We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely peaceful break.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oatcake Cottage

Oatcake Cottage built 1690 originally as a bakery.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Oatcake Cottage built 1690 originally as a bakery.
Room for parking outside the property. Welcome!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Oatcake Cottage built 1690 originally as a bakery.
Room for parking outside the property.
Welcome!
Lounge.
Lounge.
Lounge with TV, DVD player and free wifi.
Lounge towards the dining room.
Dining room.
Dining room with doors to the garden.
kitchen providing everything you will need for your stay
Kitchen.
Double bedroom.
Double bedroom.
Twin bedroom.
Twin bedroom.
Bathroom with bath and shower.
Bathroom with guest toiletries.
View over the roof tops from the garden.
View of Mam Tor from the patio.
Lower patio area showing new safety railings.
Towards Peveril Castle
Visitors' Centre and museum
Para gliders over Mam Tor
The Devil's Arse Peak Cavern
Village centre looking towards the castle showing two of the six pubs in the village
Market Place
Oak apple day celebrations in the village every May 29th
Castleton at Christmas
Merry Christmas from Oatcake Cottage!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Castleton, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
molly968
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely peaceful break.”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This is a beautiful little cottage in lovely surroundings. The cottage is clean and very well equipped. The only thing you need to provide is food everything else is provided for you including bedding and a selection of books and DVDs if you just want to chill. The beds are very comfortable and there is plenty of room to hang clothes. There is a choice of bath or shower with constant hot water enabling you to have a hot relaxing bath after a busy day. The cottage is within easy reach of many interesting places and we enjoyed two lovely days out in Bakewell and Buxton. In Castleton itself there are some lovely shops including an amazing sweets shop selling everything you can remember from childhood. There is also a beautiful Church which is open allowing you to spend some time reflecting and looking at the lovely old Bibles displayed there. Altogether a lovely place and I would highly recommend this holiday home to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness of the cottage and village.
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2016
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area. I look forward to having you book again in the future.
Best wishes, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liz5647
Tavistock, United Kingdom
1 review
“OK BUT NOT QUITE AS EXPECTED”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The owner was very helpful and good at communicating when we made changes to our booking. Unfortunately the cottage was not as expected from the reviews. We appreciate that the cottage was old and in itself was sweet with lots of character, which was nice. Unfortunately the general cleanliness was poor, although the kitchen and bathroom had been cleaned to a good standard. We felt a deep clean would benefit the carpets and general feeling of the cottage. There was a dreadful smell of damp in the kitchen area, which lingered on some of the items in cupboards and the property would benefit from a refit of the bathroom and kitchen to bring it up to a high standard. Castletown was a lovely village with lots of walks and amenities.

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2016
Oh gosh I am so very saddened and sorry you had a disappointing stay at Oatcake. I am holidaying here myself this week in attempt to address some of these issues. The photographs of the cottage are up to date and reflect the current decor in all rooms and garden. I don't advertise as luxury accommodation which is reflected in my low prices. The carpets were professionally cleaned in the quieter season in January but many guests have been upstairs since then. I have just cleaned them and the upholstery and all looks great. I have washed all the crockery in the kitchen and thoroughly disinfected the cupboards. I have put some small space crystals in the cupboards which will collect any excess damp.
Many thanks for your comments.
Best wishes, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral W
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Place to Stay in the Peak District”
Reviewed 20 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I had a lovely weekend in the heart of the Peak District, its a great place, super cute and cozy to sleep in. Handy to get round the village but also to the surrounding area. I would definitely go back and recommend.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2016
I'm glad you enjoyed your holiday. I look forward to having you book again sometime soon.
Best wishes, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C
1 review
“A charming and comfy cottage in a fantastic location!”
Reviewed 11 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

The cottage was the perfect mix of character and comfort and the location was very central in the village. The property was clean and equipped with everything we needed for our stay. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosy living room and the location.
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2016
I'm so glad you had a good time at Oatcake cottage. Thank you for taking time to write a review and recommending it to others.
Best wishes, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia A
1 review
“Perfect holiday cottage in an idyllic setting”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Such a warm and welcoming cottage in a quiet street in an often bustling town. The cottage had everything that you'd need for a holiday, a perfect little home from home. With shops, pubs, walks and tourist attractions right on the doorstep there was no need to travel far to keep the whole family entertained. Wonderful!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2016
Thank you Julia for your kind review. I'm so glad you had a great holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin R
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Very nice cottage with perfectly equipped kitchen.
Beds very comfortable and quiet position,
Our dog was made very welcome with treats blanket and towel provided first time I have had a self catering accommodation that thought of the pets.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2016
Castleton is a brilliant place for dogs. We didn't notice a pet had stayed! Thank you so much for leaving the cottage so tidy and clean. Much appreciated. Best wishes, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sarahjb24
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 12 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I booked the break for my mum's 60th as she loves Castleton- couldn't believe our luck when walking into the cottage. It was lovely and comfortable for myself, my husband, mum and dad.
Really comfortable, homely and inviting. Will definitely be booking again in the future.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
I'm so glad you had a comfortable break. I do hope you will come back soon, maybe to enjoy the views from the garden in warmer weather.
Best wishes, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing