We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely spotless, lovely little B & B in great location”
Review of Swiss House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Swiss House B&B
Ranked #2 of 13 Castleton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Myself and my partner only stayed one night at Swiss House but we're definitely going to make the effort to stay again!

When we arrived we were greeted warmly by Martha who showed us to our room; number 9 on the 2nd floor, apparently the only room with two windows. It had a lovely view across the peaks out of the skylight window. There was a nice (but low) beam in room that we were warned about but we both still banged our heads! The room was absolutely spotless, there wasn't a speck of dust or dirt anywhere. Martha told us about breakfast, showed us where everything was and then invited us down to reception for a tea.

A few minutes later when we ventured down there was a pot of tea with a homemade flapjack waiting for us (FOC). We then met Mary, the other proprietor of the B & B who was equally friendly and helpful and gave us some suggestions for walks and restaurants and information on the area.

After a day of mini hikes in the sunny weather we retired to our room. It was fully stocked with hot drinks and 2 bottles of water which were much-appreciated. The television worked perfectly (freeview channels) and the sound of the birds outside was a nice tonic for city life! The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was well stocked and in keeping with everything else; meticulously clean.

Brekfast the next morning was freshly cooked and good quality. We both had the full English and enjoyed it very much.

The only disappointing part of the stay is that we didn't have longer to make the most of the place! One night just wasn't enough!

I would highly recommend the Swiss House and feel it is good value for money for what you get.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AiSpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (309)
There are newer reviews for Swiss House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here last weekend; he had stayed here last year with friends and wanted to return with me. I was not disappointed.
We received a warm welcome from one of the owners (Mary), who showed us our room and made us a pot of tea for us to enjoy in the reception. The reception was well stocked with local information and Mary also gave us lots of useful information and recommendations.

The room (room 8) gave lovely views of the Peverel Castle and Mam Tor and was spotlessly clean and roomy. There was a generous collection of teas, coffees, including herbal and hot chocolate. The shower was lovely - and powerful.

Breakfast was excellent quality, with locally sourced meat, with choices of veggie sausages and home made preserves. We also ordered packed lunches for the hike, which cost about £6.00 each and were good value. It included a bottle of water, decent slice of home made cake, 3 sandwiches, fruit, crisps and a flapjack (either a bar or home made) - we even had left overs.

We stayed 3 nights and was very sad to leave at the end, it was like an idyllic home away from home. The village it's self is delightful and peaceful, with wonderful walks and caves nearby. The only observation I would make is that there are not many cash machines, the available ones are in the post office, a gift shop and the pub; the latter option has a charge, the rest are free. So with drawing cash is not always available. Although, most of the shops and attractions take card payments (the B&B make a small surcharge for credit cards), it is worth having quite a cash on you for sundry items.

Room Tip: Room 8 gives lovely views of the castle and Mam Tor, but there is some street traffic.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Spent a romantic weekend there in May 2014 while also walking the hills. Very happy with the choice. The two ladies are extremely good hosts and their attention to the finer details is one of the strong points. The (ensuite) room was sparklingly clean, comfortable & well-decorated. The 'full English' breakfast was enough to last us through till the evening - no need for lunch!
Alan & Tony

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kipper Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I stayed in Swiss House a couple of weeks ago and found the welcome very warm, even allowing for a late arrival as we had quite far to travel. The owners really couldn't do enough for us.
The room was comfortable and clean, with one of the most comfortable beds we have come across. Breakfasts were fantastic with lots of choice.
Castleton is a great place to choose as a base for exploring the Peak District, we did several walks straight from the village and there are plenty of great places to eat too.
We have stayed in many places in the Peaks and this is by far the best so far, we are talking about returning again as we enjoyed it so much

Room Tip: all the rooms can be viewed on the website
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKerr88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We spent a long weekend at The Swiss House and couldn't have had a better place to stay. The house is perfectly situated to explore Castleton ( a three minute walk from the "centre"), and the rooms are fantastic, clean, well decorated, with everything you need.
Martha and Mary are [perfect hosts, attentive without encroaching, and warm and friendly. Their breakfasts are brilliant and set us up well for three days or hiking, climbing and mountain biking.
It is just a perfect base to explore the surrounding valleys, warm and cosy, with a lovely vibe.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ru H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Thirteen of us stayed here for two nights in May 2014. Everything was excellent - the recently refurbished, well equipped rooms, the breakfast, the friendly welcome and the packed lunch.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoldfinchSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have just spent a couple of nights at the Swiss House and it couldn't have been better. Mary and Martha were very welcoming and friendly - and the breakfasts were superb! A very good choice of food - freshly cooked, piping hot and plenty of it. The packed lunch which we were provided with - I could scarcely have prepared a better one myself! Bedroom was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Plenty of hot water available for the much needed shower after coming off a wet and windy Mam Tor. Didn't have much time to do a lot in the area but will certainly go back again and Swiss House will be top of the list for a good B&B. Couldn't fault it in any way - thanks, Mary and Martha.

Room Tip: We were in Room 6 and it was great. We were there as part of a group and everyone seemed very please...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizzieM126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.2 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
4.9 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
399 reviews
9.8 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#4 of 13 in Castleton
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
1.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss House B&B

Address: Swiss House How Lane, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Castleton
Price Range: £87 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss House is a family run Bed and Breakfast in the heart of Castleton, in the Peak District National Park. Our B&B can sleep up to 20 people in 8 en-suite bedrooms. Our full English breakfast is, so we are told, just 'the best' with lots of local and home-made produce like British bacon, locally made sausage and black pudding (all from the butcher in Hope), and Seville orange marmalade, various jams and granola lovingly made by Martha!This is an ideal base for walking, climbing or sight seeing. We have plenty of off-road parking. Packed lunches are available and we have a drying room if the weather becomes inclement! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Swiss House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss House B&B Castleton, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing