We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Oatcake Cottage

Oatcake Cottage built 1690 originally as a bakery.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Oatcake Cottage built 1690 originally as a bakery.
Room for parking outside the property. Welcome!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Oatcake Cottage built 1690 originally as a bakery.
Room for parking outside the property.
Welcome!
Lounge.
Lounge.
Lounge with TV, DVD player and free wifi.
Lounge towards the dining room.
Dining room.
Dining room with doors to the garden.
kitchen providing everything you will need for your stay
Kitchen.
Double bedroom.
Double bedroom.
Twin bedroom.
Twin bedroom.
Bathroom with bath and shower.
Bathroom with guest toiletries.
New for summer 2018.
Summer house on top terrace.
View over the roof tops from the garden.
View of Mam Tor from the patio.
Lower patio area showing new safety railings.
Towards Peveril Castle
Visitors' Centre and museum
Para gliders over Mam Tor
The Devil's Arse Peak Cavern
Village centre looking towards the castle showing two of the six pubs in the village
Market Place
Oak apple day celebrations in the village every May 29th
Castleton at Christmas
Merry Christmas from Oatcake Cottage!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Castleton, Hope Valley, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A home from home”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A lovely, well equipped cottage with all the quirks of history and build of the period. Set in the heart of the village it was perfect for leaving the car and doing the many exhilarating walks. We stayed for the Ancient Garland ceremony which was on the doorstep. No parking problems, friendly people around and Jane's husband was available to sort out a minor problem we had with the internet. Very attentive service Would highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2017
Thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review. I'm so glad you liked Oatcake cottage. Hope you enjoyed the Oak Apple day garland ceremony!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen S
1 review
“Got everything you need in the cottage grate time thanks”
Reviewed 16 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Local shops pubs and walks brill lovely cottage every thing you need in the cottage. Was great could take my dogs to .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 May 2017
Thanks for the positive review. I'm so glad you and your dogs enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy A
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oatcake cottage”
Reviewed 11 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Lovely cottage in castleton, very comfortable and cosy. There is a small terraced garden at back of property with great views across to Mam Tor, there are seats on the different levels so perfect for breakfast outside or evening drinks.
The cottage is well equipped and has everything you need and location is great, can walk up Mam Tor or up the gorge to Peveril castle from the cottage or short drive into Edale for a tougher walk up Kinder. Found cheese and Branston topped pork pies in the peveril store which were delicious.
One evening we had a curry from the curry cabin in Hope and another evening we ate at the Castle pub- very dog friendly as is the whole village.
We were so lucky with the weather that we were our walking a lot of the weekend and didn't spend a lot of time in the cottage but plenty of DVDs etc if weather not so good.
We had a wonderful weekend thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2017
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at Oatcake Cottage. Thank you for writing such a great review, also informing future guests about Castleton itself and surrounding area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janie_d64
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Positively delightful, pet friendly wee cottage. Perfect!”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the delightful Oatcake Cottage. It was cosy and full of character and had absolutely everything we needed. On arrival the owner had left us some scrummie chocolates as well as tea, coffee and a jug of milk. Nice touch! Pretty, high quality decor, comfortable beds with lovely bedding. There where plenty of board games and cards, which we enjoyed playing at the end of a long day walking, of course with a few glasses of wine. Lots of info on the local area could be found in several folders & maps which we found most usefull.
The cottage is in the perfect location for ambling around Castleton with several very nice pubs welcoming muddy boots and muddy paws. On Friday evening we popped into Ye Old Nags Head and had the Eary Bird Menu, which comprised of a main meal and a drink for £10. We all had fish and chips which was deliciuos, washed down with beer. The village bakery is fabulous. We visited each morning to stock up for our picnic. A great selection of mouth watering cakes, pork pies, savoury pastries and freshly made rolls/sarnies. These where thorougly enjoyed when stopping off hillside for refreshments on our daily walks, whilst admiring the amazing scenery. I think we chose the perfect time of year to visit as road sides where adorned with daffodils, the meadows where full of newly born lambs and the blue sky was a fabulous back drop for the rolling hills, criss crossed with dry stone walls, Stunning! On Sunday evening we had a very tasty roast dinner at The Castle, dog friendly and very nice decor. We would highly recommend Oatcake Cottage and Castleton and most certainly hope to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for taking time to write such a lovely review. I'm glad you and dogs enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Best wishes, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lkewoodco...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great cottage”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Fantastic little cottage, perfect location, parking space a bonus, very cosy and everything we could need provided.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Apr 2017
I'm so glad you liked it. Thank you for writing in the visitor's book sharing information for future guests.
Best wishes, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhian_Pal...
2 reviews
“Wonderful mini break”
Reviewed 25 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Oatcake cottage was the perfect base for the beautiful village of Castleton with our dog Ash, with amazing walks from the front door, loads of dog friendly pubs and shops and even the caverns were all pooch friendly! The cottage was really cosy and well equipped, and the views from the garden were just stunning. Even the weather was fabulous! Only bad point - we wish we had booked a longer stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2017
Thank you for taking time to write such a glowing review. Please come again and stay longer.
Best wishes, Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvie748
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Cosy and dog friendly”
Reviewed 10 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This cosy cottage is set in a beautiful compact village with several pubs and cafes, all dog friendly so Jess could be with us all the time. The cottage is warm and has everything you would want for a stay. There are excellent challenging walks locally and more a short drive out of the village.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2017
Thank you for taking time to write a lovely review. I'm glad you all enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing