We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Swiss House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swiss House B&B
Ranked #1 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have just spent a couple of nights at the Swiss House and it couldn't have been better. Mary and Martha were very welcoming and friendly - and the breakfasts were superb! A very good choice of food - freshly cooked, piping hot and plenty of it. The packed lunch which we were provided with - I could scarcely have prepared a better one myself! Bedroom was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Plenty of hot water available for the much needed shower after coming off a wet and windy Mam Tor. Didn't have much time to do a lot in the area but will certainly go back again and Swiss House will be top of the list for a good B&B. Couldn't fault it in any way - thanks, Mary and Martha.

Room Tip: We were in Room 6 and it was great. We were there as part of a group and everyone seemed very please...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieM126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    42
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
27
162
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed here two nights in May 2014, mine was room 9 with excellent views of the picturesque surroundings from two aspects. Room was very clean and quiet, breakfast delicious and proprietors very welcoming, informative and helpful. There is a shoe/boot rack in the hallway for muddy boots and the area a beautiful walkers paradise, Highly recommended

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor offer the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

No doubt there are many fine B & Bs in Derbyshire, but there are two factors which make the Swiss House stand head and shoulders above the rest. The first is the owners, Mary and Martha. From their initial welcome offer of a pot to tea, and throughout our stay, they were friendly and approachable, offering help with drying our wet walking gear, to tips on where to eat and drink throughout the district, where to seek Blue John, and even good advice of the use of our walking poles over the peat bogs on Kinder Scout. The second outstanding feature is the breakfast. Each is cooked specifically for the guest, absolutely fresh, without a trace of grease, and really delicious. Oh, and to complement the unlimited toast you can make yourself, Mary and Martha provide home made marmalades and jams. You know the saying of the way to a man's heart................

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horleylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Both Martha & Mary we great, gave us a warm welcome and advised on what to see whilst at Castleton. The room was spotless, very clean and excellently decorated. The bathroom was very good and the shower there was exactly what you need after a long day outdoors! The breakfast was also very nice. The only shame was that there was a drilling on the road in front of the hotel until a very late night (emergency they said!) - not fault of the hotel though. Definitely recommending!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Manager at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your positive comments. The drilling was truly awful wasn't it!!
Apparently it was an electrical fault which (targets!) they have to correct within 24 hours - and this is soon being cut to 12!!!
One upside was that when workmen came to fill in the big hole we asked them if they could use any extra tarmac to fill in a couple of holes on the unadopted road - Mill Lane, it's wonderful what a mug of tea and chocolate biscuits will do!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Spotlessly clean and tidy and nicely decorated. Mary gave us an incredibly warm welcome and is knowledgeable about the local area and the walks. The breakfast was absolutely superb - best I've had in years.

The house is within 5 minutes walk of a variety of very nice pubs and eateries - including Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn just opposite. It's a great base if you are looking for walks - perfect for a walk from Lose Hill up to Mam Tor. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salad_Daze3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Manager at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your positive comments. I hope we'll see you again some time soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed at the Swiss House for one night in February 2014, returning from family business in Sheffield during the infamous wild weather. Nominally they only do a 2-night weekend stay, however if you check shortly before your trip and they still have a single night vacant you can take it. Martha and Mary are very welcoming, tea and home-made flapjacks in the lounge on arrival, had room No.1 quite spacious with what would have been superb views had the cloud lifted. Huge comfortable bed (which could be split if required), plentiful tea coffee and milk (unlike some places which provide the bare minimum), very quiet at night apart from the wind howling but not much you could do about that! There are rather a lot of "do/don't" notices as others have commented but as one who has worked with the public I realise this is probably necessary. Very smart en-suite with powerful shower and excellent choice of breakfast options, good idea to be able to do your own toast as you wish. Easy on-site parking right by the door, and they were happy for us to leave the car as long as we needed to on the morning we departed.

Room Tip: Room 1 at the side and rear was fine, the ones at the front I assume would have the views of Peveril...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Manager at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for your comments.
We do try to keep notices to a minimum but find that if we give people lots of information verbally they can't remember it all - and why should they have to! Hence the notices.
Glad you're okay with making your own toast. We played around with this idea for ages before we instigated it, seeing it as the only way people could get toast done the way they wanted when they wanted :)
Room 1 is lovely and they view (on a clear day) of Lose Hill is great!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The Swiss House has everything a B&B should have. The managers were the perfect level of interested but left us to enjoy our time.
The room was comfortable, immaculately clean, stylish and private. The breakfasts were abundant, delicious, fresh and table service was friendly. The homemade muesli was so delicious - waist line dangerously so.
Our room was at the top of the building facing 90 degrees from the road so outside noise was a minimum.
Friendly advice and afternoon tea was very welcome.
Castleton itself was lovely and Swiss House was the best part.

Room Tip: Room at the top was great. Spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meagen_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mattyCastleton, Owner at Swiss House B&B, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you for your comments.
Glad you enjoyed the home-made flapjack and granola - it's amazing what you can do with a few oats!! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
4.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
391 reviews
1.4 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
8.3 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#2 of 13 in Castleton
226 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss House B&B

Property: Swiss House B&B
Address: Swiss House How Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss House is a family run Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Castleton, in the Peak District National Park. Our B&B can sleep up to 20 people in 8 en-suite bedrooms. Our full English breakfast is, so we are told, just 'the best' with lots of local and home-made produce like British bacon, locally made sausage and black pudding (all from the butcher in Hope), and Seville orange marmalade, various jams and granola lovingly made by Martha!This is an ideal base for walking, climbing or sight seeing. We have plenty of off-road parking. Packed lunches are available and we have a drying room if the weather becomes inclement! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Swiss House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss House B&B Castleton, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing