We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 3 night stay ”
Review of Riding House Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castleton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riding House Farm
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great 3 night stay ”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the shepherds cottage for 3 nights. And thought the cottage was brilliant , so tidy and clean and too a great standard. The location is brilliant on the farm. David and Denise were great hosts. Look forward to returning soon.

Many thanks
Michael and Jamie

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Quadtrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Had a great time with Denise And David not forgetting Betty and Sess We have been
staying in Shepherds Cottage for the past 6 six years twice a year sometimes because
we enjoy it so much and never get tired of the scenery. The Cottages are so comfortable
and have everything in them you require.. Looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed at Riding House Farm for the second time this August. As always it was excellent. We actually booked both cottages for a family holiday and they are both very comfortable, clean and exceptionally well equipped and the lovely Dave and Denise think of everything that you could possibly need including suggested walks and a torch to help you on the lovely walk down into and back from Castleton. The cottages are very well placed for walkers and you can literally walk out of the farm up to the ridge and on to Mam Tor and beyond if you feel like a challenge. It is also very peaceful on the farm and as it is about halfway up the valley has some lovely views giving us great sunrises and sunsets. There are a number of pubs and restaurants in Castleton that are nice too. All in all a great time and we are definitely going back next year. Thanks Dave and Denise!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Uk
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Had a lovely relaxing week here. The cottage is comfortable and cosy, well equipped and handy for touring around the area. It's peaceful but also interesting being on a farm. Although the owners are right alongside you you do not feel as if you are under surveillance they just let you get on with your holiday unless you need them. We really liked the location it being just a short walk into Castleton where you are spoilt for choice with places to eat and drink. The walk back up the farm track may take a little longer but it will burn off a few of the calories you have just consumed. We have every intention of returning what more can we say?

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveytNewcastleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed in Milkmaid's Cottage and had a wonderful time - Denise welcomed us with a bottle of wine, a card, some milk and chocolates - much appreciated. The cottage is well equipped with its kitchen, flatscreen TV, DVD/VHS and iPod dock, bath and shower. The bed is huge! We also got to feed the lambs with David and Denise one afternoon which was an experience in itself.

Riding House Farm is in a great location for exploring both the Dark and White Peak area, walking distance into Castleton and on the doorstep of Losehill and Mam Tor. Very reasonable tariff as well - if we return to the area again, we will definitely be looking to book here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

A long weekend break in Shepherds Cottage. Very quiet location. Both rental cottages at Riding House farm are attached to the farmhouse at the end of a long private track with nothing but farmland surrounding them. Welcoming, helpful and unobtrusive owners. Cottage very clean and has all the facilities you need for a comfortable holiday. Within walking distance (~30 mins) of Castleton where there is a good range of pubs/places to eat. Excellent value, will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ely19999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Have just returned from a week at Riding House Farm, this was a return visit and I thought it only right to update my review from one of our previous visits. Again our cottage was beautifully presented with everything we needed, and the beautiful location just a short pleasant stroll into Castleton is ideal. With lots of local attractions and picturesque walks nearby this is the perfect location to do plenty or just relax and enjoy the view, or even look around the farm feed the lambs and chickens with the owners David and Denise always on hand to have a chat. Its great that we can be sure of a warm welcome and consistant high standards at Riding House Farm

Room Tip: there are two cottages to choose from,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda-Jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castleton
0.6 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
5.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
388 reviews
1.0 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Causeway House
Causeway House
#1 of 13 in Castleton
224 reviews
1.1 mi away
YHA Castleton Losehill Hall
1.8 mi away
Samuel Fox Country Inn
Samuel Fox Country Inn
#1 of 6 in Bradwell
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riding House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riding House Farm

Property: Riding House Farm
Address: | Derbyshire, Castleton, Peak District National Park S33 8WB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Castleton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Castleton
Hotel Class:5 star — Riding House Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hope Valley is an ideal base for exploring the treasures of the Peak District. In addition to the wonderful scenery, there are numerous attractions including nearby Castleton caves and castle, Chatsworth House, Haddon Hall and the plague village of Eyam. If you have any energy left after walking the hills, the Hope Valley offers climbing, cycling, pony trekking, swimming, angling, gliding and parascending. Or why not just relax! Pets welcome by arrangement ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riding House Farm Castleton, Peak District National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing