We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay”
Review of Swiss House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Swiss House B&B
Ranked #3 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Spent a romantic weekend there in May 2014 while also walking the hills. Very happy with the choice. The two ladies are extremely good hosts and their attention to the finer details is one of the strong points. The (ensuite) room was sparklingly clean, comfortable & well-decorated. The 'full English' breakfast was enough to last us through till the evening - no need for lunch!
Alan & Tony

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kipper Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    40
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
27
161
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
453 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I stayed in Swiss House a couple of weeks ago and found the welcome very warm, even allowing for a late arrival as we had quite far to travel. The owners really couldn't do enough for us.
The room was comfortable and clean, with one of the most comfortable beds we have come across. Breakfasts were fantastic with lots of choice.
Castleton is a great place to choose as a base for exploring the Peak District, we did several walks straight from the village and there are plenty of great places to eat too.
We have stayed in many places in the Peaks and this is by far the best so far, we are talking about returning again as we enjoyed it so much

Room Tip: all the rooms can be viewed on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKerr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We spent a long weekend at The Swiss House and couldn't have had a better place to stay. The house is perfectly situated to explore Castleton ( a three minute walk from the "centre"), and the rooms are fantastic, clean, well decorated, with everything you need.
Martha and Mary are [perfect hosts, attentive without encroaching, and warm and friendly. Their breakfasts are brilliant and set us up well for three days or hiking, climbing and mountain biking.
It is just a perfect base to explore the surrounding valleys, warm and cosy, with a lovely vibe.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ru H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Thirteen of us stayed here for two nights in May 2014. Everything was excellent - the recently refurbished, well equipped rooms, the breakfast, the friendly welcome and the packed lunch.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldfinchSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have just spent a couple of nights at the Swiss House and it couldn't have been better. Mary and Martha were very welcoming and friendly - and the breakfasts were superb! A very good choice of food - freshly cooked, piping hot and plenty of it. The packed lunch which we were provided with - I could scarcely have prepared a better one myself! Bedroom was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Plenty of hot water available for the much needed shower after coming off a wet and windy Mam Tor. Didn't have much time to do a lot in the area but will certainly go back again and Swiss House will be top of the list for a good B&B. Couldn't fault it in any way - thanks, Mary and Martha.

Room Tip: We were in Room 6 and it was great. We were there as part of a group and everyone seemed very please...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieM126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed here two nights in May 2014, mine was room 9 with excellent views of the picturesque surroundings from two aspects. Room was very clean and quiet, breakfast delicious and proprietors very welcoming, informative and helpful. There is a shoe/boot rack in the hallway for muddy boots and the area a beautiful walkers paradise, Highly recommended

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor offer the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

No doubt there are many fine B & Bs in Derbyshire, but there are two factors which make the Swiss House stand head and shoulders above the rest. The first is the owners, Mary and Martha. From their initial welcome offer of a pot to tea, and throughout our stay, they were friendly and approachable, offering help with drying our wet walking gear, to tips on where to eat and drink throughout the district, where to seek Blue John, and even good advice of the use of our walking poles over the peat bogs on Kinder Scout. The second outstanding feature is the breakfast. Each is cooked specifically for the guest, absolutely fresh, without a trace of grease, and really delicious. Oh, and to complement the unlimited toast you can make yourself, Mary and Martha provide home made marmalades and jams. You know the saying of the way to a man's heart................

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Horleylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.2 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
4.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
386 reviews
1.4 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#1 of 13 in Castleton
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss House B&B

Property: Swiss House B&B
Address: Swiss House How Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss House is a family run Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Castleton, in the Peak District National Park. Our B&B can sleep up to 20 people in 8 en-suite bedrooms. Our full English breakfast is, so we are told, just 'the best' with lots of local and home-made produce like British bacon, locally made sausage and black pudding (all from the butcher in Hope), and Seville orange marmalade, various jams and granola lovingly made by Martha!This is an ideal base for walking, climbing or sight seeing. We have plenty of off-road parking. Packed lunches are available and we have a drying room if the weather becomes inclement! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Swiss House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss House B&B Castleton, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing