much daylight haha :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My partner and I stayed at the Swiss House in November and it was one of the best B&Bs I've ever stayed at. Our room was very clean, cosy and had a lovely view of Peveril Castle, and the breakfast was second to none.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sam_Ham89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thank you - We're so glad you and your partner had a lovely time, that's what it's all about :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

i stopped over the New Year period, as usual the service was personal, friendly and the food perfect portions generous, and the shower in room 10 has been upgraded and is fantastic, well recommended!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thank you
Yes, the electric showers didn't really work well did they! We got rid of the electric showers in room 10 and room 6 - they both now run off the hot water system like the other rooms - a much better 'shower experience'!!
All the best for 2014 :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.2 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
1.4 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
4.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rambler's Rest Guest House
Rambler's Rest Guest House
#2 of 13 in Castleton
278 reviews
0.2 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#5 of 13 in Castleton
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss House B&B

Address: Swiss House How Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Price Range: £77 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss House is a family run Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Castleton, in the Peak District National Park. Our B&B can sleep up to 20 people in 8 en-suite bedrooms. Our full English breakfast is, so we are told, just 'the best' with lots of local and home-made produce like British bacon, locally made sausage and black pudding (all from the butcher in Hope), and Seville orange marmalade, various jams and granola lovingly made by Martha!This is an ideal base for walking, climbing or sight seeing. We have plenty of off-road parking. Packed lunches are available and we have a drying room if the weather becomes inclement! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Swiss House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss House B&B Castleton, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing