We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 wonderful holidays in 2 wonderful cottages!”
Review of Riding House Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riding House Farm
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We have had two wonderful holidays in both of Riding House Farm's cottages, firstly in Milkmaid's Cottage in 2010 and secondly in Shepherd's Cottage this year, 2011. It is hard to pick our favourite - we loved them both, and so did our dog Holly. Both cottages are very comfortable (especially the super king-sized bed in Milkmaid's!), spotlessly clean, modern clean bathrooms and we didn't want for anything. Denise and Dave were always around to give us fresh eggs and to tell us where any local attraction might be happening during our stay. A great bonus is to be able to leave your car and walk straight up onto the peaks from the cottage. A magical and relaxing place, lovely hosts, superb cottages and plenty of fresh air and beautiful scenery - what more could you want on holiday? Hopefully we will be back soon. Stephie, Alistair and Holly Clark

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 38 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2010

At last finally got round to doing a review after our fifth visit to the Milkmaids Cottage at Riding House Farm.

We cannot praise this accommodation highly enough - immaculately presented with all you need for a home from home feel. The location is fantastic with beautiful views all round. A short walk into Castleton itself with plenty of pubs & eateries should you not want to cook. Also, idealy located for great local walks straight from your door or just a short drive to the dams or Chatsworth House just to mention two of the local attractions.

Our hosts, David & Denise, are now good friends and we love to listen to the farm goings on from David and join him in feeding the lambs and calves, and collecting freshly laid eggs.

Can't wait for next years visit.... :-)

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda-Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We have just returned from a most wonderful week in the Peak District staying in Milkmaid's Cottage at Riding House Farm cottages. The two cottages, Milkmaid's and Shepherd's, are converted farm buildings on a working farm set in a stunning situation under Losehill about a mile from Castleton. There is wonderful walking from the door and lovely views all around.
David and Denise who farm at Riding House are lovely. They are friendly and welcoming and always happy to chat and show you the farm (I cuddled a gorgeous little lamb). We were welcomed by a bottle of wine, a box of chocs and fresh flowers in the cottage which was a lovely surprise. The cottage itself is wonderful. A kitchen with everything you could possibly need, two beautifully clean bathrooms, and a stunning bedroom with a huge, incredibly comfortable bed.
Despite being a working farm, it is peaceful and quiet and a wonderfully relaxing place. There is loads of wildlife and birdlife around including hares and badgers(we saw a badger virtually every night) and cows, sheep, lambs and hens to get close too.
There is superb walking in the Peak District but, even if you're not a walker, there's loads of other things to do.
We have stayed in many lovely places but this one is very special indeed and we can't wait to return later in the year.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sussexlady53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2010

We have just returned from another fantastic week in the peak district, staying at Riding Farm Cottages for the 3rd time! Denise & David are soooo nice and their warm welcome is very refreshing. The cottages are perfect, homely and very comfy. The farm is lovely, the views spectacular and the lambs an extra bonus!! There is a lot of activites in the area, from hiring bikes; walking the hills; many caverns to explore along with castles/houses...... the list is endless!! Great base for the area, off the beaten track and lot's of fun!! Wow it's awesome - just book it right now!! :)

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TOPSEY29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2008

Not only is this a delightful place, the owners were really helpful. It was clean and comfy. The village has a number of decent pubs and there's loads of walking in spectacular peak district countryside. Absolutely fantastic

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank julianbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2007

Riding House Farm (near Castleton) has two cottages--we stayed three nights in Milkmaid's Cottage, which has two storeys, with kitchen, living room and full bathroom downstairs, and a large bedroom with superking bed ('king size' to Americans) and another full bathroom upstairs.

The cottage was genuinely comfortable (the bathrooms were modern and sparkling clean) with antiques upstairs. The setting, a working farm with sheep and beef cattle, was very quiet (and very far back off the main road, so ask for directions or you'll get lost like us).

The owners, Denise and David (whose house is attached to the cottages), were too nice for words. We found a welcome card and a complimentary bottle of wine and box of chocolates in the cottage, and Denise came over two days later on my birthday and gave me a birthday card (I briefly mentioned my birthday when checking in). She and David also rescued my husband when he broke his tooth by sending us to their dentist (who saw my husband immediately). Denise sent us a thank-you card for our stay after we got home. No one's ever done that before!

The cottage was £30 a night less expensive, and a lot more luxurious, than 'posh' hotels in Buxton and Bakewell (and cheaper than most B & Bs we considered in the Peak District).

David directed us to a public trail behind the farm that took us along the ridge between the Hope and Edale Valleys. Getting to the ridge is a very (!) steep climb, but the views were fabulous and the walk along the ridge to Mam Tor very easy, with great views of Peveril Castle too.

Skip the Castleton pubs and eat at the George Hotel in Hathersage (three-course gourmet meal for £16 a person if you go between 6:30 & 7:30pm). Also talk to David about the state of British farming--my husand and I learned more from him in an hour than from years of reading newspaper reports.

Bolsover Castle, Haddon Hall and Hardwick Hall (by far the best) are worth a visit, but we thought Chatsworth House was too commercial (and expensive). But the views (especially around Castleton and Hathersage) are the real reason to visit the Peaks.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GJI-London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castleton hotels
0.6 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
3.7 mi away
Rushop Hall
Rushop Hall
#2 of 6 in Castleton
152 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rambler's Rest Guest House
Rambler's Rest Guest House
#2 of 13 in Castleton
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ye Olde Cheshire Cheese Inn
0.0 mi away
YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
0.5 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#5 of 13 in Castleton
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riding House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riding House Farm

Address: Riding House Farm Squires Lane | Derbyshire, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Castleton
Hotel Class:5 star — Riding House Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hope Valley is an ideal base for exploring the treasures of the Peak District. In addition to the wonderful scenery, there are numerous attractions including nearby Castleton caves and castle, Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and the plague village of Eyam. If you have any energy left after walking the hills, the Hope Valley offers climbing, cycling, pony trekking, swimming, angling, gliding and parascending. Or why not just relax! Pets welcome by arrangement ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riding House Farm Castleton, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing